We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great experience and the best breakfasts!”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Traveling around the globe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, great experience and the best breakfasts!”
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed in Sunset Cove for 8 nights as part of our one year around the world trip and it was a great experience. The service was incredible, everybody always had a smile in their faces!!

Breakfasts is included and is a la carte but you can chose everitghing if you want from the menu such as: eggs, toasts, cereal, fruits, pancakes, waffles, etc. They even prepared stuff that wasnt on the menu when we requested. I dont think you find this service in any other hotel around the world.

I guess this is possible since it is a small boutique style hotel which works like a family run business where everybody does what they can to please their guests.

The rooms are bungalow style with very good air conditioning, big shower (hot water), western toilet, TV with no cable but DVD player and a huge collections of movies you can choose from to take to your room free of charge. There is high speed free wifi all over the hotel. They have a mini business center which we needed to use for printing, scaning and emailing documents back home and worked perfectly. The manager Ben always found a way to accomodated any of our requests.

The hotel has kayaks and bikes available for rent at very cheap rates around 50 - 100 Baht per day. We didnt used them as we prefered to spend the time in the lovely pool which falls out towards the ocean watching the sunset and drinking the best coconut shake in thailand.

We hired a scooter for only 150 baht per day from a place next to the hotel, and used it to go beach hoping around the island.

The hotel staff booked for us ferry tickets for our trip to Samui at the same price we would have gotten them on our own.

We really recomend this hotel and we hope to be able to como back soon. This place is perfect if you are looking for a small hotel in a quiet and relaxing atmosfere.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    167
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
354
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Seven months later and I'm STILL thinking about Sunset Cove. I actually didn't write my review immediately because words couldn't describe how perfect it was (and then life got in the way).
My boyfriend and I stayed in a poolside suite for three nights in May 2009 and were absolutely blown away with the hospitality. The owners treat their guests like family not customers. Just to give you some idea of what I mean.... we were driven around the island free of charge (left a tip when we checked out) and even given sunblock when our supply ran out! The free sweet bananas are a nice touch too.
Sunset Cove is located on the peaceful side of the island, very quiet and extremely relaxing. The food is to die for (better than any of the other restaurants up the beach).
Following our stay here we moved on to Amari Palm Reef Resort on Koh Samui which was way more expensive and not nearly as satisfying. This accommodation is simple but perfect and excellent value for money!
I loved Sunset Cove and now when life gets difficult, I just close my eyes and picture myself back there..... no other place has ever done that for me!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - I just hope when I return it's not too popular! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Assuming you've read the previous reviews which are correct and explain enough, I just wanted to add that although the hotel has everything you need to relax (nice straightforward pool, beach, shady "garden", good (but not special) restaurant, very kind english-speaking staff, rather basic room, no television channels, but instead you can use the dvd-library), although these amenities, its price (2.700 TBT (incl. a very nice breakfast) for a (modest) suite next to the pool) is rather high compared to the luxiourious hotels/resorts in Koh Samui (but don't stay at that island !) and also compared to the basic bungalows (around 500 - 1.500 TBT) elsewhere on Koh Phangan which offer at least a similar location (and most also some of the amenities) as the Sunset Cove. We paid even less for a superior rom at the Bandara resort in Koh Samui and that is certainly a different class. That being said, if you have the money and want a nice place to stay : Sunset Cove is okay !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Eight days of relaxation, peace, beauty, comfort and charm... Brought to us by a warm and hospitable staff with a "can do" attitude to the few things we asked for as extras. We stayed in cabin 3 in front of the pool with the beach and the sunset in front of us... It doesn't get any better if you want to escape the fast pace and just vegetate for a while. No loud music, no hectic action... Cudos for this family-run getaway... Did I say that the food was good? It was. A quiet beach... All you can ask for. If we can, we will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We had booked 2 nights at Sunset Cove with the intention of finding cheaper accommodation in the meantime and moving on after the 2 nights. We were travelling with our 3.5 yo and 8 month old boys and were a little unsure from the photos and description of the resort if it would be suitable or not, so we arrived with no expectations.

We had made the initial booking via the internet and they were aware of our arrival that evening but didn't know that we had 2 children and that we had also requested a baby cot for the room. I don't think the booking agency passed on that information as everything else was in exact order so didn't feel it had anything to do with Sunset Cove. It was no problem and we were in our room within 10 min, cot and all. They also offered to bring us food and drinks to our room as they must have known we'd been on a tough journey to get there with the kids and hadn't eaten since that morning.

The room was larger than we expected and also there was a couch/day bed which we weren't expecting, so suddenly we had a bed for our 3.5 yo rather than him sleeping in the bed with us which was a pleasant relief for the marriage! The next morning we got up and had a wander around and we were nothing but impressed. There is a great pool complete with kids pool toys which was the highlight of our son's trip and the restaurant was lovely with pretty nice food, and the coconut shakes, lets just say i couldn't stop!!! We had privacy as there didn't seem to be too many people there and the staff were soooo lovely! If we needed anything we just had to ask, complete luxury for us having our washing done! After our first 2 days there we decided that we were still unwinding and not quite ready to move on yet so we booked in for another 2 nights to give us some breathing space. It was so relaxed and easy to be there with the kids and we fell into a routine with no problem. On our 3rd day there, we thought we'd better scope out some other accommodation for the following 4 nights and we spent the whole afternoon looking at all the accommodation on the same beach as Sunset Cove and Haad Yao Beach a little further up. I think we looked at 10 to 15 places, some cheaper, some the same price and some more expensive, but none as homely and as lovely as Sunset Cove. Feeling like we'd wasted a day of our holiday not having found anywhere else we were happy with, and after another coconut shake back at the 'Cove', we decided that we were happy where we were and that it had everything we needed and the kids loved it so other than the price there was no reason to move on. My husband then graciously spoke to the Lovely manager Ben and told her we wanted to stay a further 4 nights but would she do some kind of a 'deal' for us and she offered us the room at a discount rate, that then made it affordable to stay.

I'm so glad that we made this decision and would stay there again in a heart beat. On our final night at Sunset Cove my husband and I really wanted to have dinner together with out the kids and there was also a party down the end of the beach at Pirates Bar which looked rather tempting for a boogie. I asked Ben if they offered a baby sitting service and she said that they normally don't and hadn't been asked before but that she would organise someone to stay in the room with the kids for us for 4 hours. I asked her how much and she said nothing!!!!! Of course we paid the lovely lady that did this for us as we had such a lovely time out and it was the highlight of our stay being able to have a few romantic hours on the beach together. We had a bbq on the beach at a little bar called 'Heaven' and it was so delicious and then had a great dance for 3 hours at Pirate Bar.

All in all I can safely say that this was a fantastic place to stay and Sunset Cove made our holiday fun, relaxed and easy with the Kids, which is what every parent travelling with kids wants. The beach wasn't as nice as some of the ones we saw further north, but it wasn't bad either. I found being in the pool nicer anyway as the water in the ocean was like a warm bath and I needed to cool off from the heat.

The only down side to our whole stay was the dog fights which is by no means the Resorts fault and they happen all over the island and also the bath in our room leaked all over the floor so we couldn't use that but there was an outside shower anyway so it was no problem.

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!
See you again Sunset Cove!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breedownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My partner and I stayed here last week for 3 nights and we cannot fault the place! It is not often that somewhere looks better than its web photos but this place really does.

It is set in jungle like gardens right on the beach. We stayed in the best type of accommodation, A2, right on the pool and could see beautiful sunsets over the sea from our bed.

The beach is nice but not amazing as it is quite small and gets seaweed but they keep it in good condition, much better than neighboring hotels. The pool is basically an infinity pool and the pool area is so nice that you do not really want to hit the beach but watch it from your sunbed so you do not ever think the beach is a problem, and it is still lovely with a big palm tree sweeping out to the ocean from the hotel.

The cove it is on is very peaceful and undeveloped but if you want more bars etc... you can hire their kayaks for a pound an hour and head off to the right and after 10 minutes you get to Had Yao beach which is lovely and big, seaweed free and lined with hippy reggae bars and cheap fish and thai restaurants - Reefers Bar was nice for dinner, they are all lit up with candles and you eat on the beach and listen to reggae.
The hotel are happy to drive you here for the evening and although it is a lovey place to go it is really nice returning the the tranquil Sunset cove.

Breakfast is included and is lovely, fresh fruit and yoghurt, coffee, toast, eggs and bacon, waffles etc.... very good. The food is nice, we often had tuna salad for lunch and thai curry in the evening but they do non thai food too.

It was very quiet when we went, just 3 couples but so peaceful and lovely. We spent very little, their prices are very reasonable, beer is about 1.20, coke 50p, curry from about 1.50......

The staff are lovely, the manager speaks great english and the other 3 staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, always rushing to help you, smiling all day and eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

great value... a hidden gem - do not have second thoughts - book up now!
great value, a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

my wife and i (early 30's) quit our jobs, and have been travelling around the world for 9 months now, south america, africa, india, south east asia, we have tried to keep a standard of 3 to 4 stars hotel around 60 usd per night, avoiding hostels, and this place has been the best value of our trip.

the place is beautiful, well set up and only 3 years old, staff is very very friendly, we always ask for a customization of the dishes they have on the menu, so we didnt get bored of the same food, and they pleased us with everything. the pool is so nice, and close to the beach, the water there is clean and the beach is white sand and vey few other places on the same bay, so you dont get the noise of people offering stuff, or loud music or anything like that. The hotel is kids friendly, so if you dont feel comfortable, about that, thats the only thing to worry about.

we sayed for over 2 weeks, on the standard room, in order to save the extra money, for our long trip budget, but it is perfect, even though not by the beach, it is close enough, and very well kept, clean, quiet, spacious, the dvd and tv work just fine, and the bath is very comfortable.

the breakfast is just the best you can get, plenty of food, they cook it on by the moment you order, so its very nice, and includes everything you need for a full breakfast.

they have bicycles, very well mantained, you pay little money for them and can go out to eat somewhere else if you want or even go to visit different beaches, and dont have to worry about the bicycle, like other places where they hace old ones, very tough to ride.

just book it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susayomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing