We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Milky Bay is beautifully located on a stunning part of private coastline. We spent hours relaxing on their deck chairs, soaking up the gorgeous view and sunshine. We went for the cheapest rooms and found them really too small for two people, although we enjoyed having our own balcony to recline on axe-pillows (thoughtfully provided by the Resort). The more expensive huts looked much bigger and very sweetly designed in a woody, peaceful area.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the pizzas are gorgeous, we went for the seafood one twice in a row!

The Resort is not near anything other than the Half Moon Festival (which you still need to get a lift to, it's too far to walk), so unless you have your own transport, you are pretty much tied to the Resort. This was fine for us as we were only there 2 nights, but might be a problem if you stay longer. Also, the pool was not the cleanest, but as the Resort is positioned right on the seaside, we barely used it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    209
    78
    40
    33
See reviews for
72
343
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a very nice resort, the staff and management are very helpful and friendly. the rooms are clean and tidy and you are given the option to choose what day you want your room cleaned. Food and drink is also very reasonable. We stayed here for a week and every thing was great.

There was only one thing that marred the stay and that was over the bill for some drinks that we were of the opinion we had payed for. Although we were certain we had paid; out of goodwill we accepted that it could be an oversight on our behalf and settled the bill. I did however, advise the manager that she should give a receipt to people on paying for food and drink, so the have a record of what they did and didn't pay for. I would also advise you to ask for one!

Would I stay here again, yes it is a very nice resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramuk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My first review on trip advisor I hope it helps someone not to stay here!

We stayed here 3 nights and did not enjoy our time at all! The food in the restaurant is awful and overpriced!! The staff in the restaurant are also rude and every 5 seconds are back at your table hassling you! The restaurant is in a beautiful location and would be very peaceful if it weren't for the staff.

The pool is nice which is good because the beach is not inviting at all. The rooms are clean but very small and the noise from the bar (morning & night) and various animals will keep you awake.

The location is far away from anywhere really so you need your own transport or catch the resorts taxi which is the only one they will call for you at inflated prices.

If you do stay here I recommend the Italian restaurant 100 meters from the resort, Il Gusto. Family owned and lovely Italian food.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausmemphis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Beautiful remote resort right on a private beach. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful (the manager in particular). One man did ask if everything ok about every 5 minutes though!
Nice pool, part of it is in the shade, not many sun loungers though (but not too busy there so that was ok). Beach was beautiful, you could walk right out to the sandy section in the middle with lots of little crabs.
Food was very good here and we got up for breakfast everyday (which is rare for us). They make it fresh to order and the omlettes were delicious!
There was nowhere to go nearby so we also ate lunch and dinner here which was always delicious (it was a little pricey though). Pizza, fish and chips and flapjack were very good. Cocktail promotions were very good too- had a fabulous mojito afternoon!
Room was pretty but very dark even with all the lights on. We were very near the bar and think it was an older room and the newer ones seemed nicer. Bathroom was a wet room and didnt have mosquito nets up so insects got through very easily including as massive moth and many centipedes which I didnt like at all!
Quite noisy as noise from the bar (but only went on until midnight but started early). Had 2 powercuts when we were here due to storms. Good location for black moon party (but 500 baht admission).
Overall a beautiful friendly resort to get away from it all- lovely food and beach. The massages were disappointing though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have stayed at Milky Bay for a month at a time for two years in a row because I get the ultimate pampered and relaxed holiday! The staff is very service minded and there is a variety of characters that make your stay both fun and relaxing, depending on your mood. The barbequed seafood (available on almost all nights) is truly fantastic and my favorite is the mackerel but the white/red snapper or tuna is almost as good due to the truly great cooking. It is usually quite a mix of people staying there so you always meet someone cool and nice person to hang out with. If you stay at Milky Bay you really get a lot for your money and you can totally relax, do some Muay thai (Kobra gym just down the street with a the best trainer in Thailand), diving, jet ski and if you get bored you can always do a crazy party night at the Full Moon, Half Moon or so on!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Director of Sales at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Sophie,

Warmest greeting from Milky Bay Resort Koh Phangan.

Thank you very much for your comment, we are hope you very well

If you have any comment,please do hot hesiate contact us as soon


We hope to see you soon


Have a nice day


Best Regards


Milky Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend the Full Moon party in Koh Phangan. We stayed in a 'Superior' Garden View double room and left very dissatisfied.

First the good parts - the restaurant and bar are clean and lively (although the bar service was pretty awful), the beach front views are nice and the rooms were clean.

Now onto the bad parts...
a) The room had a gaping gap between the front door and the floor. Therefore in addition, to the constant noises from wildlife outside (scratching at the front door, on the roof etc) we had a cockroach, a bright yellow flog, lizards and numerous insects/bugs in the room. We hardly got any sleep as a result and were not warned about this by the staff at any point

b) The 'shower' was reminiscent of standing under a leaking gutter

c) The staff could hardly speak English and made no effort to help us organise travel etc - they refused to order taxis for us to get to the port to leave and when the hotel taxi was there they charged 300Baht for 2 persons when it is widely known it costs 100Baht per person to Haad Rin (this was not to get to the Full Moon party) by the meanest of taxi drivers

d) The hotel is remote, with taxis needed to get everywhere

In summary, if you are akin to Ace Ventura; love sleeping in the wild and don't mind being ripped off by the hotel for food, drinks and transport then this is the place for you. If not, much better value is to be had elsewhere...

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My first review. The place is very cheap! Nice staff and the food was amazing! The cleanliness is not to brag about, but everything else makes up for it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørn Tore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
545 reviews
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
617 reviews
6.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing