We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and tidy place for little money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phangan Cabana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phangan Cabana Resort
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy place for little money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

At first, I have to say I can't understand these negative reviews. My first thought was that they must have renovated this place in the last year.
I came there beginning of march after a friend at koh tao recommended this place for me. There were 3 types of accomodation: small bungalows (TV, AC, warm water) for 500TB/night, a little bigger rooms, also with TV, AC and warm water for 600 and some more expensive rooms, for which I don't remember the price.
I stayed in a 600TB room for 6 nights and was completely satisfied. The room was very clean, TV and AC worked properly, as well as the shower. The people working there were very friendly and also the food was not bad (one could say it was average). We spent a lot of time at the poolside, which was very nice. The sea is very shallow, so it is only possible to go swimming before noon.
But, the thing I liked most there were the people staying there. There is a small bar maybe 20m down the beach. They sell very good cocktails and even organize your food in a nearby restaurant if you're hungry!
So, if you want to spend some days in a lovely, quiet place - Phangan Cabana is definitely the right choice!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    10
    6
    13
See reviews for
6
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

i stayed here for 4 days last year and it is a great little set of bungalows. it is a family owned operation, everyone is very friendly, and if you want a safe place to stay during the full moon party this is it. all you prissy type people who like to complain about your accomadations should know this... koh phangan is a thiefs paradise, and the cabana is a place with locking rooms, at least 3-4 full grown men walking around the grounds 24 hours a day, great food, good movies on in the common area every night, clean swimming pool if you don't like the ocean, to and from taxi service to full moon party, and full cable tv...i feel completely safe staying here,,,, most cabanas and bugalows have absolutely no night time security (maybe a 4 foot tall thai woman at front desk). stay here to enjoy this island, if you are willing to pay a bit more....if you are on a budget, stay at the sea view rainbow, about 1 km towards the full moon party beach from cabana,... 300 baht per night for private beach house, and you have to enter premises over small walking bridge, very safe area!!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skiptorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

My mate and i stayed here during a full moon party. I had been travelling through Asia for 2 months before getting here and thought that the hotel was luxury compared to some other places i stayed at but if your looking for a nice modern hotel room with a great bathroom, this is not it.

The worst part about this hotel was i had a flight booked from koh samui airport to connect on to a long hall flight out of bangkok one morning which ment me taking the first ferry from thongsala at 7:00 to make my flight. the hotel owner offered to book me a taxi to thongsala pier (which he totally overcharged me for it) and the ferry ticket and assured me that i would make it in time. I stood out the front on the road and waited for the taxi driver to show up and at 6:45, i gave up on the so called 'cab' the hotel owner booked for me and had to pay a local 400 Baht to rush me to the ferry so i wouldnt miss my flight back to Australia. My mate who was still staying at this hotel went and told him and his reply was 'ah well'.

We paid 1300 Baht for a A/C double room that we booked through a travel agent in thongsala when we got off the ferry. we had to barter hard for an hour to get it at that price.

The hotel seemed to have people our own age staying there (early to mid 20s) which was good for a backpackers social point of view, the pool was great but the chlorine levels burned your eyes and made me stink for a week after. you cannot swim in the beach as there is coral past knee level

the restaurant was terrible, all the food was sooo greezy and expensive, but the hotel next door's kitchen ran by a nice old thai lady had the most amazing food i ate in thailand and at a third of the price. if i go back to koh phangan i would stay at this ladies bungalows as they also are half the price of what pha ngan cabana charge.

the movies in the restaurant were cool.

  • Liked — It wasn't in Haad Rin
  • Disliked — The hotel owner and the scams
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Benniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

The comments below sum the place up perfectly.

Me and my boyfriend were also sent here via the TAT.
The place is horrendous and we were seriously ripped off with the price.

We didn't arrive till after dark so we didn't realise how bad it was at first glance. Damp, cockroaches and no lock on the door. We slept on the sun beds near the pool that night as the 'wendy house' was repulsive.

We moved to a slightly upgraded version the next day that was still damp but at least it was made of bricks and not sticks this time.

To get to it you have to walk up some tiled steps, after the rain these were seriously slippy and without a handrail to hold onto my boyfriend slipped and fell down them. He was lucky to have recieved only extreme bruising and a sore back and arm, it could have been way worse.

Whatever you do don't stay here unless it cost you about 10p. We easily found somewhere to stay in bangkok on new years eve, advanced booking through the TAT is pointless don't get ripped off like we were.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — my boyfriend would say the breakfast I would say the price
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Quail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

My boyfriend and I, (in our early 20s) stayed here for a week in May '07 while we were travelling. We only stayed here because we were scammed by the TAT (Thai Authority of Tourism) while we were in Bangkok and were basically scared into thinking we wouldn't get any accommodation in the south of Thailand if we didn't book in advance (during the low season) silly- I know!
Most of our disappointment lies in the fact that we spent a lot of money on a very low budget style place; which at low backpacker prices would have be okay.

These are the main points:

Our small ‘bungalow’ had a double bed (taking up most of the room), and a fridge with a TV on top of it at the end of the bed. The room was very damp, evident in the smell and the wallpaper that was peeling off the walls and there was no wardrobe; just a couple of small shelves at the back of the room, which was particularly annoying for us as we were living out of backpacks. The showeroom was off the main room, with wooden steps going down to what was basically four walls with half a roof, a sink, a toilet and a shower hose; but no shower basin, so you had to soak the whole bathroom.

The swimming pool was very small but clean and the beach was lovely but the water is too shallow to swim in so you have to just wade in the water.
The restaurant is open-air and serves pretty nice food as long as you stick to Thai, and we enjoyed watching the films in the evenings that played on a big screen at the restaurant 3 times throughout the day.

Overall, I would say that if you are a backpacker then this is okay, and a fun base for your trip, but even then, only if you're getting it very cheaply.
As a holiday I would strongly advise against coming here as it is
far too basic and not well looked after enough.

  • Liked — The beach and the restaurant
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NinniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

Absolutely terrible place to stay. The website recommended it as an upmarket resort with fantastic luxury bungalows on the beach front at 1800 baht a night. We thought this was a bit pricey but as we were going all the way to Thailand why not. The problem was and our mistake we had to pay the full amount for 7 nights before we could see the room (12600 baht) with no refund option. The “luxury beach front” bungalow was not on the beachfront but a full 75 metres from the beach on a building site that started work at 07.30am. The bungalow was so damp we could not actually sleep that night due to the smell. The next morning I asked for a full refund, they refused, however we were in Thailand for only a small amount of time and wanted to enjoy our time so we bit the bullet and moved on letting them keep our money. Avoid this place at all cost you will be disappointed.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonJoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

To say i wasn't impressed with this accommadation is a bit of an understatement. We pre-booked on the Phangan Info website, (if you fancy a laugh check it out because the description is WAY off - [--]) If you booked through the website you had a stay for a minimum of 5 nights with a 50% deposit paid upfront. We left after the first night and we weren't the only ones!

The description of this resort and the pictures make it sound quite nice right?, and at 1,800 bht a night you'd think it would be too? However, the rooms are barely big enough to swing a cat, the drains stink, there was mould on the walls and roofing, some of the struts on the balconies are rotten and feel like you're going to fall through them, the cover on the bed is a moth-holed big blue towel, and the sheets were made of some weird material that felt constantly damp? .....Oh and did i mention the construction work that starts at 9am sharp regardless of they day? The food is average but on the plus side they do show films three times a day in the bar!

The attitude of the resort manager was one of pure distain. He reckoned it would take 3-4 days to get hold of the boss in Bangkok to see if we could have any money back. After a few heated debates, and return trips, we managed to get back quarter of the money we paid, and ended up staying down the road in a beautiful resort for christmas which was practically the same price!

Don't get me wrong.... If you mange to stay in this place for 400bht and night because you need somewhere to crash after the full moon party, then it's fine. If not i wouldn't recommend touching it with a barge pole!!!

  • Liked — The chicken satay was quite nice.
  • Disliked — Everything apart from the chicken satay
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.2 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#46 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#15 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#65 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niramon Sunview Resort
Niramon Sunview Resort
#68 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#17 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Cabana Resort

Property: Phangan Cabana Resort
Address: 79/2-3 Moo 8, Chawpaow Bay | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Cabana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Phangan Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pha Ngan Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing