We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest. Resort. Ever.”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Milky Bay Resort was hands down the nicest place I stayed in during the seven weeks spent traveling throughout Southeast Asia.

My girlfriend and I booked this one months in advance because we were eager to have decent lodging for the week of the Full Moon party, and through Trip Advisor were able to get an amazing deal — 75% off if we booked for four nights or more. We knew at the time that we were trading closeness to Haad Rin beach (which is where the beach-raving occurs) for comfort, and it paid off hugely in the end.

When we first got out of the taxi we were a bit stunned — there was just a massive sign that pointed down a non-descript concrete lane, but once down, it opens up into an impressive and immaculately manicured semi-jungle resort.

Leaving reception you pass through wood-chipped trails and overhanging bamboo, past private huts of various sizes and specifications. There is a car-park holding dozens of cheap motorbikes (150 B per day), an open-plan massage parlor with lightly tinkling sea-shell wind-chimes (300 B for Thai massage), a badminton/volleyball net, a tabled area serving free tea and cake every afternoon, a swimming-pool, and a most-impressive small private beach with a bar and restaurant.

The menu at the restaurant was amazing — bit expensive but so good we ate here a lot (great pizza fresco, pastas, and Thai food) — and the waiters are all so nice and a bit hilarious too! The view from here is unreal, with islands in the distance, scenic sunsets, daytime kite-surfers, and strings of fairy-lights beading the palm-trees together after dark.

There were some minor problems. Our room/hut was big and spacious, but so were the gaps on the outer-walls of the wooden panels. This made the air-con ineffective (thank Ganesh for the additional fan), and allowed a lot of small bugs into the room at night (at least they provided a mosquito net). It was easy getting taxis from here (200 B per head, fixed price), though getting home at night sometimes meant a little waiting around for other passengers heading our way.

Overall, it was heaven. Spectacular location with great staff and amenities (did I mention table-tennis, steam room, DVD rental, computers, and free UV paint?). Plus, who wants to be on Haad Rin beach between 6am and 10pm anyway?

Room Tip: Not too close to the pool — loud music from morning until evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markafolens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and was impressed back then. My wife and I returned with our family and wasn't let down. I love this place, great location, watch the sunset over the ocean as you sip on a cocktail or 5. The staff are always so friendly and can't do enough to help you.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddhamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As I said a lovely peaceful resort, it really captured the right feeling of excellent service, I must mention two staff in particular, Moon and Ben in the restaurant,both wonderful ambassadors for Milky Bay, Moon always had a warm welcoming smile.
The whole resort was very well kept,and we loved our stay, we would highly recommend Milky Bay,and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Extremely helpfull staff. Nice and relaxed atmosphere.
Not a huge fancy 5 star resort, but a small and cosy place where everything is very clean and comfortable.
Restaurant with great food for very acceptable prices.

Room Tip: We loved our cabin with aircon next to the swimming pool (E1).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ramonn954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First impressions were a bit daunting with all the bamboo and trees, I kept thinking about all the beasties that would be hiding in there, but to be honest we never saw anything beyond lizards, which are everywhere in Thailand, and a couple of huge beetles which were slightly fascinating! We had booked a standard bungalow for a week here - be warned, it's like a shed and there wasn't enough room to place both our cases! It would be ok to get your head down for one night, but a no no for a week. We had paid £200 roughly for 7 nights with breakfast (what did we expect?!) and ended up paying the same again and upgrading to a room which was probably 10 times as big with a huge flat screened tv, corner sofa and living area. What a contrast, much more like it! The bed was comfortable, queen sized. The only problem with this room was when we had a shower the sink from the basin was awful. We managed to cope with this by running the taps in the basin while showering, it eliminated most of the stench. The staff here are amazing, very friendly, although the young male manager is a little jumped up! The sea is beautiful and very warm, but very shallow, you can't swim here. We hired a moped for a day (150 baht) and had our best day. The roads are a bit wider in Phangnan compared to the other islands we visited, so I felt safer. We explored the island discovering beautiful beaches and went elephant trekking for 500 baht each, brilliant! It was bizarre riding along only to see elephants either side of the road! The food at Milky Bay is delicious and reasonably priced and Franks down towards the main town is a great place to eat too. There is free wifi, a swimming pool, badminton, table tennis and pool to occupy you, all free. If you like drinking wine buy it at the bar not the restaurant, it's much cheaper! You don't need to take beach towels, all towels are provided (wish I had known this). We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Times987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I really tried to give 3 points as the staff is very nice, but the hotel is really an over priced 2 star hotel. Rooms are big but poor, Breakfast is poor. Resort is remote, but in a bad way..you have a price list in the room if you break stuff..I think that very few come in order to break and this gives a bad feeling. From my own experience and from what I heard from others, there is very little weight to what you close with them via mail. To sumerize - better look for another hotel

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ukusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Once again thank you to the friendly staff at Milky Bay for making our family holiday such a lovely one. In particular Ree who went out of her way for us. Can't wait for our next holiday, only hope we have better weather next time.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
413 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#18 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
559 reviews
6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £25 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing