We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in my Thailand vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in my Thailand vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Totally at all, this was the best hotel I had in my 4-week vacation in Thailand. Superior Bungalow good price, really clean, service perfect. Hotel staff very very friendly. Location is good, bike rent was easy, serios and cheap. Hotel area really clean, wonderful lovely, nice pool. Hotel restaurant makes really good food, european quaility standard. This hotel offered us really everything you can expect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euerdeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Getting such a positive and wonderful response really is satisfying.Thank you for your lovely review and comments.We are really thrilled that you liked all the aspects of the hotel.Thank you again and we sure hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    203
    71
    40
    31
See reviews for
65
333
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

While searching online for a place to stay in Koh Phangan, we stumbled across what we thought was a great deal on hotels.com. Since we are a group of 3 people we booked a room with a Max occupancy of 3 adults. In the room information section it implyed that it would be 2 twin beds and 1 roll away bed as part of their complimentry services. I made sure to include the details of the third person in the special requests section during the booking so they knew what to expect. We arrive at the hotel only to be told we owed 1000 Baht more for the extra person (we only payed 2000 for the room). when we explained the situation and even showed them online the error on the hotels.com website, they refused to do anything about it. We had no choice but to pay because when you book online your booking is non refundable. We had to pay for their error.
There were some positives about Milky bay that include:
- Nice ammenities
- Friendly staff (except at reception)
- Close to the beach
There are however some additional cons:
- Poor location (about 3 km from town) no restaurants nearby.
- No WiFi in the rooms
- Pretty sure there was a family of animals living in the roof of our hut
With literally 100 places to stay on such a small island is it worth taking the risk staying at Milky Bay Resort? I would say no!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Very disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience.I will definantely follow up on the website that you booked on as their is always an additional charge for a third person or extra bed.Thank you for pointing out the positives and negatives of your stay and all points are noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Another great visit to this wonderful place, a lovely bungalow, some of the best food we had on holiday, and great service in a mind-blowing setting. Massages to die for as well. Would love to come here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It's wonderful that you returned for a second visit to Milky Bay, thank you very much and certainly hope that we will see you a third time.I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and loved the setting of the resort.There are so many elements that make up a good experience and it's a constant effort by all so when we get a review where our guests were happy it makes all the efforts worthwhile.Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

i stayed at milky bay for 4 days in march 2014, the bungalow and grounds were very well kept. the staff was amazing and very helpful. Ms. Ree and La where awesome!
definitely would stay here again, also its a good location, in between thong sala and haas rin.

Room Tip: we had a room close to the pool and the ocean, theres a bar next door that can get a little rowdy, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHDH3035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It is always good to hear back from guests and of course especially if they enjoyed their stay.I am pleased that you got such good service from Ree and La.The location is definantely quite central and a good base to start and explore the rest of the island.Thank for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived for our stay at Milky Bay Resort we were taken care of by the friendly and attentive staff. The restaurant BBQ selection offered great variety and was delicious! Our superior room was spotlessly clean and and very comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed. Most of all we enjoyed Milky Bay's welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Having visited before we found the staff here to be consistently professional, fun and thoughtful. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamuiLuxuryBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It's good to get guests from our neighboring island and pleased to hear that your second visit was enjoyable.Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at Milky Bay & had a great stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful & funny & were always up for a chat. The room we stayed in was huge, clean & comfortable & the gardens were really nice. The restaurant/bar area was really nice & a great place to catch a spectacular tropical sunset whilst enjoying a Singha or 3 or sipping cocktails (of which we had many). We ate there a couple of times, the food was great & cheap, especially for a seafood lover like myself (the green peppercorn king prawns were amazing, as was the BBQ). We booked a tour & also hired a scooter through reception to get around without any hassles. Highly recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review and lovely comments.Thailand has some wonderful seafood and the chef will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the prawns with peppercorns and garlic.Scooters are the best way to explore the island so I am pleased to hear that you had a good trouble free experience.Its all about relaxation and adventure and it sounds like you definantely had bothe. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled around Thailand in the month of October. We arrived late in koh phangan and hadn't booked anywhere we found a near by bar to use there wifi and found nearest hotels on trip adviser so as this one popped up and looked decent we caught a tuk tuk to it. The guy on reception was so so sweet and very helpful. We stayed in a small room on first night which were clean although a little small and perfect if on a budget. It was my birthday while staying there so my boyfriend arranged an upgrade and informed staff here so we were moved to a studio and on arriving to the new room the bed was covered in petals with a lovely little note from everyone at the milky bay.
The on site restaurant did the best pad Thai and cocktails, it's fun watching the night fisherman as u sit sipping cocktails. Had a massage there as well which was amazing. We were on the island to party and attended the half moon, the hotel laid on transport for small price and provided is with body paint etc.
Overall very happy customers and would return again of had the chance :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Htttttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
So happy to hear that you had a wonderful birthday and that you were pleasantly surprised by Milky Bay and enjoyed your stay.There are a few must does in Thailand and they are, watching the sunset while sipping a tropical cocktail, a massage and sampling local cuisine, and am happy to see you did all of them.Thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing