We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very relaxing stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Very relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. This is a great place to stay in Koh Phangan, although our stay was wet for the three days (4th - 6th June) it was very realxing. Plenty of dvds to choose from for your room if you want to chill out in the evenings, although there's a couple of nice bars along the beach too.

The breakfast was large and included in the price of the stay, the food was very nice and cheap if you wanted to order from the menu for lunch/dinner. Very friendly and relaxed staff who offered to drive us back to the port for 200bht and let us keep our room after the check out time for no extra charge.

Would def stay here again!!

The only downfall was the lighting in the outside bathroom was dark and no mirrors were in our main room...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    162
    45
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
347
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place is just amazing! The staff are so nice, hats are lovely, breakfast and food is great. We loved it. Location is remote but very easy to get a taxi or scooter anywhere. Would recommend this place to everyone - it is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Go for the suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very nice place, people working here are very nice, relaxed, who don`t want your money but your well being!! I recommend! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nunelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We found this place via Trip Adviser and couldnt have been happier. The staff were so lovely and the huts were beautiful. Situated along green tropical walkways Each place came witha DVD player (if you wanted to just relax inside) but why would you when the pool was so great and clean. Brilliant for kids. There is a small baby pool too!
On the reception counter there was free sunscreen for everyone and each day free bananas to help yourself to....we have a baby who is addicted to bananas, this small thing was awesome!
It was easy enough to get a communal cab to Haad Rin for the action if you wanted and cost approx 500 baht for myself, husband and baby (with a bit of haggling). This place is quiet, relaxed, welcoming, generous and good value for money. We plan on returning with both sets of in-laws for a big familly holiday as we are half UK/half Aussie. Totally recommended.
OK, here are the only negative bits..the food is very average. This is not a place to come and eat especially, having said that, they did do smaller portions for the little one and the inclusive breakfast is MASSIVE if you choose all the options and will really set you up for the day. This saves you SO much money when as a familly of four you prob save 1000 baht a day by not paying extra for breakfast!! Food is fairly priced.
There are two dogs. They dont bother too much with you, they dont beg and they are good with children.
Oh, DONT get a massage from the place just left out of the gate, she has grudges to bear!! Turn right and walk for 5 mins.
This is NOT stroller territory. The hills are MASSIVE. Time to take it easy. If you do want to however you can fit a stroller with child seated in the back of a communal taxi, handy as it means the kids are strapped in ;) just make sure the brake is on..it gets hilly.
We loved it here!

Room Tip: A1 is the best and on the pool. A5 is set just back in the greenery. A1-A5 are great but to be hones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boodwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. The setting is like a postcard with the palm trees and the view from the pool and restaurant certainly lived up to the name. This is a quiet place to be with the waves lapping lazily against the shore. The staff were very friendly and happy to serve. We enjoyed kayaking along the coastline. The beach itself is not that great but it can work in your favour as it is quiet and can be seen from your sunlounger anyway. We also enjoyed the food very much, breakfast was generous and the Thai curries delicious. Only negative points would be that the rooms are only made up every second day and the facilities are starting to age and need replacing, e.g. the sun loungers and the furniture on the balconies. They picked us up for free from the pier, costs 200 baht for two people to get back.

Room Tip: Each room is a bungalow and we stayed in the cheapest one without a view, it was still lovely and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelWriterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Sunset Cove was one of the highlights of our holiday. Such a great place to relax and stunning views across the ocean. The infinity pool is amazing and the beach is beautiful, some great snorkelling too. The rooms are gorgeous, staff fantastic and the restaurant and bar area are lovely. Breakfast was really good too with plenty of choice. Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hughesey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The 3 night stay at Sunset Cove was the highlight of our holiday this year. It's not a luxury resort but the family that own the place are lovely, the food great, nice pool and wonderful sunsets! There's a really nice bar just down the beach owned by a Thai rasta guy which plays great music and has nice food as well. It's the perfect place to relax and we'll definitely go back again (for a third time).

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are a bit more expensive but really nice and have air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
9.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing