We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i'd come back just to stay at here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i'd come back just to stay at here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

yes the location is a bit out of the way (about a 40 minute ride to hat drin that costs 200 baht) but actually that works to sunset cove's advantage.. you don't get the craziness of the main town and the hotel is just ideal for lazing about all day :)

the service was superb and is really the main reason why i'd recommend this hotel. besides providing free insect repellant/suntan lotion/bananas and allowing you to change your towels anytime, they even baked cashew nut cookies that they put out for guests to take anytime.. we were there during loy krathong and they happily provided us with lanterns and flower offerings so we could partake in the festival..

breakfast was super yummy (go for the pancakes) and the staff were very accomodating.. although brekkie officially ended at 10 am, the staff happily offered to make our breakfasts up till noon and we didn't even have to ask them!

make a point to have some meals in at the resort too, cos you know they take pride in their food.. try the glass noodle seafood salad - we ordered three, one after another after we heard each other rave about it!

the free DVDs are great for those lazy rainy days but we spent most of our time chilling by the pool and enjoying the resort, only venturing out for the parties at night..

honestly i'd come back just for this resort alone, this is how much it impressed me! great service at a very reasonable price, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iCandy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    161
    45
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
346
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

My friends and I chose to stay at the Sunset Cove based on Trip Advisor reviews that we had read and we weren't disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to pick us up from the ferry coming from Koh Samui, and even organized our ferry pick-up for departure. We were only there for a short stay but are already discussing our return visit! The room that we stayed in was an individual bungalow, and was spacious and clean. We loved the location - it was quiet and right on the beach. The hotel is definitely appropriately named as well. We saw perfect sunsets throughout our stay and had a relaxing time lying on the lounge chairs by the infinity pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling to Koh Phangan and looking for a quiet getaway.

(As a note: we went to the Full Moon Party while in Koh Phangan and although this hotel is about a half hour drive from Haad Rin Beach, it's very easy to get transportation to and from the party.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We spent 5 wonderful days at this hotel, and didn't leave, with exception of a few walks to the 7-eleven and kayaking to some neighboring bays. Infinity pool was perfect, bay was beautiful, staff were friendly, and food was delicious. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yanky-Paddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Initially booked for 4 nights but extended it to 6 - I didn't want to leave! This fantastic place is located on a great small beach in Hat Chaophao. After coming from Samui I needed some peace and quite and this place was perfect. The beach feels kind of private with swaying palmtrees and the water was beautiful, there's only about 10 places to stay, mostly cheap bungalows with hammocks right on the beach where as this place was more of a rustic resort - great villas sorrounded by tress and ferns and palms. The pool is amazing and I think the only place that had one on this strip of sand. Food is fantastic and there's a huge selection of DVD's available to use with the DVD player in each room which is perfect if it rains(which it did a bit) or to maybe entertain kids. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. There's isn't much around shopping/eating wise so I pretty much didn't leave the resort apart from plenty of walks along the beach or the occasional walks to a convenience store for some treats. My only gripe and it isn't a major one was that the little room set up for internet was like a sauna and full of mozzies - you just wanted to get out of there as soon as you sat down. So Sunset Cove was amazing value - I paid the same for here as I did in a really basic hotel room in Chaweng. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The staff are great, you get free transfers to and from the pier, breakfast is included (and is MASSIVE) and the kitchen is open pretty much 24/7. The beach isn't good for swimming (very shallow) but the pool is great, and makes a scenic centrepoint for guests to hangout on nice lounges under umbrellas and palm trees. You aren't in the centre of town which is great, because there's nothing to love about Thong Sala. There is a minimart and a few rental places within walking-distance. The drive to Hat Rin takes about half an hour, and gets pretty mountainous!

Grab (or leave behind) a book or magazine, take a DVD to watch in your room, or use the free wireless internet. Its a great place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Deluxe Cottage which was spacious and clean, the outdoor shower, although strange at first, was not overlooked and had continuous hot water.

The rooms also have a fridge and TV which you can only play DVDs on from the library in reception (but seriously, who comes on holiday to watch TV?). The complex itself is set in lush tropical gardens with an infinity pool which fronts onto the beach with fantasic views and sunsets in the evening. Fantastic selection at breakfast, menu in the evening is also recommended. The staff are superb, friendly and always smiling, even helped organise our elephant treking trip and provided a drop-off service to the Black Moon Party in Mae Haad.

In terms of location, Haad Chao Phao is quiet, the beach was fine for us but if it is not to your liking the hotel will drop you off and pick you up at another beach of your choice for a small fee (100/150B), Haad Yao and Haad Salad were beautiful. In the evening there are a few bars/restuarants up the beach (Heaven Bar/Dolce Vita/Pirates Bar) which are great for chilling out and having a few beers, Dolce Vita serves lovely italian food if you have had too much thai!

Perfect place to chill out and relax!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

After we quickly had a peek at TripAdvisor Phangan hotels, we found Sunset Cove to be rated very highly, and decided to give it a shot for 4 nights. And oh boy, we were not disappointed. The price for the room during low season was very cheap, 1200 baht per day and it even included breakfast for two which was really good. The bungalow was pretty basic with AC, warm shower, comfortable queen bed and a TV/DVD set. Also a fridge which was enough to cold our drinks but not more since the power was only on when we were in room. Service was all the time, excellent. All our requests were fulfilled with a smile and we had very pleasant stay. Very nice thai food in the restaurant and the pool was very clean. I really couldnt ask for more for that price and we both thought it was an absolute bargain. Will definitely come back when next time in Phangan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
6.1 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing