We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

As a resident of Thailand, I like to think I know the place pretty well. 2014 was my first experience of Milky Bay resort and I could not have been more impressed. Extremely cheap, delicious free breakfast, high quality restaurant, lovely pool, private beach, massage parlour...the list goes on. The icing on the cake for me was the attitude if the host 'Ree'. She bent over backwards for my friends and I by assisting us with every possible query i.e. day trips, taxis, the infamous full moon party etc. 10/10 for her hostess skills and the resort in which she works for.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
There is always more to discover in life so I'm glad Milky Bay was one of those new and positive discoveries.Very thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast and other facilities and that Ree was was so helpful and made your stay that much better.Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    205
    73
    40
    31
See reviews for
67
335
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at milky bay and it was just as great as the first visit. The staff here makes milky bay! They are so friendly and helpful! Moon, solo, mai
, july and ree were just a few that went out there way to make sure everyone's happy. Food here was incredible and so was the happy hour cocktails by the pool. The bbq was delish and it was a friends birthday and they turned the lights out and bought out a cake with candles and sang to her. I hope milky bay never changes as it's perfect just the way it is
Thanks again and hopefully see you all again next year!
Ps only tiny complaint needs more sunbeds and more sunlight round the pool area
Other than that Amazing! !!!xx

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JodieJohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thrilled to hear that your second visit was good and that you received such good service from the staff.Your comments are noted about the benches and pool and will follow up. The chef and bar man will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their food and cocktails.We certainly hope we will see you for your third visit and exceed your previous experiences.Thank you for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff at this resort were exceptional: extremely helpful, smiling, welcoming. Stayed in 2 different rooms over 4 nights. The first one was rather small and smelled of damp. It had a big double bed but there was not much room left to move around. There was no wifi in the room.
The other 2 night stayed in a much larger room which was at a bungalow just by the swimming pool. This one had 2 single beds and was significantly more spacious, nicer bathroom and also had wifi access.
The only downside to this resort is that it does not really have a nice beach however there is a swimming pool available.
In the afternoon bar has 'happy hour' when cocktails are cheaper and they are very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a lovely review.As I always say and will say again.The staff are the heart of the resort and the energy and atmosphere and attitude that they have and create rubs off on the guests and make all the difference.They are the most important aspect and am just so happy to hear that they made a good impression.Also glad your second room was more comfortable.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying here, away from the hustle and bustle and the staff were so friendly. The restaurant food was delicious ans fresh and the location is on the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will compliment the chef on your behalf.Thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Overall really good, friendly staff the only thing I would add based on me and my girlfriend's lifestyle is a fitness centre. apart from that I will give it a 9/10.
Highly recommended for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review.We find them and all the points raised extremely important.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnegad, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Milky Bay for 2 nights last week during a trip around Thailand and the only thing I can say is that I wish I had stayed here longer! The bungalows are located on the beach, which is magnificent! The resort itself is clean and the staff are very friendly and attentive, only too happy to book our ferry and taxi's to Koh Samui. The pool area is very nice and the food in the restaurant is outstanding for how little we paid for it. The only bad thing I would say is that you can't connect to Wifi in the bungalow itself, however, it is available free of charge beside the bar or restaurant or in the reception area. The half-moon party was on during my stay and the hotel arranged transport there and free body paint. All in all, the surroundings were fabulous and there is very little to fault! Wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: If you could get a room closer to the beach it would be great as my bungalow was surrounded my green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To get a thumbs up from guests is so special.Its what we work towards every day.To please our guests and try make sure they have positive lasting memories of their stay in Thailand is our only goal.Thank you for a wonderful review and hope you can one day return for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend milky bay highly enough. We stayed here for the second time September last year (sorry for the late review). We actually travelled to Koh Samui for a friends wedding and made sure we organised to stay an extra week especially so we could come back to milky bay as we enjoyed it so much the first time (NYE 2011/2012). This time we travelled with our 10 month old daughter and the management and staff made our stay with her hassle free. A gorgeous cot was supplied free of charge with the added bonus of a mosquito net. One of the main reasons for our return was the staff, with a special mention to Natali who went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. I cannot fault a thing. The villas, beautiful manicured grounds/gardens, food, massages, and of course friendly staff loved every part of our stay. We hope to be back for a third stay sometime in the future!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lollypopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To get a return visit is very rewarding and to hear that you weren't disappointed the second time round is very pleasing.Thank you for all the lovely pictures and amazing comments.I will thank Natalie personally and really hope we see you for a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing