We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay!”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
1 review
“Peaceful Stay!”
Reviewed 4 March 2009

One of the best get-away's there is.
My Wife and I had the best possible time.

Hotel was lovely, rooms large, beach terrific.

The Staff was amazing, and took care of all our needs, and always with a smile.

The food was the best we had in Thailand, especially the Pad-Thai!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehudkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    168
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
355
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This resort set on the beach amid palm trees is just perfect for relaxation. The standard wooden bungalow we stayed in was very basic but extremely spacious and great value for money. The open air shower was great. The Thai food was the best we've ever had and great value for money. My husband wanted to bring the cook back with us to Cyprus. The coconut shakes were to die for and we made sure we got the receipe from the staff! The resort has some nice touches like a library of free DVDs you can borrow, free mountain bikes, snorkelling equipment and canoes. The pool area is nice and there are always enough sun loungers. The sunsets really are amazing here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this resort for someone seeking a tranquil and secluded gettaway.

Liked - food, coconut shakes, staff
Disliked - beach

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed at the Sunset Cove for just under a week in February and based our choice of stay on the good reviews on this site. We had spent a week in Koh Samui prior to our visit and took the Seatran ferry to Koh Phanghan. A member of staff met us at the pier and provided us with a welcome free ride to the resort - this was arranged by dropping the resort a quick email notifying them of our arrival time.

The resort is excellent in all respects. It is is directly on the seafront and we opted for one of the four seafront rooms. The rooms was large and spacious, front veranda, small living room area, large bedroom and bathroom with large wooden bath and outdoor shower. The room was well air-conditioned and had a huge comfortable bed. Good security lockable safe also. There is a TV in the rooms but you can't pick up any TV channels. To compensate for this, there are a large selection of DVDs to borrow - both old and recent (for humour, borrow The Simpsons DVD and select to view it with "English subtitles" for some hilarious mis-translated lines!). The whole resort is surrounded by tropical palm trees and gardens.

What made the resort so good was the helpfulness of the staff. Breakfast served between 8am-10am and is a tick-box selection of items. The restaurant is open throughout the day and evening and all of the meals were very very good and reasonably priced. All items were added to our bill which we paid on departure, so you don't need to keep bringing your wallet with you. The milkshakes, especially the cocount one, were very good. The staff can help with organising tours, trips and general information of the island.

The resort has a number of mountain bikes which you can use for free, or a tandem for 60 Baht an hour, We opted for the mountain bikes and managed to ride around the North of the Island to the elephant treks and South to Thongsala on two separate days. With one of the free maps, you cant really go too wrong. Internet is on site and costs only 2 Baht a minute.

The pool is warm and spacious and we found there was always a sun lounger available, though the resort was probably about three-quarters full at the time of our stay, if it were completely full there may not be enough loungers. The beach is a short stretch and not as wide as some others, but you can walk out into the sea and swim.

The town is about ten minutes walk on turning right out of the resort - number of restaurants and shops, spas and massage parlours - this is the quieter side of the island - so provides peace and relaxation.

The resort staff got us back to the pier for our return ferry. All in all, we had a great stay and would definately stay again at the Sunset Cove - and the sunsets really are great here!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFTREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed in Sunset Cove in Jan 09. It is set on a beautiful and peaceful beach which is very quiet and relaxing. The resort represents very good value for money. The rooms are fairly basic but large and have everything you need including fridge and air con and interestingly an outdoor bathroom! They are designed in quite a tropical setting so are quite dark.The pool is nice and looks out over the crystal clear sea. Its not on a busy part of the island (not for the full-mooners) but there are a selection of bars and shops very close by and also a wonderful massage place next door. Food is pretty standard thai but is cheap and cheerful, service is fairly laid back but that isn't really a problem.
And most importantly, the sunsets really are amazing.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemisstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Firstly a big thank you to all the other reviews re sunset cove on this website. The reviews were spot on !. I spent a week at sunset cove after a week in chiang mai and a week in Koh sumai i wished i had spent more time now at sunset cove as the staff and the resort were amazing and the staff could not do enough for me and my friends especially new years day after a long night at the full moon party !. I would return to sunset cove as it was so relaxing and quiet unlike another resort my other friends stayed at. If you want a traditional thai resort then this place is a great treat...I will be back. JV

  • Liked — The shower in the open
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JVeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed at Sunset cove over new year 2008/09 for a whole week. Unfortunately the weather was poor, so much too long. We read all the good comments on Sunset Cove and booked because of that. To be honest we have been quite disappointed on arrival. We booked the seaside bungalow for 3800 Baht the night and expected something else. Especially the beach is quite a dissappointment, not at all there in winter, and not much care in front of the hotel with all the concret and bags to avoid the rest of the beach to be swept away, so not really a tropical beach get-away, not really inviting, and no possibility to lie at the beach. I was not one time in the sea, and just walked on the beach to get to the italian restauarnt at the end of the beach. The bungalow we first got offered was next to the ugly wall and quite dark, with a lot of talking we could change to the first in the row next to the restaurant. The bungalow itself is nice, especially the veranda and the small room attached to it, but not what you expect for 3800 Baht, but it was christmas price, so normally it's cheaper and than it is really ok. the breakfast was ok, but nothing to rave about, and after 6 days really boring, no cheese, no herbal tea, no baguette. food was nice for lunch, perhaps not perfect for a nice romantic dinner, really good shakes, good waffles. people are really really friendly and really good, the know your room number immediately, you can pay in the end and everything was correctly made, not expensive, and even if you are a little trouble like me they always smiled.
Hire a motorbike to be a little bit independent, foodwise, and also for distraction, because when the weather is not good it can get boring. after seeing other resorts and hotels I have to say that Sunset Cove is a good choice on Ko Phangan, but do not expect 5 stars, beach or a really romantic place.

  • Liked — the staff, the bungalow, the shakes and the relaxed and cosy athmosphere
  • Disliked — beach
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mymarinaHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

we spent 3 weeks traveling and after visiting Koh Samui, which has now gone expensive and too much of a tourist trap, we spent 4 days over xmas here.
we were met by the sunset cove truck at the ferry port, and were not disapointed by the resort.
quick, personal check in, then showed our bungalow which was fantastic! open bathroom, but it takes seconds to get used to this.
sunset cove is a lovely quite place to stay. breakfast is fab! the food from the menu was excellent too. we bought a hammock and hung it up on our porch.
we ate up the hill at all 3 restaurants, all were good food. Nams place was my favourite - hammocks you can swing in, and very friendly.
there is nothing to do at sunset cove except relax and read and watch dvds which are provided free. too far to go for the full moon party. this is what we were looking for, so suited us fine.
To make this resort even better, i would suggest - a mirror in the room, not just in the bathroom outside, some slight entertainment in the evening - music at least in the background to break the silence. there are a couple of bars on the beach - an amazing place called pirates bar - set up like a ship at the end of the beach - except no one goes there for some reason?
it would have been nice if xmas could have been celebrated for the many English that stayed as Sunset cove. you would not have know it was xmas, except for the small xmas tree hidden by reception. it would have been great to hear some xmas tunes or more decorations, or even a xmas meal put on. We went to the English pub - Masons and had a great slap up xmas meal !
when we left, the owner met us at 6am with a packed lunch !! how nice!
would love to return to this place.

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing