We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky & not well run: owners have changed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phangan Cabana Resort
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Strange experience.
All the older great reviews came before the change of owner.
The current owner (pregnant at the time) is very eager & friendly but need to learn some serious management skills.
The Burmese staff are lazy & quite odd (they're probably home-sick & fed-up).
But the room was cheap & okay, pool old but clean & it's a great place to have a beer & watch the sunset.
Sort of like a 'Thai Faulty Towers' but I guess in a way that's also part of the charm: if you have a bizarre sense of humor!
Location is great though: the beach is good, there's a bar called heaven next door (I know it's cliche but I couldn't resist asking the wife if she 'fancied going to heaven for a drink')
There are better run hotels but it ain't expensive

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreySuit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

we stayed in one of the detached bungalows, 10 quid / 500 baht a night for air-con (a bit rusty!) and hot water. the shower is outside. the floors inside were carpetted and seemed a bit damp and because they were wooden i had nightmares about what would be living under the carpet if i'd dare look. i didnt dare so i'll never know. the pool was ok and a nice beach near by but other than the hotel there's nothing else nearby. the taxi prices are fixed down to the full moon party area so be prepared to get ripped off, and on the way back! probably safer to stay further out and just pay the taxi price than stay nearer the party. get a scooter or you might feel a bit isolated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveReviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Have to say that the room we had at 800 baht a night was fine, with air con, hot water, TV, fridge and huge bed. It was the most expensive and there are only two of them. Luckily, we were one of only two couples staying there. The other bungalows are much smaller at 600 and 500 baht but also have air con, tv, fridge etc.

We stayed here for 4 days and paid upfront, but if we hadn't we would have moved after the second day. I have to say the service was terrible. Each time we went into the restaurant, all the staff were sitting around either playing bingo together or watching the TV which was on constantly, and if we asked for food or a drink it felt as if we were just an annoyance. Also on the second day I asked for the room to be cleaned as we wanted clean towels etc. When we got back all that had been done was the floor had been swept. No clean towels, no toilet roll, no water in the fridge. They had a board outside advertising two films a day - these never materialised even though I did ask if they would be showing any, and was told - no - no other explanation. They advertise cocktails - but don't have the ingredients. The pool, which my other half used once, has too much chlorine and his eyes were stinging for a day or two afterwards.

All in all - if all you want is a decent room - stay here. If you like to be acknowledged and not made to feel like a nuisance - don't. Go up the beach and stay at Benjamin's Hut. Fab place, great people, cheaper prices, although they don't have hot showers but have only been there for three weeks and are working on this.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

the pha-ngan resort is located directly on the beach. you have a beautifule view of the ocean and the coconut-palmtrees growing right by.
besides that the resort offered good value bungalows starting from 500 Baht (which is around 11 euros) for two peopleso (so around 5 Euros p.Person)! the bungalows were really nice compared to the ones i've stayed in before. the rooms are clean, included a toilet and hot shower and even had TV, air-con and a fridge !
Besides that I found the pool a nice spot to relax and the restaurant offered all kinds of thai and western food for reasonable prices. it was so delicious!
if you arrive in thongsala by ferry you just take the road by the coast into the western-direction and after 8 kilometeres you are there.
all in all it is more of a quiet and relaxed atmosphere here, but maybe that is because of the season that i stayed here. there are a couple of bars around in walking distance and the hotel bar offeres movies every night.
and during the day there are also good spots for snorkeling around, otherwise the beach is beautiful enough just to enjoy.
if you are looking for a Big nightlife you can drive to had rin.
well i had 4 completely happy days here and can definately recommend staying here. this place offeres anything you'd need for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotteZschau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

At first, I have to say I can't understand these negative reviews. My first thought was that they must have renovated this place in the last year.
I came there beginning of march after a friend at koh tao recommended this place for me. There were 3 types of accomodation: small bungalows (TV, AC, warm water) for 500TB/night, a little bigger rooms, also with TV, AC and warm water for 600 and some more expensive rooms, for which I don't remember the price.
I stayed in a 600TB room for 6 nights and was completely satisfied. The room was very clean, TV and AC worked properly, as well as the shower. The people working there were very friendly and also the food was not bad (one could say it was average). We spent a lot of time at the poolside, which was very nice. The sea is very shallow, so it is only possible to go swimming before noon.
But, the thing I liked most there were the people staying there. There is a small bar maybe 20m down the beach. They sell very good cocktails and even organize your food in a nearby restaurant if you're hungry!
So, if you want to spend some days in a lovely, quiet place - Phangan Cabana is definitely the right choice!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

i stayed here for 4 days last year and it is a great little set of bungalows. it is a family owned operation, everyone is very friendly, and if you want a safe place to stay during the full moon party this is it. all you prissy type people who like to complain about your accomadations should know this... koh phangan is a thiefs paradise, and the cabana is a place with locking rooms, at least 3-4 full grown men walking around the grounds 24 hours a day, great food, good movies on in the common area every night, clean swimming pool if you don't like the ocean, to and from taxi service to full moon party, and full cable tv...i feel completely safe staying here,,,, most cabanas and bugalows have absolutely no night time security (maybe a 4 foot tall thai woman at front desk). stay here to enjoy this island, if you are willing to pay a bit more....if you are on a budget, stay at the sea view rainbow, about 1 km towards the full moon party beach from cabana,... 300 baht per night for private beach house, and you have to enter premises over small walking bridge, very safe area!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skiptorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My mate and i stayed here during a full moon party. I had been travelling through Asia for 2 months before getting here and thought that the hotel was luxury compared to some other places i stayed at but if your looking for a nice modern hotel room with a great bathroom, this is not it.

The worst part about this hotel was i had a flight booked from koh samui airport to connect on to a long hall flight out of bangkok one morning which ment me taking the first ferry from thongsala at 7:00 to make my flight. the hotel owner offered to book me a taxi to thongsala pier (which he totally overcharged me for it) and the ferry ticket and assured me that i would make it in time. I stood out the front on the road and waited for the taxi driver to show up and at 6:45, i gave up on the so called 'cab' the hotel owner booked for me and had to pay a local 400 Baht to rush me to the ferry so i wouldnt miss my flight back to Australia. My mate who was still staying at this hotel went and told him and his reply was 'ah well'.

We paid 1300 Baht for a A/C double room that we booked through a travel agent in thongsala when we got off the ferry. we had to barter hard for an hour to get it at that price.

The hotel seemed to have people our own age staying there (early to mid 20s) which was good for a backpackers social point of view, the pool was great but the chlorine levels burned your eyes and made me stink for a week after. you cannot swim in the beach as there is coral past knee level

the restaurant was terrible, all the food was sooo greezy and expensive, but the hotel next door's kitchen ran by a nice old thai lady had the most amazing food i ate in thailand and at a third of the price. if i go back to koh phangan i would stay at this ladies bungalows as they also are half the price of what pha ngan cabana charge.

the movies in the restaurant were cool.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Benniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
6.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
6.7 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#59 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
71 reviews
1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#76 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#22 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Cabana Resort

Address: 79/2-3 Moo 8, Chawpaow Bay | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £11 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Cabana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phangan Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pha Ngan Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing