We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Vimarn Samut Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vimarn Samut Resort
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We have strong suspicions that the positive reviews written about this "hotel" on other sites are the work of an english speaking owner or a tourist who was paid to post them. This place is beyond terrible. Located on a far and deserted part of Haad Rin, dirty and worst of all- overpriced. They misrepresent themselves online and charge prices that are exhuberant for this island. You will be sorely disappointed upon arrival (as we were) but will be forced to stay 3 nights around the full moon party (the only time this hotel has any guests... I saw their booking calendar during our stay). Do yourself a favour and stay at any other place....

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Klara123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Vimarn Samut Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2006

I stayed here in low season so expected the area to be as quiet as it proved to be. The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the pier, another 5 minutes on to the town, but walking back after 1800 you must clamber over rocks that jut out into the sea (so make sure you're still relatively sober!)
The staff were all helpful and pleasant, I had no problem with understanding them or them me. The food is good, quality and price, and the service was prompt - but throughout the majority of my stay the hotel was no more than half-full except for the three days around the full moon party. The hotel has the cheapest intenet service I found on Koh Phangan and was also one of the only ones from which i could access my Irish internet bank account. I'd booked one of the more expensive rooms with dvd player and fridge, which was situated on the corner, and was no better or worse than i'd imagined (having stayed on the island on 4 previous occasions). My only complaint is that they did not supply soap or shampoo which most hotels in this price bracket tend to.
While I doubt I would return to Vimarn Samut, the hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Yes, there was a cockroach in the bathroom but this IS South-east Asia, and I had to request that my bedding was changed but this was done promptly once requested.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deedeeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
14
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Do not waste your money here! It is one of the most overpriced hotels I have ever stayed at. There were cockroaches in our room, the bathroom roof leaked and there was no television even though they claimed it as one of the best hotels on the island. Besides that, the air conditioning took forever to get cold and it wasn't remotely close to sunrise beach. The other reviews said it was a short 10 minute walk. It is more like 20 minutes (which in the heat is horrible) and you would never want to do the walk by yourself at night. The property is located in sunset beach, which is dirty and deserted. The staff barely speaks English so if you have a problem you would need to figure out how to mime your way to a solution. I would recommend any other hotel besides this one!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: "am besten mit Meerblick"
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niccoher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sollozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank daki11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#32 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
C Villas
C Villas
#188 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sojourn Villas
Sojourn Villas
#202 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mr. Black Resort
Mr. Black Resort
#106 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pooltrap Village Bungalow
Pooltrap Village Bungalow
#215 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vimarn Samut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vimarn Samut Resort

Address: 117/11 Moo 6, Bann Thai, Rin Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Vimarn Samut Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing