We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Resort”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Buncrana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Milky Bay for seven nights at the start of our trip to Thailand and we wished we never left. The villa we rented was amazing and the staff were so helpful and friendly. It was a week of relaxation and chilling out. The food was out of this world and the cocktails were fantastic.
We rented a jeep from the hotel and toured the Island, which is a wonderful place and still is not to commercial.
When we go back to Thailand we will be making sure to stop at Milky Bay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    205
    73
    40
    31
See reviews for
67
335
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

What an amazing place!!! Koh Phangan is not know for it's luxurious or modern hotels, but this place was a little slice of heaven. We stayed in a Villa and it was very spacious and private. Only negative was the shower, but most showers in Thailand aren't up to western standards. THE FOOD WAS INCREDIBLE! Best food I had in Thailand. No need to go out every night for supper because the food was great. The staff was the friendliest staff we encountered. They told us fun places to go, interacted with us, and offered great service, Our favourite staff members where Nee and Natalie. Everyone including guests had a smile on their face. We even rented scooters from the hotel and did day trips to the northern beaches. Great location (quiet but not too far from the action). Another negative was the lack of lounge chairs in desirable locations (you may have to move it, but the staff will help you), so get up and claim your chair early in the day.
Best place we stayed in Thailand for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great hotel, stayed here with some friends and the service was excellent!! We got all the help we needed, and the staff was awesome.
The pool area is decent right next to the restaurant that is very nice. The beach is nothing to write home about.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in March this year (2012) and had a fantastic time. We paid £20 a night for one of the huts, although for not much more you can get a nicer room but we felt it was just what we were after as it was basic but well decorated and had air con. Milky Bay itself is a fantastic little spot, it was never over crowded, the restaurant food was so good that we ate there a couple of times rather than going out for dinner. Their seafood on the barbeque was divine and really reasonable and the service was always excellent. Happy hour made from some memorable sundowners on the gorgeous beach and the bar area with the pool table was a great little spot, pre-going out. The strip of private beach was perfect for guests to sit on, and if you prefer to sit by the pool, there is a lovely little area to do so with a decent sized pool. All in all, a fantastic spot, and a lovely stay, would go back time and time again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed six nights at Milky Bay and enjoyed the informal, friendly atmosphere. Great staff, good food and comfortable villa.

This is probably a mid range resort in Koh Phangan and is reasonably priced. It has a great pool and immediate access to the beach where swimming is good near high tide but not so good when the tide is out.

Whilst not high end luxury the villas are large and comfortable with good air conditioning. The lunch and dinner menus are quite extensive and the service is friendly and prompt.

Costs represent good value for money and it is somewhere we would definitely like to return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we wish we could have extended or at least gone back at the end of our trip. It was hands down by far the most amazing accommodation we stayed in overall for the whole trip. The staff are so friendly and warm- Wyn and Nee (not sure of spellings) were especially memorable- reserving us the best table for dinner looking out to the sea, making us laugh and genuinely caring about the hospitality during our stay. The food was brilliant with both western and thai foods available- the chicken and cashew nuts was immense and the pizzas were so tasty! The rooms were perfect- clean, cool, spacious (Bungalow B3). Couldn't fault this place, I would highly recommend it and I will most certainly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Milky Bay is an oasis! The staff is magnificent (especially Moon, Oom and gay Kai), we had a lot fun and even went to the half moon party with them. The food is great. Especially the fish BBQ and the bruschetta blue and the chicken cashew was the best we ever had! The restaurant is nicely set on the beach, breakfast is very good and included. The beach is very narrow, but nice, the sea 'milky' and very shallow.

As I write this, we are still here, relaxing on a sunbed and don't want to leave. We booked a few extra nights! We highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing