We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked a standard bungalow for two nights. Check in was fine, offered cold face cloths and drinks. However when we arrived at our beach bungalow, we found there was a lot of openings in the bungalow allowing all sorts of wildlife in (in particular gecko's) and the air conditioning was no match for the heat outside.

We went to reception to ask if there was another room available that was more enclosed. The staff especially Joy were extremely helpful and showed us to a superior room. It was massive improvement, good sized room, concrete built, well sealed in and the air condition was great. We got this up grade thanks to Joy for €15 extra per night which was great for what we got. We ended up staying four nights, two nights more than planned.

The resort is nice and relaxing, swimming pool is great but the water in the sea is really shallow so swimming in it was really hard, you have to walk out really far, which was strange. The restaurant and bar were great, loads of staff and the food was lovely and reasonable enough for a resort. There was one waiter that got on my nervous, I can't remember his name but his laugh was as irritating as hell. He kept interrupting us during meal times talking absolute crap to us.We felt he was fishing extra hard for tips which was annoying.

This resort is a bit out of Ban Tai and taxis were between 150 to 200 BHT one way. If you want to go to Hat Rin, it was nearly the same although Hat Rin is a greater distance. We were looking to relax so this was the perfect location and we had the option of joining the madness in Hat Rin also.

In all great resort, great staff (except for the guy with the really irritating laugh). Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

This little delight was sitting upon a vast expanse of waterfront which was like a post card. We only stayed 1 night as we were in transit but would of loved to stay longer. Staff are lovely and friendly here. The room we stayed in was concrete which was unique. There was a yoga landing in the room which was lovely. The bed was nice and big. Bathroom was huge with nice shower. It had a very jungle/rainforest feel around the resort with the palm leaves covering the ground and what not. The food here was great. I loved the free breakfast that you got to select from the menu. The fruit muesli was the best I've had. The only thing I didn't love was the construction going on in the room above us. They assured me they were stopping at 5 but went on past which didn't help my friend sick with food poisoning. Apart from that, beautiful.

Room Tip: It is a small resort, I think most rooms would have a similar feel about them. It's a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Milky bay was by far the best resort we stayed at during our month of travels through Thailand.

Pros:
-Complimentary pool table, badminton and ping pong for entertainment
-gourmet cuisine
-Very warm and friendly staff, many of them very funny
-great spa facility
-free DVD library!
-We like how the resort is far enough from Haad Rin (where the parties are) that we could actually get to sleep; but they arrange a shuttle to and from the full moon party so you don't miss any action

Cons:
-weak wifi in the rooms, strong in public areas though
-The room was very basic, and kind of cramped. This was okay because there was so much to do on the grounds
-the shuttle driver drove like a complete maniac (even by Thai standards)!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

It's a great place for a nice family vacation by the beach at a reasonable rate!
Great staff, superb service, good food.
Eapecially the beachside apartments are a winner.
The only minor points: only limited WIFI coverage throughout the resort & the beach is not suitable for swimming during low tide.
It was our 2nd visit & we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timm_in_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We decided to go to Milky Bay for a little luxury after staying in a cheap fan bungalow. The room was really nice and well presented with lots of flowers. The resort grounds are well maintained and there is a nice ping pong table. The pool is half in the shade which is great and there are palapas with chairs under them on the beach. The breakfast included with the room is great, but the restaurant is a tad expensive for other meals. You can get to other restaurants on the road, but it's a little hairy walking it. The main downside here compared to Haad Yao is that you can't walk down the beach. There are lots of barricades of hotels and other businesses here all along the beach. Would have stayed longer, but it was full for the upcoming full moon party.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were picked up from the pier and transferred to the hotel. On arrival we were given a cold towel and a cold drink. Our room was very nice with a flintstone type bathroom - pebbles everywhere. Our only gripe was that we'd asked for a double bed and we were given 2 single beds pushed together. We asked for another room, but it was much older and characterless, so we stayed put.

The restaurant serve delicious food and most of the staff are great. There was one chap who whilst we were having a meeting kept coming over to randomly chat to us about nothing - quite annoying. He seemed to have no perception that we were talking. The wine list was laughable - out of 9 different white wines, they only had 1 in stock at £7 a glass.

The beach is virtually non existent until the tide goes out and there were quite a few jellyfish in the water in the afternoons.

We had been working for 26 days over xmas and NY, this was the perfect place to unwind and relax.

For some reason the hotel charge an extra 200 baht for the ferry to Koh Samui than Lomprayah. If need any boat tickets buy them yourself from the office at the pier.

All in all a great stay and would return if in Koh Phangan.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer wooden bungalows as the older ones are characterless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We loved every minute spent at this resort. We rented one of their nicer properties, the first row behind the pool and restaurant, but still only 20 steps away from the beach. The beach is fairly small, but was perfect for us. Resort is close to the half moon party venue too, so easy to reach. Rented bikes from the on site shop and didnt have any trouble on return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
571 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
552 reviews
6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
4.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £19 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing