We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$413
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$48
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cookies's Salad Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
V-View Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,680)
Filter reviews
2,680 results
Traveller rating
2,015
400
143
78
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,015
400
143
78
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolmary janehideaway pool villaour honeymoonoutdoor bathroomteak woodsupreme deluxesmall villagekoh phanganmain restaurantmain poolnearby villagesea viewneighbouring beachtraditional thai stylespeedboat transferjip shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,360 - 1,365 of 2,680 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We came here for a 10 day stay seeking solitude, luxury, a place to relax and get away from it all and we could not have chosen better.

Santhiya is everything it holds itself out to be - a self-contained luxury resort with a private beach on a beautiful jungle island. You seriously do not need to leave the resort, although the little village is an easy walk along the public beach and has a few reasonable restaurants and bars and a few (very basic) shops. You can also get a taxi or a boat into the island's main town and (many!) bars featuring Full Moon Parties.

Our villa at Santhiya with private pool was fabulous. The food and drinks (good wine selection) both in the 2 restaurants and for room service were excellent and not overpriced. We hardly used the main pool, although it was lovely, due to the privacy and convenience of having our own pool at the villa. The spa environment and treatments were superb. There were plenty of activities if you wanted them - diving, jet skiis, kayaks, trekking, etc etc, but we mostly just slothed around.

The staff at Santhiya were outstanding, so friendly and eager to please. Even though we had some overcast weather, the luxury of the place and the friendliness of the staff made it always seem sunny.

We had New Years Eve at Santhiya, which was magical, with a visit by an elephant, a great international buffet, fire lanterns released from the beach and great live music. They really went to great lengths to make it a good night, which is typical of their overall attitude. (A highlight was the general manager's enthusiastic dancing!)

If you want a quiet, luxurious stay where everything is catered for and you can just chill out, this is a great venue and represents good value for money. Good for families and older couples. Its definately not a party place, but you can easily find a party elsewhere on Koh Phangan if that's your thing. Santhiya is a place to really relax.

Room Tip: Get a private pool villa
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived at Santhiya on 2nd January and were warmly welcomed. We booked a room with access to the pool on top of the hill, but the lady said that we were upgraded to stay in a villa with private pool. We didn't argue with that, the villa was superb and not far to walk to the restaurant as well as the main entrance where our scooter was parked.
We booked for 7 nights and have another 3 nights to go. The first night on our arrival we decided to stay for the buffet. It was very nice but the food that was meant to be hot was cold. A little disappointing.
The next day, we wanted to try down by the beach the restaurant, next to the big pool. The menu was very booring and you didn't have much choice to choose for BBQ. We decided to choose the seafood basket. It was average.
Next day, we explored outside the resort through the secret passage along the beach. That was great. When you first arrive on the beach, the first BBQ restaurant was packed with people (lots of them were from Santhiya) and everything is charcoal grilled. Very nice. Service was also great and they spoke english fluently.
Back to Santhiya, we have seen their menu. It is rather disappointing to see it with pictures. Basically, the menu looks cheap. My STRONG RECOMMENDATION for the chef at Santhiya, "change the menu, remove the pictures and make it look like a normal menu for people to read" trust me, it will make a difference. Because we think, we don't trust ourselves to try, a menu with photos looks like canteen food or on the street. Change it ASAP. It will uplift your restaurant.
With the buffet, it is our 4th breakfast and still looks the same. It is a little rather booring, especially for guests like us that are staying for 7 nights.
Otherwise overall, it is a wonderful resort. No doubts about that and very friendly staff going out of their way to help you.

Room Tip: We were in room 202, not far from the restaurant and also the entrance. Handy to access to our scooter. It was a beautiful villa with a small swimming pool. The neighbours pool was bigger than ours.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. We arrived by speedboat from Koh Samui and as soon as we saw it it took our breath away.

We stayed in a hideaway villa. The hotel is set in the hillside and there are little carts that can take you from your room to the pool or main part of the hotel. Luckily ours was in walking distance.

The hideaway villa was simply amazing....it was decorated in teak like the rest of the hotel with a four poster bed, an outside bathroom and a seperate living room where you could step into our own private pool. We also had a jacuzzi bath out the front of the villa which was already full and topped with rose petals when we arrived. Very impressive.

The hotel itself was beautiful...very open and the staff were very nice and friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant once which was very nice as was the breakfast selection. However on the next beach over from the hotel there are a few more beach restaurants to choose from which were cheaper. In order to get to this beach however you have to climb over some rocks so take sturdy shoes. Also the sand that is on the hotel's private beach is quite stoney and can hurt your feet so best to wear shoes. The sand on the beach over the rocks however is lovely powdery sand.

If you walk about 3/4 of the way down the sandy beach (just passed the hotel with the white flags on the beach) you will notice a little gap between two bars which leads to a little shop on the left hand side. Here we stocked up on beer, water, juices, crisps etc as it was cheaper than getting it from the hotel. If you walk further up this road it will lead you to a little village with more restaurants and little spa's. I would recommend that instead of using the hotel spa you use one of these ones in the village as they are a lot cheaper. We had 10,000 THB credit to use at the spa in the hotel which me and my husband used on a full thai body massage each. This was lovely and very relaxing. We also had massages at the little spas in the village and they were just as good but for a fraction of the price. The hotel with the red flags on the beach was the hotel that Katie Price and Alex Reid stayed at on their honeymoon.

On the sandy beach you can also get a taxi/boat taxi to Haad Rin where they hold the full moon parties. These were 200THB per person when we went but I can't recall if that was for each way or for a return. They tend to leave around 10pm and come back for around 5am.Unfortunatly we did not make any full moon/half moon/black moon parties. There was one the night before we arrived and one the night we left.

Whilst staying on the island we did a day trip to Ang Thong Marine park which I would thoroughly recommend. It was beautiful.

We stayed here for a week in September for the last part of our honeymoon. Usually no matter where I go I will get bitten a hundred times by mosquitoes. However I never got bitten once the whole time I was in Thailand. The hotel were very good at spraying the grounds however at which point you have to stay in doors or leave the hotel premises as a white cloud descends across the grounds.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially the Hideaway Villa - definately worth splashing out for. It was great for a romantic getaway and I am now going to find it very hard to go away and not have my own private pool.

I never used the main pool at the hotel as there was no need with our own pool attached to the comfort of our villa however every time we walked passed it looked very clean and inviting. I can't wait to stay here again.

Please note however that there is no 'night life' on this part of the island. It is very quiet with plenty of places to eat but thats about it at night time. If you are looking for more night life then you may want to stay nearer to Haad Rin.

Room Tip: Splash out for the hideaway villa.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheworld080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have been in this resort with my friends for the full moon party. The hotel is amazing, it offers very nice rooms and high quality food at every hour. On the other hand you should not underestimate the transportation cost in choosing this hotel: to get to the full moon beach or to the most famous beach you need to take the boat (if the sea is ok) or get a ride with the car. It takes almost one hour, the street is one of the worst I have ever seen and it cost at least 1000 baht for a single ride. In some cases some taxi refuse to bring you home since it is too far... So if you are going to stay in the hotel enjoy the amazing experience, if you plan to visit the island choose something closer to life!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronz_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Superb rooms! We had the hideaway villa with its own splash pool, the outdoor bathroom is fun and private enough, the bedrooms beautifully decorated in teak with a really nice sitting room and patio.

The hotel location is a both a blessing and a curse, the tropical jungle location is really great if you are looking to feel away from it all in your own private romantic jungle hideaway but it comes with the inevitable
Mosquito issues. The hotel take all the steps they can to keep them under control but you will get bitten, it isn't a problem though and nothing to spoil a wonderful 4 nights over Christmas.

The food is great, expensive when compared to the easily accessible local village but very reasonable when compared to home. The swimming pool and sea front bar are great, service is mostly excellent and I would recommend this place in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craggy1sland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews