We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amazing place situated in "jungle" which was created around and let you rest and relax in the best way. Staff is very friendly, they are helpful, positive and happy- so it is very nice to be there. You can be sure they provide you the highest level of service. Good restaurant where you can find delicious thai food, beautiful beach and the best view point to see sunset, proffesional thai massage in a veeeery good price, cozy bungalows where your privacy is highly respected. The best resort i have ever been, I have never found such kind of place in europe.

Room Tip: There is one "sea view" bungalow but i do not recomend it because is situated on the way f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Amazing review thank you so much.The staffs attitude's and energy rub off on the guests so I am really happy that they gave you good service and were friendly and happy.Im also happy that you enjoyed the Thai massages and sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    205
    74
    40
    32
See reviews for
67
337
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Milkybay is a beautiful resort don't get me wrong. Upon arriving here we fell in love with our room, the serenity, and staff who were ever so welcoming and enthusiastic. The food was exquisite and at a reasonable price too. That is until our first night's sleep. It appeared that the air conditioning was on but regardless, we had the worst nights sleep of our life sweating and battling with the duvet, it was in fact cooler outside than in our room. Then after perhaps an hours sleep, the loudest drilling and banging from building work started at 8am, right by our room. Of course it was impossible to sleep after that, so we went to breakfast where the overly friendly waiters awaited us, but their friendly excited outbursts were not returned by our grouchy, miserable moods from lack of sleep. This happened every morning for the duration of our stay, and we were so tired that we slept in all day and missed the sunshine for near enough the remainder of our holiday. Therefore, overall its rather hard to judge Milkybay resort, on one hand it is beautiful and inviting, on the other hand our stay was ruined by a few things so simple that they should have pre warned us about before booking, and we would have loved it in every way...(bar the bugs, ants, beatles, lizzards, and mosquitos which found their way into our room). Really it was practically a jungle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We appreciate all reviews as long as they are fair.We are disappointed that even though you were happy with everything in the resort bar the building noise during the day you still only gave us 2 stars.I do apologise for the building noise coming from a small abolition block for guests near our reception area which did stop on the Friday as said, but do not quite understand why you didn't get any sleep if the noise was during the day time.I am also dismayed that we received 15 e mails from yourselves re the problem, to our staff, without coming to reception to discuss your problem and when our staff approached your room you told them to email you.I do wish you just came to reception and I am sure they could have moved you to a noise free room..As for the indigenous geckos leopards,elephants etc.Sorry but we cannot completely control the wildlife of Thailand.We also have noticed that you have sent two reviews from your room which is also a little unfair especially after we tried to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Ok so the positives first! This place is beautiful has incredible views, the private villas are spacious & well thought out & the food is fantastic, staff are great and the beach is lovely. However;
Monday night - air conditioning didn't work so no sleep & unbearable heat.
Tuesday 8am - building work & fixing air con so no sleep
Wednesday 8am - building work (drilling & banging right outside our room again) I sent a email to reception to let them know we hadn't slept for 3 nights & they assured me the banging would be less noticeable on Thursday & completely stop Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday
Thursday 8am - building work again but to be fair slightly quiter
Thursday pm - rented some DVDs from reception but DVD player broken night reception staff very helpful & replaced it straight away but then DVD didn't work either!

Friday 8am - building work back in full swing extremely loud and in the same spot outside our room! Also people also cutting trees outside our room (very loud) one even landed on our roof!

We are still staying here at the moment and extremely frustrated as we were not told about this building work before travel and also were assured it would stop today (Friday) but it is back in the same place and as loud! I haven't received any responses today from reception so thought trip advisor be the best place to vent my anger. I had a better nights sleep in the middle of chewang beach, Koh Samui! This place is beautiful but if your exhausted you can't enjoy it.
Also if your not a fan of bugs don't come here ants everywhere - in your room, in your bed, on the toilet paper on the dining tables in the restaurant yuk!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We appreciate all reviews as long as they are fair.We are disappointed that even though you were happy with everything in the resort bar the building noise during the day you still only gave us 2 stars.I do apologise for the building noise coming from a small ablution block being built for guests near our reception area, which did stop on the Friday as said, but do not quite understand why you didn't get any sleep if the noise was during the day time.I am also dismayed that we received 15 e mails from yourselves re the problem within a few hours without coming to reception to discuss your problem.When our staff approached your room you told them to email you instead.I do wish you just came to reception and I am sure they could have moved you to a noise free room which I believe they did offer you and you turned it down.As for the indigenous geckos leopards,elephants etc, I am sorry but we cannot completely control the wildlife of Thailand.Our reception staff tried really hard by giving you free breakfast every morning to try make your stay more pleasant but to no avail.

We have noticed that you have sent two reviews from your room which is also a little unfair, especially after we did try to help you in every way.Really disappointed we could not satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Went with some friends for the full moon party week and it was perfect. Don't let the back alley entrance throw you off. It is a little paradise. When we booked through expedia the front desk had a mix up and didn't have our room available. But instead of turning us away they upgraded us to a garden villa for free!

The staff is unparralled and by far some of the best while I had when travelling in Asia. One of the servers, Mikey, would always say the special was "monkey brains" and he caught us off gaurs the first night. But we got used to him and he was so great and so much fun.

They have a spot for massages in view if the ocean. Everything is wide open, it almost feels like summer camp, but far more luxurious.

There is a decent lounge with a pool table, we had our own private strip of the beach, and the food was some of the finest I had in Thailand. (Ps they have a wood burning pizza oven!)

For full moon goers, it is great! Some people like to be right in Haad Rin but we all enjoyed getting away from the noise and craziness whenever we wanted. Milky bay give you a free ride to and from the full moon party! They even let us stop and pick up a couple friends that we had staying at the hostel down the street. They give you and exact spot to meet them when you want to come home and they meet you every hour on the hour all night. It worked perfect.

I really can't say enough good things about the stay and the service. Thanks Milky Bay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review.We are thrilled that you enjoyed the famous full moon party.It is truly an experience of a lifetime and also the relaxing Thai massages.If we helped to create lasting unforgettable memories of your Thailand holiday in any positive way then we are happy.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived here unplanned as our booking was for another resort that did not honour our booking and ‘upgraded’ us to Milky Bay. We had particularly booked a beachfront bungalow for four relaxing days, and Milky Bay could not offer us the same. As attitude can determine outcomes, we accepted this change and enjoyed our time here.

The staff were very helpful and particularly on our arrival, offering us the choice of four rooms. The staff member (Pim) negotiated with her manager and gave us free breakfast and a reduced price for the hotel taxi to compensate for how far away from town they were in comparison to the hotel we had booked originally. Our bungalow was near the pool and one back from the beach, so it was as good a location as was available. The pool was lovely as was the beach. The ocean was easy to swim in, and a small nearby sandbank rose and fell with the tide. Sunsets were spectacular.

The food was good, although it was more limited than a simple family-run restaurant nearby (Lifestyle Restaurant) where we ate most nights and REALLY enjoyed the food. The soft jazz music played each day at the restaurant was relaxing and nonintrusive, and really added to the gentle atmosphere.

The quality of this resort would be superior to the one we booked, and everything was spotlessly clean. The ground is covered with wood chip which they sweep every day. There is a variety of bungalows available and some of the rooms we were offered were huge! Our bungalow was an older version and the shower was open with just a shower head stuck in a corner of the bathroom. It did provide hot water though. The room was spacious enough and we had a verandah where my husband spent a lot of time enjoying the sea breeze.

The location meant that you needed to take the taxi to town and it was always per person. A round trip was 320thb (reduced to 200 thb for us) so if you were going in twice a day it adds to your cost. The Sunday night markets were worth experiencing. All in all, we enjoyed a very relaxing time, and that was our goal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
I am really happy to hear that in the end your holiday turned out good and relaxing as holidays should be, and that Milky bay met with your expectations.Thank you for all the detail and taking the time to send in a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here it was like a mini paradise island. The rooms was lovely, we loved the stone floor in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious. The location was handy for exploring as we hired a mo ped. It was a taxi ride to the famous full moon party, however this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Mopeds are the best way to explore the island so I am glad you had the experience.The cheff will be thrilled that you enjoyed his food.Thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Staff here is amazing. Always super energetic, happy, friendly, funny, forthcoming. Everyone from reception, bar, restaurant, massage. Food is amazing, drinks are top notch. They were also
excellent babysitters. We promised that if we come back, we will go to Milky Bay. That goes without saying. We miss you Yu, Win, Hiang, Moon and everyone else at Milky Bay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrsten76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
A wonderful review thank you very very much.Its the best compliment to hear that you will return to Milky Bay if you visit Koh Phangan again so thank you again.The staff are the core of our business and am thrilled to hear they made your holiday an enjoyable one.Their energy is transferred to the guest at the end of the day so glad to hear they were all positive and forthcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing