We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice staff and super pool! ”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying in Koh Phangan just for 3 days during the full moon party.

We ended up staying 10 days at this great resort! It has nice rooms with a semi-outside bathroom which is really relaxed because it kinda deels like your showering outside.

The staff is really friendly and always willing to help you. We especially liked 'Happy Guy', you'll understand the name when you meet him.

The hotel serves a great, big breakfast with a lot to choose from!

It's a 15min drive from thong sala but with a scooter its no problem.

And then the pool.. It's an (very clean) infinity pool overlooking the sea. The best way to wake up is to jump in before or after breakfast, at least thats what we did!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ddeennii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Please DO NOT stay here! We had a standard bungalow booked for 3 nights. We checked in, were brought to our room and immediately called agoda and demanded a full refund. This place is a dump, it was a rock hard bed in the middle of a tiny room, there was no kind of decor it was just a bare room that reeked of mold and mildew. There were cracks in the ceiling and a lizard came running out of one, the bathroom was a whole other story, it looked like a bathroom at a gas station on the side of the road that you are terrified to even go to. During the brief 10 minute stint in our room we also realized the wifi and air conditioner didn't work properly so had to go down to reception to use the internet to find somewhere new to stay, and got literally aten alive, this place is in close vicinity to a lake and is completely taken over by Mosquitos, leaving welts and bites all over us, they were EVERYWHERE. The staff however were friendly, except when we asked the receptionist to call us a cab to leave she would not and told us to go wait by the road. I am wondering if people are being told to write these "rave" reviews because this place is a complete dive, save your time and money.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeshkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We only stayed here for one night as somewhere to stay after the full moon party. We arranged a transfer to the hotel from the ferry at Thong Sala, which was unexpectedly provided for free. We had lunch and some drinks in the restaurant which were very reasonably priced and had a nice view. Our room was fine for the one night, we had a garden view room. If we were staying longer I would probably have upgraded. The hotel arranged a taxi service to the full moon party for 200 baht per person which left at 21.00. The hotel kept hold of our key to save us losing them at the party! There was someone waiting when we got back to return the key. Due to the torrential rain the wooden walkways around the hotel were wet and a bit slippery, my husband fell over and has a bit of a cut on his shin.
There were plenty of DVDs/books/magazines to borrow from near the restaurant/reception.
The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had always stayed on Haad Yao when staying on Koh Phanagan but this being our third stay fancied a change, we looked at quite a few resorts along the West coast and settled on Sunset Cove.

The staff were brilliant, really friendly always happy to help with a smile.

They offered an excellent walk in rate which included breakfast for our 5 night stay.

The beach was ok and was cleaned by the staff while we were there.

The infinity swimming pool was great - amazing for sunsets.

Breakfast was very good. We had lunch there once which was ok, not great though.

There were lots of little extras like bug spray, free fruit and DVDs which was a really nice touch.

We stayed in one of the C bungalows, which is a little way back from the beach front. They are all detached and of wooden construction on stilts. The bed was firm, not too soft. The room and bathroom was clean with TV and fridge. The bathroom had ineffective looking netting which in fact worked very well and we hardly saw a mosquito in the bathroom or room.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return tomorrow if we could! The low season walk in rates are excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colesy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were impressed by the neat, stylish design and feel of this small resort on Chao Pao. The staff were welcoming, warm, generous and engaging for our 6 night stay. The included breakfast was fresh and ample. The pick of the villas are those poolside - A1-4. Our daughters loved their stay in A1. It's ideal for families or couples. V highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the A1 to A4 villas for a treat. We also had B5-6 which were comfortable, clean and quiet. Th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bern L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Koh Phangan was another area we did a lot of research to try and find a quality stay at reasonable prices and again tripadvisor steered us true. This is a Thai family run business and it’s a mix of quirky service with outstanding local friendliness and chilled from start to finish. Your isn’t ready sure sit down, have a drink and look out on an amazing scenic view. They have an infinity pool which was a god sent as you need to go miles out to get any depth from the sea which has a lot of corals which the island is well known for (some good diving spots can be swam to/complimentary sea kayaks either). The food from breakfast to dinner was real good home cooking – not on par with the more expensive dining options further up the beach but the service won’t be beaten. They looked after our transport to and from the hotel, booked ferries for us when we were leaving - when that was delayed and they spotted us still waiting they dropped over to check that we were ok!

We spoiled ourselves at times in Thailand with some luxury 5 star hotels yet this is the one that stays in the memory as the best hotel from our trip

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBurns1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My friend and I were really looking forward to our two night stay here but were terribly disappointed. The room was bare, grubby and the first thing we saw was a cockroach... and then hairs under the sheets. Yuck. The restaurant food was not great and the area isn't brilliant for other options, so we chose to escape the next day to Koh Samui - definitely the best plan. Such a shame as Sunset Cove looked really nice online, but completely failed to live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
297 reviews
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £30 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing