We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax...if you wish”
Review of Palita Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palita Lodge
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Central
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax...if you wish”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I was here with a couple of friends for the Mar 1st Full Moon Party, and we stayed for 4 out of the 5 minimum nights booking that we had to make to secure our rooms. Overall, it was a lovely experience: service with a smile, good food, clean stretch of beach, and a really nice pool...couldn't have asked for anything more.

However, just to be objective, there can be quite a difference in room quality depending on what you pay. One friend and I shared a ground floor Villa A-type room (right next to the pool) which was really quite nice - probably 3-4* hotel quality, complete with complimentary toiletries and a fully stocked mini bar (which was very cheap!). However, our other friend had a 2nd floor basic room which worked out to be exactly half the price of the Villa A room, and nowhere close to as nice. Granted, it had clean towels/sheets/hot water/aircon, but the furnishings were a lot more basic, and he seemed to have a bit of a bug problem. We talked to a few other guests there who were paying the same basic room rate and they had slightly better equipped rooms, hence our conclusion that it's their "spare" room they keep for last min Full Moon Party goers like ourselves who book late.

To walk from the hotel to the center of town is a quick 7min along the beach, so it was always easy to get into town to book day trips/buy whatever we needed. The craziness of the party is centered about 3-min away from the hotel so on the night itself, you *will* hear loud thumping trance music unless you get one of the rooms that are a bit further in, away from the beach. Because the mayhem wasn't right in front of the hotel, our stretch of beach the next morning was surprisingly tidy compared to the "eye of the storm" a bit further up. What's also nice is that the average age here (probably because of the slightly steeper rates compared to other places) is in their mid-late 20s/early 30s, so there isn't a crazy backpacker party scene like at Drop-In, for example.

I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip back to this beautiful island...would definitely recommend it for a really relaxing time too, if you don't want to party it up during the full moon!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilingenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    143
    41
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
245
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed here for the New Years Eve Full Moon party in December 2009. We were in a group of 6 and all stayed in the basic garden view bungalows at the back of the resort. All the bungalows have recently been renovated so I was happy to find it was much better than what I had expected for the price.
We had an amazing time here, the pool was great, the staff were amazing (we called the manager 'Mumma Thai' because she was always looking out for us and absolutely lovely). We will definitely stay here again however I don't think this resort would be ideal for everyone as it is on the party beach and gets a bit noisy as the resorts on either side set up bucket stands and DJ's, so if you are after a VERY quiet hotel I would recommend staying away from the beach.
Overall I think this resort is amazing, perfect for what we wanted and very reasonably priced for beach front accommodation. The amazing staff, clean, fresh rooms, cheap drinks and location make Palita Lodge really special.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Ten of us stayed here over the xmas period and lots of personal and expensive items were stolen during our stay. Reported this to owners who didnt bother to reply. There are no safes in the rooms, if u want to use safe you have to give your valuables to staff, which we were not happy with, although we did give some cash and passports to them. Also we suspect that the mattresses were insect ridden as whilst here we were eaten alive during the night, not the usual mossy bites much worse. I would not recommened this place as it was too expensive for what you get and got not satisfaction when things went wrong.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My wife and I spent several nights in the fancy suites around Christmas time. These rooms are immaculate. Service is quite good. Food was OK, but nothing to write home about. Location is good, as described in the other reviews.

Bottom line: This place is pretty nice, but it's also fairly high-priced compared to other places around Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stayed at Palita for 5 nights before the Full Moon Party, managed to escape before it happened ;-)
This a great resort, on the beach but far enough away from the bussle to be relaxing. The people are really friendly and accomodating. The food was excellent and having a quiet beer by the pool in the afternoon is to die for....A short walk up the beach and you are amongst the bars and restaurants, with beach bars all the way....
This a great value location and would recommend this to anyone trying to mix both the relaxing stay with the ability to party at will.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help at all times.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I have been in Koh Phangan 10 times in the past 12 years.
This is definitely the best hotel in Haadrin beach.
Great rooms, located in the beach, but far enough from the noise (200 meters or so).
they ahve a new pool there now which is just great.
And the stuff is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirFromTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

we booked a night at the beach bungalow at palita lodge after seeing an add in a flyer in our hotel in samui. at arrival, we were a bit sceptical - as the taxi we took, left us at the main street and we had to walk quite a while to reach the hotel (note that u can ask the hotel for pick up - now we know too :)). but when we got there, we knew, we would want to stay longer. the room we had was simple - a bed, a/c, tv and bathroom with shower. but the view was absolutely fantastic! and the beach is very clean and what we liked most - not so busy (probably also coz we were out of season).

it is not a luxury resort, so if you look for one, don't book this. however, if you like easy going and simple way of life - this definetely is a place for u! we thought that the people made more then just up for it! always smiling, always nice. we were treated like VIPs and we did enjoy every minute of it. we even ended up eating nearly every evening at the restaurant - food is great and reasonable priced. they are all helpful and really try hard to make you feel at home. we especially would like to thank sue - we had a great time chatting with her. very lovely and generous person!

the only downside we can think of, is that if you do like quiet, do not stay at the bach bungalow, but chose one in the back. there are lots of beach bars that blast loud music til easily 4 or 5 in the morning... we had friends staying in the back rooms and they barely heard anything. otherwise, we can just very warmly recommend this hotel! it was truly our home away from home! not for nothing, we ended up staying 6 instead of 1 night :D
ps oh... and we do agree - the pool is great!!! it could just sometimes b a bit cooler :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel7915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palita Lodge

Property: Palita Lodge
Address: 119 Moo 6 | Hadd Rin Beach, Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palita Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Palita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palita Hotel Koh Phangan
Palita Hotel Ko Phangan
Palita Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing