We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Thailand for diving, adventure or a party, this is the hot tip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weangthai Hotel & Resort
Ranked #83 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We came to Ko Phangan with no bookings and had Weangthai recommended to us by some people we met on the boat over... we walked in and booked 2 nights to check it out, but after half an hour talking to the staff and seeing the bar/attached dive shop, went straight back to reception and booked another week... we've now been here 2 weeks and reluctantly leave to continue our trip. Cheap & cheerful, well worth a look.

The last few reviews have trashed it, but you can see the resort has improved drastically over the last few months, and still is. A lot of the staff have been turned over and the new guard are clearly on top of things - the dive instructors really know their stuff, and there hasn't been a single staff member from any part of the resort that couldn't give us a good tip on what to check out, or where to find a good deal on anything. The staff are all super polite and friendly, and most hang out at the pool bar after hours to socialize and make sure everyone is having a good time.

During our stay they were also installing new toilets/plumbing, for those who like a little more in the way of western comforts. The rooms are simple but tidy - and just drop your key at reception anytime you want housekeeping. Honestly, we were only in our room to sleep anyway, since there's so much to do on the island and there's always people to hang out with around the resort.

Location is also great since you're 2-3 minutes walk from Thong Sala... the night markets are great for amazing food, and you're central to pretty much everywhere on the island. Mopeds can be rented from the resort (great for exploring) and they also have their own taxis, so no matter what you want to see on the island you're practically there. There's also plenty of other resorts/bars a quick walk down the beach.

The staff helped organize everything from group trips to the moon parties, outings to watch Muay Thai boxing (2 doors down the road, great show btw) and birthday parties for guests. Dive shop staff especially are amazing - we went through our Open Water and Advanced Open Water courses, and all of the instructors were more than happy to answer questions or offer tips at any time - since they're all hanging out anyway, there's really no distinction between 'lesson time' and 'beer time' if you want to talk diving.

The in-house restaurant is great; the staff are too friendly for words and the food is good - the pad thai in particular is amazing. Extremely casual atmosphere and tables flow into the lounge/common area (complete with hammocks, day beds and a library) and all overlook the pool/bar area.

We've had an amazing time and I'd recommend the resort to people looking to dive, explore the island, or party. There were families around during our stay who were happy and quite social - the resort owner's kids themselves are often around the resort amusing everyone - but if you're looking for something super quiet or secluded there's maybe a bit too much fun being had at Weangthai.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearsfromspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Weangthai Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here from 19th - 22nd September. We were booked in by a travel agent in Bangkok who assured us it was a lovely place, she lied! The rooms are scruffy and not how they appear on the brochure. Most importantly there is a grill in the bathroom which allows mosquitos to access the room, I got bitten endlessly while we stayed here. The air con did not have a control so your choice was to freeze or bake. There was a stain on the bedsheets when we arrived making me think they had not been changed since the previous occupants checked out (ew).

There was not a nice vibe arouind the place if you were not interested in scuba diving, the staff all seemed either uninterested (Thai) or arrogant (Brits). I wanted to check out immediately but as it was all paid for I forced myself to stay there. The beach is rubbish and Thong Sala is not a pretty town, there isn't a lot to do there. To add insult to injury the maid stole a £10 note out of my partners backpack. This had stayed put all through Thailand and Cambodia and only went missing in this flea pit.

Take my advice stay away, and like a previous poster said don't believe what Thai travel agents tell you about the islands being fully booked arrive and have a look for yourself (except at full moon time obviously).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen_ONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

From the naff tacky room, to the crap customer service...where to start.
To start ... STAY AWAY!!!
We booked this hotel as somewhere a little nicer to stay and paid more for a better room. The room wasn’t all that nice, the bathroom was small and grimy, the water didn’t even drain away after a shower because the floor sloped the wrong way. (That’s when the shower actually worked for long enough to take a shower) If we hadn’t already prepaid for this hotel we would have left after the first night!!

Not only did the hotel look tacky, are the rooms really not being up to much (if you don’t spend the extra on a ‘nicer’ room they get even worse!!) The Service of the staff was terrible. They just didn’t seem to get that we didn’t want a tour, or a fishing trip. Even after begin told repeatedly that we just wanted to relax, But when you did need them, or some help, they just seemed blah about everything. They couldn’t even provide a padlock for the door, which with out one rooms can be easily broken it to!!

There are so many nicer hotels on this island, especially if your looking for something special. Save your money are look about (and no matter what the tour agencies tell you, there’s always some accommodation – so don’t feel pressured to book with them)

Avoid this hotel!!! The photos on their site are very misleading!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireBearDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I went travelling for four months with my friend, we both work in hotels so we both know what basic standards of customer service are. Weangthai DO NOT!
I'll start from the begining. We booked this hotel through a travel agent in Bangkok - we wanted to stay in a nicer place than just hostels so we paid about £35 a night for this place. When we arrived we checked into the room and although it wasn't awful it was pretty much the same as what we had been paying about £10 a night for previously. One thing to note was that the wet/room shower was really badly designed, the floor sloped the opposite way to the drain so we always had about an inch of water by the door. Anyway, we're not really fussy customers and the room itself wasn't a problem for us. However, the big problem was the staff. There is one guy who works in the bar - creepy German(?) guy with long hair. He tried to sell us their package trips every morning I swear even though we kept saying no we don't want to do them. He sold a fishing trip to some guys we met - said it was amazing - and they came back so disappointed. The guy didn't even take enough fishing rods for all of their group!!
One of the other members of staff complained to us about this guy and said that he just lies to people about the trips to make them go on them. Disgusting behaviour and the guy should be fired!! One example of his lies was he tells people that the temple included in the island tour is over 200 years old, when in fact it was built in 1998!
That is not where my complaint ends! As we were in the pool we ordered two happy hour cocktails from the pool bar, my bag was on the deck chair just out of the pool, but the guy said "dont worry about it we'll put it on your room"...oh ok, great. So we had 3 each and then no more went on our room. When we checked out however they were wanting to charge us full price. At no time did the bar guy mention that if put on our room they would be full price, and they claim there were signs but when we asked to have these signs pointed out they just said ok we'll give you them happy hour price. Lying?? I think so!! Seems to be a recurring theme!
As we checked out two guys we had met there decided they wanted to leave with us and head to the same place we were. They went to pay their bill and found that they too were being charged full price for cocktails that were supposed to be happy hour price. Then they returned their motorcycles they had rented from Weangthai - one of the guys had scratched a tiny part on one side of his so of course he mentioned it and said he would pay the charge. But wait for it - they wanted $700!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for a scratch!?!?!? He eventually spoke with the manager and got this price reduced as the woman had once again LIED saying that he had made more damage that he actually had.
To top it all off, when we FINALLY managed to all check out one of the guys said to the receptionist "i just want you to know that i am really disappointed with this place - i have never stayed anywhere so terrible! i will never be coming back and i will not be recommending it to my friends!" to which the receptionist replied (and I quote) "It doesn't matter, you are only one customer we have many"
Well, there you have it. Worst place I have ever EVER stayed.
Avoid at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duffer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stayed here for Christmas for 5 nights and absolutely loved it.
When we first arrived, the room we had been promised was not available, but the hotel were more than happy to upgrade us for the inconvenience.
We loved the pool bar and the pool bar staff. Very friendly and we could happily spend all day there. In fact all the staff at the hotel were so nice, we ended up partying down on Had Rin beach with them :)
Breakfast was included in our package and there was a lot to choose from and it was served til 10.30am so very nice if you had been partying the night before.
This hotel is perfect if your backpackers looking for a bit of comfort. I really would not recommend bringing a family to this hotel though as it is very party orientated!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candnadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My partner and I stayed here for four nights, after the second day we couldn't hack eating here, it was impossible to enjoy even a small snack with the amount of flies.. I would not recommend thus resort , also we were woken up early the first two mornings by staff banging on our door, turns out they had confused us with another couple who were due to check out, I'm furious with the lack of hygiene and organisation, there's plenty more I could mention

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Runrunrunrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

There is very little good to say about this place:
-The room is very basic and cleaned once in a blue moon should you ask for it to be done
-The service is shocking, the staff are unfriendly particularly the surly woman at the restaurant
-There is vurtually no beach specially when the tide comes in
-DJ's play music ouside the room areas all night long with little time left for sleep
-No movies or activities are provided not even the pool table is free
-Not a great location with no real night life around barring your horrendous dj keeping you up all night

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Amiablemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weangthai Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weangthai Hotel & Resort

Address: Ao Ban Tai Bay, Ko Pha Ngan 84240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Weangthai Hotel Koh Phangan
Weangthai Hotel And Resort
Weang Thai Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing