We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor poor poor service”
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor poor poor service”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

stayed here for a couple of night and really think never again we will repeat same experience in my life!The room are very basic and dirty and if compare whit the price we paid is wery expensive.The first evening we take a dinner in the bbq on the beach,we order 1 dish of spaghetti and one fish barbecue whit baked potato,the spaghetti arrival after 40 minut but we get the fish only after 1 hour whitout baked potato and the fish was very cool.When we complaint about that the waitre said this is the normal procedure and finally we have to paid the full price of meal(include the potato we never receive)!The day after at the breakfast we order one fried eggs both side but after try 3 time we get always the eggs stuffing in only 1 side...the taste of the plain youghurt is absolute orrible... the orange juce was hot and the coffe was cold...i will raccomande to ewery body to stay far away from this property!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    68
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
104
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in a standard room ,which is actually a standalone bungalow. I can't speak about the superior or deluxe rooms, but the standard one's are in need of a refresh. We had to switch off the airco at night due to too much decibels. Old furniture and very basic bathroom with shower.
I assume we got what we paid for and that the more expensive rooms are better.
The bed and as such quality of sleep was bad. A typical Asian rock hard matrass that made me wake up a couple of times each night and gave me a sore back each morning.
Breakfast has a limited choice of an Asian dish, some toasting bread and fruit.
What saves the place is the location and the garden with pool. The resort is ideally located at one of the nicest bays of the island. Beautiful sunset if the weather is ok. And all bungalows are on or seconds from the beach. Next to that Long Bay has one of the nicest pools in size and quality at the bay. Free towel, long chairs and umbrellas. And surrounded by a nice and well maintained garden.
Also hotel offers free pickup from the ferry pier.
Conclusion -3 stars for the room +2 stars for location and pool. If we come back to this resort it would be in a better room.
PS: not a location for whatever moon party animals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for the full moon party. When we arrived we were shocked at how basic our room actually was! After a while though, we ended up falling in love with this lovely little set up. The room was just somewhere to sleep and shower and so it's simplicity didn't matter to us! The location is bang on the beach and is beautiful. The pool is a good size and you can always find a sun lounger. Random but worth mentioning: you have to pay to hire a sun lounger on the beach which are plastic yet you get to use the comfy cushioned ones by the poo next to the beach for free! Strange! Anyway, the breakfast was basic but the bbq at night was pretty good! Ramel the afternoon/evening manager is always rushed off his feet but still smiles and is very friendly. The bar man is also beyond friendly and will go the extra mile to make you happy. Overall for the £60 it cost me for 3 nights B&B I cannot complain one little bit! Lovely pool, beautiful location, lovely staff and decent food. Only one little niggle: The service is pretty slow at night time but you can forgive that since the price is so reasonable and the staff are so damn smiley!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rankias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I LOVED this place. We stayed in the cheapest bungalows but it was fab- with our own hammock and we were a 2 second walk to the lovely beach. Jack at reception was very welcoming on arrival and the whole long bay team were so friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. The setting is perfect for relaxing. The beachside restaurant and BBQ had top class food with top class service- very friendly burmese waiters and a lovely Italian manager. The bar was just by the restaurant and both were right on the beach so it had a very luxurious feel for a very very reasonable price. The manager helped us arrange to rent a motorbike and we felt very much at home for our all too short stay. I was sad to leave and I plan a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We didn't stay here but ate here a few times so our review is solely on this experience.

We ate here twice and although the BBQ food we had was nice the service was very hit & miss. You'd either be totally ignored by the waiters (we had to go and get our own drinks from the bar) or all of them would come over asking the same thing on each occasion. I am not sure how they train their staff but it needs a little work!

We tried to eat here one final time and once again went for the BBQ. On the previous 2 occasions we had had a kebab each which is served with a salad and rice as part of the meal. On this final time we ordered the same, minutes later a waiter came over to confirm we wanted 2 rices and 2 salads. Then he returned to say we could only have one rice and 2 salads which we were ok with. Yet again he came over to tell us that it was now only possible to have one rice and one salad to share. In his words "the chef has gone mad and won't make another salad". This pushed our patience a bit too far and we told them to forget it, we'd drink our drinks & go.

After cancelling our order they then proceeded to bring over our one rice and one salad which we sent back, then they turned up with the cooked kebabs which we also sent back.

What sort of crazy place is this that they'd rather waste food than make up one more salad??!

I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights recently in one of the garden huts. They were clean and secure and footsteps from the beautiful beach. They are a few years old I think and could do with a bit of a revamp at this stage. There is no fridge or coffee pot which is a pity. There are more modern bungalows with all mod cons for a dearer price. We originally booked for 3 nights a number of weeks in advance through Bookings.com for 2700 we then extended for an extra 2 nights at short notice and were charged B3000 even though there were plenty of vacancies so book well in advance. The breakfast and pool are excellent. You can book your ferry / bus tickets etc at reception where the staff are excellent particularly Nina.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have stayed in a garden hut. It is modest, but well mantained and clean. Huts dont have refrigirator. The garden is gorgeous and very well mantained. Receptionist ladies are kind, especially Nuna. Restaurant for the breakfast is modest, modest hygiene and low quality of the food. Most staff are man and they are not too much kind and not speaking much english. Beach is nice, but as most places around don't expect crystal clear water. 7/11 is 5 minutes walk behind. As well as scooter rentals. They all want passport deposit. The bungalow is over priced, but this is already common in all tourist spots on all south islands.

Room Tip: Always check the room before taking it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.9 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#74 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#55 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing