We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Charming spot right on the beach. It felt a little like Robinson Crusoe thanks to the bungalows and wooden walkways. We especially loved the outdoor bathroom, so charming to have a cool shower in the fresh air after a long day of snorkeling.
The staff was very helpful. The location was great. The only criticism I might offer is that the food wasn't great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaliceAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    159
    43
    27
    8
See reviews for
77
345
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the minute we arrived at Sunset Cove, the smily, happy staff couldn't do enough for us. We arrived in the middle of a rain storm soaked to the skin, and the first thing they did was provide us with fresh towels to get dried off! Everyone who works at Sunset seems to smile the whole time, and looking around you, you can see why.

Our bungalow, and the resort itself, were spotlessly clean. They have a beautiful infinity pool, beach, and bar/eating area. Their menu was great, extensive, and not over priced. If, however, you want to eat elsewhere, there are plenty of other places to eat within short walking distance from the resort.

Sunset Cove helped us organise a day trip to Ang Thong and everything went flawlessly from start to finish.

I got home to Bangkok after the trip and realised I'd left my wallet in our bungalow. One phone call later and it was posted out to me, arriving via special delivery just 2 days later.

I have nothing bad at all to say about this resort, and am going back in a few weeks to spend more time there. Anyone who hasn't tried this place out - what are you waiting for?

5 stars all the way for Sunset Cove!

Room Tip: We took sea view bungalow A2 which overlooked the pool/beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Been twice to this beautiful resort, fantastic location, beautiful sunsets, extremely friendly staff, great food, just a great place. Stayed in front bungalows, clean and comfortable. Looking forward to going back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The best resort in ko pha ngan in my opinion, real family atmosphere , great food great pool clean and super friendly resort, there isn't anything the staff won't do for you but I loved how they don't bother you and just let you to relax and enjoy your holiday, also on the west side of the island so you get beautiful sunsets

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Barra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was a nice resort to stay in and good value for the money. The rooms are clean and the outdoor bathrooms are nice. Also, the pool is great for relaxing. The only problem with the resort is if you want to be around a variety of restaurants there are only a few near the resort and haad rin is 40 minutes and 20 dollars away. Because the food in the resort is not good at all this was a problem for me. I ended up staying 3 nights though, so if you want to relax I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

A really beautiful place, in room facilities aren't the best (no shower gel or kettle) but you won't spend any time in your room! There is plenty of extras around the hotel, masks, bat and balls water pistols etc which are free to use as u wish. The staff are easily the nicest people we came into contact with on the island very helpful and accommodating.. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Recently had five days here in one of the beach front bungalows. Rooms were basic but very comfortable and clean with a indoor and out door shower and wooden bath tub!
You'll struggle to get a better view from a infinity pool than this with the sun setting into the sea every evening.
The staff were wonderful and so kind and always so cheerful! We only had the breakfast at the Cove and that was superb but Benjamin's Hut next door has some of the best spring rolls we've had on our trip!
Word of warning the bugs come out in force at night, but was probably a lot to do with the time of year so plenty of spray is recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo-Loris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
9.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing