We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Exceptional Staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we were picked up on Samui for the speed boat trip to Phangan from the moment we left, the staff at Santhyia were beautiful and couldn't do enough.
The resort was amazing, villa and grounds were beautiful and extensive breakfast buffet a huge hit with the kids.
By the time we got back to our villa after breakfast in the mornings our villa had already been serviced and private pool was spotless.
Two staff members in particular made our stay one to remember and we would return just to see them.
Thanx so much Rommel and Cynthia for your warmth, big smiles and all round professionalism. Your both a huge asset to Santhiya and we will see you again one day soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    361
    129
    70
    35
See reviews for
320
1,561
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the time we stepped from our private transfer (a must) we knew we had made the right decision to stay at Santhiya. Wow! Our hideaway villa was fantastic!! Traditional thai feel was exactly what we wanted and as described by other trip advisors. Our private pool was a great size to swim in and was cleaned daily, a must in this climate. We would recommend eating in the little village to the right of the resort, first one on the beach was fantastic. bamboo hut in the little village great spring rolls. The beach club bar at far end of the beach to the right of santhiya great happy hour cocktails. We had a week in Koh Samui before heading to Koh Phangan so did all our shopping etc and then were ready to relax once we arrived in Koh Phangan. This really is a resort where you can just relax not really any shopping or night life but after a week in koh samui we were ready for this. Fantastic massages but dont bother with ones on the beach go into the little village and find Taraporn massage house was really good but make sure you tell them not to hard as we had a thai massage one day and found it hard to walk for about 2 days after!! to hard!!! the oil massage is the best get a private room so you and your partner can be done at the same time. was really nice. We were very sad to leave Santhiya our little piece of paradise and can not wait to return.

Room Tip: we stayed in Villa 602 was very quite, did not have a problem with mosquitos or any type of wild lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich_mel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just arrived back from 6 nights at the Santhiya Koh Phangan. The resort is beautiful, the service from all the staff was excellent, especially Rommel and Cynthia who really went the extra mile.Pool staff were so attentive,helpful and efficient,but surprised to had to pay for drinking water at the pool.The room was lovely even though it was not one of the private villas, very clean and the biggest bed I have ever seen! Breakfast was very good, but we did miss not having freshly squeezed orange juice and no smoked salmon - which from previous experience in 5* hotels we have always had. Meals at the hotel are expensive, if you walk around 10 minutes down the beach you will find some excellent little restaurants, very friendly locals and cheap food. We left the resort by Santhiya's own speed boat back to Koh Samui, which was excellent, very well organized.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nordickaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 rooms, one Seaview villa and one hideaway pool villa. Hotel definetly delivers for its price. Breakfast is excellent. Outdoor shower is awesome. Service is top notch. Hotel is away from the village and going there and back is usually around 30min total which makes it difficult to move around . Great hotel if you intend to stay in it mostly, but we felt 3 nights was sufficient, I would stay longer only if I intend to spend money in the hotel for its spa and food. We used the 3 hour spa package which was excellent, and although pricey it was very professional and worth it. We also used the romantic beach dinner for 2. Again, worth the price - santhiya delivers. Mosquitos prominent throughout the resort despite management efforts. Rooms are spacious and the amazing thing about this hotel is its interior design, so unique and original, every room is different, definetly the mark of santhiya. Stairway to rooms 50x seem dangerous and about to fall apart. Gym mediocre. Pool waterfall wasn't running most of the time unfortunately. Recommend the speedboat service they provide, exceptional, definetly makes the hotel start on the right foot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Four days at Santhiya Resort - this is as close to paradise, as one can get. Unique location, and phenomenal resort with great - underplayed, casual - luxury. Staff attend to our every need - in a friendly and forthcoming way, and the suites are superb; the most authentic 5* hotel yet for our small family. How to recommend this place best: we'll be back next year. Best, Camilla, Peter, Ida &
Ella

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank camillavirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this resort. The bungalows are without doubt a great get-away and ideal if you want to spend alone time. Love the inside and outside area of the bungalow and the private pool. However it is hard to get out of the hotel as there is not too much to do outside the resort. I would highly recommend to go the close -by restaurants to the right of the resort. The spa was amazing but expensive. Food was not exciting, in fact the lunch was a little disappointing compared to other local restaurants. Also it is expensive to eat within the resort and you have to pay for literally everything, even the plain rice! Excursions nd cooking classes offered by the hotel are quite expensive too, we decided to do a cooking class in a close by restaurant where it is much cheaper and the food tastes much better. So to sum up: if you plan to stay within the resort and ready to spend some money-great choice. Not too much if you want to go out and explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned for a weeks at Santhiya. It was to be the highlight of our visit to Thailand and we had high hopes, given the reviews and online brochure. The setting is absolutely stunning, and the hotel grounds are lush and tropical. We had booked a Hideaway villa, which promised to be an oasis of tranquility, set amidst lush greenery, and hidden from view - hence the name. When we got there the reality was slightly different. Our Hideaway Villa should have been called an 'Everyone Can See You' Villa, as it was clearly visible from the road below, and had only a couple of very sickly trees in front of the pool, which did nothing of shield you from the gaze of passing gardeners and guests. The privacy aspect was made up with fencing screens, which just looked tacky. I was really disappointed, not only with the landscaping, but also because we had booked a villa for three people, and were met with two chairs, two sun beds, two of everything in the bathroom, and two tea cups. Pretty poor attention to detail, but at least they brought up an extra sunbed and chair when I mentioned it.
I decided to make my intense disappointment known to the management, and thankfully, we were given a different villa (210) the next day. What a difference! The villa was completely private and had the luxurious feel that I had been expecting. We were as happy as clams for the whole week, but please note that all Hideaway Villas are not the same, and avoid 207 at all costs, unless you are an exhibitionist...
The hotel staff were fantastic and the breakfast was the best we've ever experienced. Fantastic choices and really good food - miso soup, noodles. fresh pastries, fruit, in fact everything you could wish for. In the evening we opted for the set buffet on a couple of occasions, which were expensive and really not that good, however, the cocktails were great, and the outlook from the terrace was amazing.
One thing to note, if you are a party of three, the hotel makes life very difficult. Odd numbers are clearly frowned- upon, which was made abundantly clear when we tried to get a table one morning. The restaurant only had one occupied table, and the other 30 or so were empty. I asked Rommel, who was running the restaurant, if we could have a table for three, and said that we didn't a want the large table set for four, as we don't like somebody sitting opposite an empty chair ( when a member of your family has died, you don't need a reminder at breakfast).
Rommel made a lot of theatrical huffing and puffing, looking around the empty restaurant and generally giving the impression that we'd just asked him to invade North Africa again, and eventually told us that it was impossible to move a chair and set and extra place, and that we'd have to sit where we had expressly asked not to.
If I were staying in a guesthouse in Blackpool, then I'd understand, but when I'm paying 5 star prices I expect 5 star service. He made not attempt to apologise and flounced off before I could complain.
I am currently staying in another 5 star hotel and the contrast is remarkable. The room had been prepared for three. There were three of everything, even down to the tea bags and toiletries. That is my idea of good service, and the management at Santhiya should take note that attention to detail makes the difference between a good hotel and a great one.
We got a speedboat out, but booked a car transfer for our return, which is a must of you like a good scare. I don't know how all the staff make it to work on their tiny mopeds, because the track to the hotel is the stuff of nightmares. We loved it - it was like the Indiana Jones ride, but better.
In conclusion, the Santhiya is an amazing place on a paradise island, but in order to justify the prices they charge, the owners need to make sure that they pay closer attention to their booking forms, and realise that all guests are not equal.....some guests are odd.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
609 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.9 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#14 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Property: Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing