We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jurassic Park for royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

So much fun at Santhiya. Supremely peaceful in a lush jungle setting by the sea. Our room was just beautiful. Amazing swimming pools and lovely restaurants. There's not a great deal nearby, but you won't want to leave the resort. We loved the little flintstone cars that ferried weary guests up steep hills to their rooms/bungalows. The breakfast here is amazing and served until a delightfully lazy hour. The details in everything were brilliant, different towel creatures folded for our amusement every day, fresh citronella burners lit in our bathroom/bedroom every evening to keep the mozzies at bay, beach bags, sun parasols, flip flops, fluffy robes... This really was paradise.

Room Tip: For extra romance and privacy perhaps try a bungalow with your own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Angelbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed 10 days in this hotel and we have nothing bad to say about santhiya.
The swimmingpool with the waterfall is just amazing, peacefull, relax (waterfall work just between 4pm to 6 pm)
The beach close to the hotel is so beautifull
people are so nice, everytime smilling, every time say hello;
Transfer in speedboat is verry easy we recommend it, its so pleasant to arrive to santhiyas peer, so practice;
Brakfast was verry good with verry large choice of fruits, eggs, croissants, cheese...
Our room, a villa suite with sea view was just incredible, beautifull decoration with typical wood.
The outside bathroom is verry big.
Close to the hotel its many restaurants verry cheaper and after 5mn walking you arrive to the village where you can find shops and massage institute, you ll find all what you need.
We recommend you to take cocktails in the hotel during half hour, so many choice and all these drinks were delicious.
We defintely were satisfy, well be back

Room Tip: Romm with view but we saw everywhere beautifull rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex25500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Santhiya is the most sensual and unique experience, it is not less than a breathtaking beach, a feel of a quiet jungle type of island forest, a luxury room with a private pool and a private hot tub in your yard, with total privacy and an unforgettable view, the most amazing smells, great breakfast, great service. Young guests, reasonable prices comparing to the Koh Samui resort which are not as good. The mosquitos are bothering, that is true, and the speed boat that will take you here is expensive (unless you want to come with a ferry to the other side of the island and get here by a long jeep ride). If your rooms are too high on the mountain you'll have to wait to the electric cars to take you down and up when going to the beach and common pool. But no words can explain how good our experience was here. Authentic living and decor with luxury amenities.
Tip: You don't need to eat dinner at the resort, its a "hotel" type of food and too expensive, and after a day would be boring. If you go down to the beach and cross through the bushes and stones to your right, there is a short path that takes you to a beautiful fishermen village, with brilliant food, cheap and great, and so many fruits and juices and a great relaxing walk. If you don't know about this walkway you might miss it. Look for it on the right side of the resort's beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I have never encountered such rood and insulting behavior. I am very sorry for the harsh words, but these are outright liars and thieves who shouldn't be allowed to run a hostel let a loan what pretends to be a luxury hotel.
When we arrived, the person greeting us, tiw, explained to us that some snacks laid out on one of the tables were free of change. We asked her repeatedly to make sure, and trust me - as me and my wife are lawyers, we have no understanding disabilities - that's what she said.
When we checked out, they charged us 2000 bhat, which is about 10 times what those snacks costs outside of the hotel and didn't agree to cancel the charges saying we couldn't leave the hotel unless we pay! And this is after we paid more than a thousand dollars a night!! They argued with us in front of other guests for 20 minutes for 50$!!!
I will never ever visit this hotel and I pray you don't either.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
17  Thank szlaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Khun Szlaw10,

Sawasdee krub.....Greetings from Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Firstly, we regret for the inconvenient caused to you on your departure. I have investigated the complaint points raised in your review and and wish to clarify with you that:Ms Tiw, our Senior Guest Relation who escorted your family to the room reported that in regard to minibar and snacks she remembered it clearly that she explained to you that they are not free. She even noticed that your children were fighting about the snacks, so she repeated to again that these are not free. To avoid confusion, she also show you the Price List which is placed in every of our rooms and villas.

On your departure when one of our GROs showed you the bill and asked you to pay, you refused to pay. As we all know that our minibar and snacks in the rooms are not free, so Ms Mary Jane, our Asst. Front Office Manager went to see and explain to you nicely and politely that our minibar and snacks are not free, thus we are obliged to charge you. You both shouted to her before given her your credit. After that your wife ran after her and told her that “I remember I removed the snack and put them above the closet, you please check”. Our Front Office Manager then rechecked with our House Keeping who reported that your children took them every day. We wonder if they are free why your wife wanted to put them away from your children!!!

We wish to mentioned that both Ms Tiw and Ms Mary Jane have been with us for more than 2 years, and as far as our records show they have never been accused of lack of care or impolite to our guests. Moreover this is the first time we have received a complaint about free minibar.
We trust the above will clear up the matter.

We trust the above will clear up the matter.

Kind regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager / Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's hard to describe how beautiful the Santhiya is. It's a magical place that's hard to leave.
We spent 5 nights in one of their 'Hideaway pool villas'. Now we're back home if the Santhiya is mentioned it's followed with a wistful sigh of longing!

We were whisked to the Santhiya by the hotel's speedboat. Once there it's really like staying on a private island as in some ways you're cut off from the rest of Phangan. Hiring a car or a motorbike is not recommended due to insurance scams and the rough roads, so be prepared to chill out, get on island time and go with the Santhiya flow. There is a small town and another beach to explore literally around the corner from the Santhiya with lots of nice restaurants and a few shops – so a fair few options.

We took a trip to Ang Thong marine park organized by the hotel and it was amazing. The hotel have a ton of excursions if you want to explore more of the area.

As for the Santhiya itself... it's really a haven for peace and tranquility. All the rooms and villas are set out like a little village with winding roads and all tucked away for privacy. Our villa was immaculate, the private pool was a good size. Basically it's perfection.

Breakfast was outstanding. The service is outstanding. Both Mary-Jane and Nui were so helpful and lovely. We felt welcomed and well taken care off. All the staff are so kind. I do hope that other visitors take the time to smile back at the staff, say hello also and return the courtesies that the Thai people show visitors.

Also from a cultural standpoint – if you are reading this and have not been to Thailand before, pls be mindful of covering-up post-beach and careful where you put your feet! Sitting in a beach restaurant in a bikini is not done. Throw on a sarong / dress when eating or walking in a village!

Anyway, fantastic stay.... sigh..... we hope to return someday.

Thank you Santhiya.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place was amazing! Great pool and view from our room. Walk around the rocks and eat and drink cheap delicious food and get massages at one of the premier beaches in Thailand of Thong Nai Pan. This place is super chill and relaxing. Not too many beach hagglers or hustlers. Just a few boat taxis and jet ski people

the service at Santhiya is first to none. They drive you around in little trucks dive the property s built on a huge hill. They have 2 great pools one big one w a waterfall and one all the way on the top of the property w a great view , a wonderful gym with a Ping pong table in which I played against a staff member. The breakfast was awesome. Omelet station plenty of options in which We grubbed big on every day. The beach was private although a bit rocky. We went around the corner to enjoy beach swimming. Overall we were treated like kings and was a great place to start our honeymoon off right.

They also picked us up at the airport and transferred us in on a speedboat. And dropped us off at our next hotel included for 45$ each person even though it was 40 minutes away from where the boat came in at. They also picked us up from the Full Moon party at 4:30 in the morning in a luxury van and took a group of us home safety even though it's an hour drive away from the hotel through bumpy and curvy roads. We hope to return on our 5 year anniversary. For the price it is also a great value for the quality of the location , room and service provided.

Thanks to Santhiya for everything!

Sincerely,
Matt and M.E. Durell

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattDurell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 10 days in a Hideaway Pool Villa (#311) and were very happy. We stayed as a Family (2 Kids 13ys, 4ys), the Villa was big enough for all uf us. Even the Resort has great pool landscape and wunderful sea we appreaciated to have our private pool. We took a bath before breakfast, after breakfast, in between lunch and dinner and so on :-)

We have dined several times at the Beach Restaurant and also at the well known Chantara Hotel Restaurant, both deliver very high Quality Food (broad variety) and excellent and very friendly Service. But we also like it less exalted and went to the nearby village and have made great experience in: Bamboo Hut, Again and Again, Baan Muay Thai Food. As a Dessert we use to take a fresh fruit shake at the Fruit Shop, very friendly Young Girls and the best shake's in town.

Not to forget the best-ever Thaimassage I have had, and I have had many before, at Tanaporn Massage House!

Room Tip: Room# 311 (Hideaway Pool Villa) is very Close to the Restaurant and also to the Pool/Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrauBolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.6 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
7.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0.3 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £86 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing