We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, we would return”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Sunset Cove Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Paihia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort, we would return”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A very clean well maintained resort. Very quiet beautiful setting with the beach, pool and jungle. Pool a good size with sun loungers, trees and umbrellas for shade. Typical reef fringed shallow beach. Best swimming at full tide. Clean bungalows, comfortable beds, good quality linen and towels. Extra toilet rolls left out in reception to take if required. Free bananas and biscusts left each day in reception for guests. Food good and many other restaurants within walking distance to explore. Lots of DVD's and books for guests use. Friendly staff and efficient service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    170
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
80
357
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very helpful free transfer from ferry. Rooms air conditioned, clean. We enjoyed the kayaks, the restaurant, the friendly service and the gyn (although outdoor and basic). Breakfast was good and quite special being waiter/waitress served (no queueing at the buffet!). Restaurant is open air with sea front location, can hear the waves lapping the shore. Overall very friendly and comfortable stay, and very good value.

We had very good trips with the local Haad Yao divers (shop 100m up the road), with some of us scuba diving and some snorkelling; hired motorbikes to see the island; went north to Mae Haad beach (great fro snorkelling), visited Chaloklum - very lovely fishing resort. Famous waterfall was without water though in August. Could have stayed longer than 4 days.

In our opinion, a good location, so can visit the north and the south.

Room Tip: Standard rooms (1500 thb) are air conditioned, don't have sea view, but as out most of day we fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ced2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice and quiet resort. Great pool. Beach bungalow wasn't all that for 3000 baht. Service was bad. At reception we were told that we had to get our own toiletpaper restock; cleaning every second day; no complimentary water bottle in room what you expect for this price. Food was ok, nothing special. Whole resort needs a renovation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkok77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I loved our 4 nights at Sunset Cove. We had a standard bungalow. The room was clean and close to the pool, dining area, and beach. A nice bed, shower, a/c, safe, etc... The view is an amazing beach surrounded by palm trees. The beach was very shallow and a bit rocky in places but it was perfect for children to play in or for adults to sit in the water with a beer and watch the sunset! good location, taxi drivers all know it, easy walk to stores and motorbike rentals. Really helpful staff and very nice. food reasonably priced and very good, especially the thai selections my only "thumbs down" would be that they don't offer cocktails, only beer. Several stores close by do sell liquor though if you feel the need to mix your own. Overall- an amazing place in an amazing location! You won't want to leave!

Room Tip: The beach view cottages are directly beside the pool and dining area. nice view, busy area though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinlight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borås
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here two nights in the standard cottage. The standard and service of the resort was high and the rooms was very clean. There is a pretty nice pool and a nice breakfast was included.

The food on the restaurant was ok but not more. There is some other alternatives for dinner on the beach but not so many.

The beach was very shallow in july, perhaps 20cm. Way to shallow and absolutely not swimable. Had Yao Beach as an example has better restaurants and a bit deeper.

So if u wan´t a nice relaxing stay at a really fresh resort and mostly prefer to swim in the pool, this place is just great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The resort is beautiful, nice pool and a view on the sunset simply breathtaking. Service was great (although a little amateurish, with its good and bad sides), food was OK but you can find better a few mins away by motor bike

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Sunset Cove is a gorgeous little getaway for all ages. I stayed there with some girlfriends in preparation for the Full Moon Party on the other side of the island. Aside from the actual party, we never left the resort and booked an extra night! The simplicity of the hotel makes you feel relaxed and away from crowds. The staff is so warm and friendly and will drop anything they're doing to help you out. The food is great and the prices are very inexpensive. There was a good mix of young adults and family too. I highly recommend the Sunset Cove Resort to all ages and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
531 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing