We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urlaub unter Freunden - beeing with frinds”
Review of Top Hill Resort

Top Hill Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Top Hill Resort
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Urlaub unter Freunden - beeing with frinds”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Lovely, open minded people. Just Lovely!!!! Mr. T. is an awesome cook and they welcomed me is as i was an old friend and i felt like that. I had some great days there and I will definitly come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2008

I rang up this hotel 6 months in advance when I was arranging my holiday. I wanted everything booked up. I knew because of the full moon party it gets really busy.

The staff member laughed at me for ringing so early and told me to ring back a couple of weeks in advance. So here we are and I ring back now, 3 weeks in advance of my intended stay and I am told that they are fully booked.

What complete idiots. I am really angry at them because they laughed at me before when I was right all along. I asked them if they had any local recommendations and the woman said "you can look in a guidebook". I know that you stupid person, I'm asking *you* if *you* recommend anywhere locally. Anyway, that was it.

So now I am stuck looking for someone else. Going off the other review of people getting shafted here. Be very careful if you trust anything that they tell you on the phone because they don't appear to care about you so long as the hotel is full.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArbitraryName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

You are only able to book this place by phoning up, and be warned. During the Full moon party season, we phoned 2 weeks in advance to book a double room. We were told to phone back on the day we arrived with the time our ferry arrived to be picked up. When we phoned up, we were told because we had not phoned the day before our room has been given to someone else, she then hung up the phone on me.
It was obvious they gave our room to someone who walked in and offered more money.
This greatly inconvienienced us, as finding accomodation a couple of days before a moon party is very difficult, and ruined our time in the beautiful koh phangan.
I have stayed with Top Hill previously 3 years ago, and now would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Disliked — On the day we arrived they gave our room to someone else
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clare13_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2007

Staying in Top Hill was the highlight of our trip in thailand we planned to stay two nights and stayed well over a week! The views from the bungalows where amazing and down the bottom of the cliff was as secluded area whch was great for snorkelling. As the other reviews say the owners are fantastic, we had such a laugh hanging out with them and they really looked after us, even cooked us sunday roast with all the trimmings!
Its a tough walk up the hill and very slippy on the way down, but well worth it when ya get to the top, would love to go back and stay a month, so peacful and chilled out!(once ya get used to the noise of the frogs)!!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaRDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

This is a perfect place to stay during the Full Moon Party. The place is close to town, but yet on a beautiful and quiet location. So you won't be bothered by the loud noise from the beach.
It's a lovely outdoor place with an English owner & his friendly Thai wive. They are young and very open. The atmosphere is relaxed (all their belongings are outside and still no crimes occured) and you'll love their fluffy dogs. Great common room with TV, hammocks and music.

  • Liked — View and staff
  • Disliked — The location is a steep walk out of town
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

This is a great place to stay. The owner will pick you up from the boat and take you up, its about a 10 min walk from town and well worth it, gorgeous views and a mad owner who will make your stay memorable. Have a look in the lonely planet for more details. We paid 800baht a night in February 2006.

Helpful?
1 Thank RTW_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
0.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hill Resort

Property: Top Hill Resort
Address: Moo 6 Rin [west] Beach | Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Top Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing