We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just read the reviews”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2009

An excellent few days' stay in May 2009. The island and Sunset Cove were very quiet and empty, so it would be difficult to imagine when busier. All those positive reviews on TripAdviser pretty much cover the ground, so there were no surprises. Overall it is a smaller and more low-key place than we had anticipated, which is good. There were more eating, massage, bar, and shop options in both directions (but mainly to the right) from the resort than most reviews give it credit for. And, yes, the beach is disappointing. Far too shallow to swim, really, even at high tide; and the snorkelling was poor/non-existent - probably in our case because some slightly stormy weather had been stirring up the sand.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

Let me be very to-the-point here: some of the most enjoyable and romantic memories we have is from this place. If you look for a romantic gateway and a quiet atmosphere, this place is for you. Our room/suite was in the first row (costs a bit more but worths every cent), with a view to the pool and right above it - the beach. The room is actually a suite and consists of a sleeping room (decorated simpe and nice), a room where you can simly lie on the floor and watch DVDs, restrooms and an outside shower. There are free DVDs that you can simply take from the reception area and watch in your room.

The food is great, just great. And the staff - excellent; one evening my spouse had a severe stomach-ache and the staff were really helpful. If you need something to buy (water, snacks, rent a motor cycle), you just go outside to the street and get anythign you want.

One point, the beach it self isn't so nice - the low-tide causes the ground to be not so enjoyable. But the sunsets are spectacular and there are 2-3 places along the beach with not too many people, which is great! Highy recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JClackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at the Sunset Cove as part of our round the world trip. It was 5 of the best days we had. We stayed in a poolside bungalow which was huge and had air con, a massive bathroom with amazing views out to the sea. There was a little lounge and a private balcony too with a TV and DVD player. There were plenty of free books, dvds and magazines to borrow and you could also use bikes and helmets to cycle to the local areas. The food in the restaurant was excellent Thai food- the pad thai was amazing! Breakfast was more than you could ever eat and delicious! We also enjoyed the fruit drinks by the pool. Free pick up from the port and travel arrangements made for us when we left and on leaving we were given a packed lunch for our journey. The staff were always helpful and the hotel was spotless. I think the only negatives of Sunset Cove were a lack of things to do in the evening- we felt that some music playing in the bar area or some sort of small entertainment would have livened up the resort but you are able to walk along the beach to other beach bars so this wasnt a major issue. The other thing was that while we were there there was a full moon party and people from the cheaper hotel next door were walking along the beach and coming and using the pool area and facilities of Sunset Cove- whether this was arranged or not we dont know but for us it did spoil the tranquility and as we had paid so much more than them we were slightly annoyed. This didnt dampen our thoughts about SC though and we would definitely recommend and return. The sunsets really are spectacular- with the perfectly placed palm tree hanging off the decking too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWTrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We had a very great stays at the sunset cove.
Bungalows are great but outdoors bathroom during raining season are a mess : full of leaves, dirty and animals.
pool and beach are great, location is lovely and very quiet.
many things are for free : books, DVD, internet not expensive and staff is very quiet and easy.

but it was overpriced copare to other places. we had a very good negociation to cut the price.
it is far from everything and after doing the few bars and restaurants on the beach, we moved to hat rin.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibopMarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I'd say most of the reviews of this resort are spot-on. My own summary:

Positives:
1) The staff. They are friendly and very willing to help with anything you need. Great people, and Sunset Cove's #1 asset. They go so far as to send drivers to the Thong Sala ferry pier when they expect new arrivals, even if you haven't arranged it in advance with them
2) The views. Great sunsets, and stunning views out to Ang Thong.
3) The pool. It's large enough for everyone and has a shallow, shaded area for younger kids to play in. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair with an umbrella or a palm tree for shade.
4) The rooms. The "seaside" (really pool side) rooms are a decent size, with a (non-a/c) front room and an inner (private, a/c) room large enough for a queen bed and an extra single bed (at additional cost).
5) The breakfast. Large, included in the price, great coffee, good muesli with yogurt. In season, ask for mango instead of the three standard fruit options (water melon, pineapple, banana).
6) The general atmosphere. The resort does not have an expensive, shi-shi feel, nor does it feel like a cheap backpacker hang-out. Rather, it's low key but *very* friendly and efficient, and a great value for your money. We really felt at home.

Negatives:
1) The beach. While pretty, in summer the tide is low all day long and the beach is no fun to play on. The shallow water is actually hot when there are no clouds to shade the sun. On the other hand, you can take a kayak or snorkel out past the reef to see some nice corals (I didn't see many fish, though).
2) The lack of a bar. Every other resort on the beach has a full bar, but not Sunset Cove - only beer and Bacardi breezers are available. In my opinion this is rather silly, as mixed drinks are an essential lubricant for a tropical vacation. Try La Dolce Vita just down the beach for strong (but a bit pricey) tasty drinks and the best food on the beach.
3) Wildly fluctuating water temperature in the shower. Annoying, but only to a minor extent in tropical weather, which means cool showers are best anyway.

Some other tips:
1) Don't forget to get a massage at least once. Samruay, the first massage outfit on the right as you walk on the road back towards Thong Sala, is reasonably priced and the massage I got was great. On the other hand, you get more privacy and a more exclusive atmosphere at Paragon, a bit farther down.
2) Wireless internet access is free (and a decent speed, although not lightening), whereas using their computer costs (I think 2 Baht/min).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We finished off our Thailand holiday with 3 days at Sunset Cove - the perfect wind down, totally relaxed location. We decided to leave Koh Samui on 8am ferry, hotel were fine with such an early check in time and even picked us up at Thong Sala so we were there by 9am. The location is gorgeous. Sit's on a sweeping bay with views out to Ang Thong National Marine Park - just stunning. We were booked into a Seaview Suite (A1) and would recommend spending the wee bit extra to get one of these. They are gorgeous and feel like you are practically in the sea when open your door! I loved the outside shower and had no bother with beasties although would recommend taking mozzie spray as theres loads. 50% deet and they pretty much leave you alone. Lastly, what can I say about the sunsets.....they are truly stunning! Grab a beer, sit back and just enjoy!

The sea is hopeless for swimming as so shallow and takes pretty much all day to come in over the reef but the pool is fab and we were more than happy to dip in there instead. Also note that part of the pool is a jacuzzi and perfect for sitting in with cold Singa reading your book with views along the bay.......oh to be back!

Only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is that the food isn't that great. Hard eggs with breakfast and just not really the standard of Thai food which had come across with the rest of our holidays. We were only there for 2 nights so wasn't a problem but think would have stuggled if there for longer. There is an Italian (La Dolce Vita) along the beach which serves brilliant Thai red and green currys tho. Well worth a visit. We also loved Pirates Bar at the end of the beach - crackin' Mai Tai's!

The folk working there couldn't have been nicer, nothing a problem. You just take drinks from the fridge and they tally all up which I felt made it seem even more relaxed. Felt like was going into my own fridge for a cold beer! They also have a large selection of dvd's and some games which you can borrow. All in all, we had a fabulous time at Sunset Cove - the perfect end to a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeniQ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We arrived here on the second week of our honeymoon booking into the seaview cottage by the pool room A1.

The pros:
- Great views especially at sunset
- Close to Haad Yao diving school who were brillaint and absolutely made our holiday

Cons:
- There are few places to eat or even go on an evening and if you do venture out it's down a unlit road (plus it is very hilly)
- We had an open air shower which sounds great on paper...it is not there were all sorts of bugs and a wasp nest right outside which meant you had to speed shower.
- You have to up lock our apartment with a yale lock and padlock which was very difficult when the light (which you had to put your key in) was through the lounge area into the bedroom.
- Breakfast was ok
- Very impersonal staff who were not very helpful

We booked for 5 nights but left after 3 and moved to Cookies salad resort which is 10 times better with amazing service, great food and generally a much better atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing