We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are quite small, if you choose the normal ones. We went there in May so it was quite quiet and relaxed. They have a good restaurant on the beach with lots of seafood and fish. The greatest thing for us was that the resort is near Haad Yao Divers and we took a 3 days Open Water course. We did scuba diving from the boat, far away from the shore because the beach isn't great at all. One has to walk for 100 meters in order to be able to swim in a deeper water. All in all, if you don't expect it to be heaven on earth then you'll have a good experience there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    35
    15
    20
See reviews for
30
101
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We booked for two nights here. the room has every thing you need. I had one deluxe room for my family and one extra bed. Breakfast is included. my unit was on the side of the beach. It was very fantastic when u wake up, open the door and see the beach right in front of you. The beach in this island is calmer than the beach in Samui island where is beside Pha-ngan island. It is so peaceful here. the reception was very friendly. Don't miss their BBQ at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiTai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We used booking.com and got a decent deal on a garden cottage (1500 baht). The resort has about ten cottages, small detached with nice sit out wooden terraces around spacious gardens. the other bungalows are more expensive and looked nice. Housekeeping very good with cleaning and new sheets etc every day.
The hotel has a nice feel about it, spread out with the pool looking directly on to the Haad Yao beach. Although it was full there was plenty of space and loungers free. The gardeners were constantly tidying up, collecting leaves, strimming the sand, dragging dogs around etc.
The staff were mostly Burmese, receptionists friendly, cocktail bar lads Choo Choo (?) and Charlie really friendly and enthusiastic (happy hour cocktails good and only 100 baht), breakfast staff and other waiters pretty gormless but a little happier than most we encountered on the islands...
No daytime bar so you had to trek down the beach to buy drinks from the neighbouring hotel's supermarket. One day though they did find the key to the fridges and sold cans from an ice box. Strange, especially when there were so many staff wandering about.
There a couple of (nice placid) resident dogs, in fact I think perhaps the old husky dog thought he was the managers. Unfortunately they attracted a lot of their pals to the resort and they sort of rampaged around as a pack. The afore mentioned wandering staff just seemed to ignore them, even when they were howling, jumping on sunbeds and making love.
We felt very comfortable here but if you have children or are nervous around dogs, perhaps avoid Long Bay!

Room Tip: The garden cottage rooms are cheaper and you still get the facilities of the resort including the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is literally right on Haad Yao, a beautiful white sandy beach. At night the resort puts tables on the sand and you can eat dinner there, although the wait staff is really hit or miss.
For an incredibly low price we got a garden hut, basically our own stand alone hotel room. Plain, but has everything you need.

They also will give you a free cab ride to the Thong Sala port, which is great for when you leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Haid Salad for two nights and were looking for somewhere else to stay.

We rode our scooter into the resort and had a cocktail made by the excellent barman Joe Joe. He is grest and very good at making cocktails.

We loved the look and feel of the resort and arranged two nights stay with Vincent the resort manager. We were not disappointed and had a great time.

Vincent is great and really looked after us

Having stayed three nights the resort was full and we moved to Sandy Bay up the beach. I agree with the comments people gave for this resort and villas

I would recommend Longbeach as the whole resort and accommodation is the best for the money we paid.

Loved it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the resort as a family of four. It was perfect. The bungalows were large and very clean. We would recommend staying poolside because that way you can spend sunset on the balcony enjoying a view of the ocean. The food was good, but of course order Thai dishes to get the most out of it! The pool was immaculately clean and a good size. The kids could splash around without bothering sunbathers. The staff were extremely helpful with our various requests. We hope to return again to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongka, Responsable relations clients at Longbay Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2016
dear guest, dear family

We happy to read your review and very happy you enjoy holiday in longbay resort.
We hope to see you again.
You can follow us :
On facebook : longbayresort phangan
On twitter : @longbayresort1

best regards
longbay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Longbay Resort is a group of traditional bungalows arranged in beautiful gardens or along the beach, with easy access to the range of restaurants & bars offered along this stretch of beach, or on the village road behind. Unlike a lot of resorts, it is flat! Although the accommodation was excellent at Longbay Resort, my preference was to eat at one of the many other great restaurants along the bay as the good-but-cheesy singer with guitar got a bit much - but worth putting up with for the happy hour cocktails!

Room Tip: Larger, more expensive bungalows on the beach, but simple rooms at the back of the resort are very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.1 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#66 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#72 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#49 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing