We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't come back again...”
Review of Pariya Haad Yuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pariya Haad Yuan
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't come back again...”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were only here for one night as we were attending the full moon party. We had booked in advance for 2 bungalows together but this was not done. We had to walk up a few bungalows and possibly about 100 steps and kept getting lost because everything looked the same. The bath room was very dirty and there were toothpaste left around the basin. The complimentary shampoo were half used (clearly house keeping was done poorly)

We were also rejected from the restaurant as they said that they were busy and informed us to go next door to eat as there would be a 30mins wait

The room was really spacious though and had lots of room to walk around and had a beautiful view. The bed sheets were ripped which was kind of unpleasant.

Phong (?) was lovely and assisted us with all queries.

I would not be returning nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayded0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    64
    56
    20
    39
See reviews for
35
125
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Rooms exactly as shown on the Centara website. Caught the boat into the resort located on a 400 metre stretch of beach, jade waters, clear and cool. Although the resort appears a little "tired" we loved it. Relaxed, not many people around. Walk up the hill to the restaurant on top of the boulders and have a beautiful green papaya seafood salad. We stayed 2 nights, which is enough if you want to chill out a little without having not a lot else to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExoticLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights, we organized the transfers from Koh Samui airport through the hotel direct and it was seamless, tiering but no fuss. It's a long treck to get there but once you are there it's well worth it!
The rooms are massive and just beautiful. Probably one of the most spacious and private rooms I have ever stayed in.
The beach was lovely and the pool was always clean and not over crowded.
Breakfast was lovely, you have to ask the staff for hot food such as eggs etc, because it's a small type of place they cook the meals in the kitchen and bring it to your table, you can still order as much as you like though.
We went to the full moon party also which is just around the next beach. It's 200 bht each way per person and there were always loads of long boats to take.
All in all a wonderful place to stay perfect if you want to go to the full moon party but don't want to filth of Haad Rin

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hy_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Positives:
-Isolated Location, feels like you are a world away.

Negatives: (Where to start!)
-Lost Booking and accused me of lying about having one
-Tried to charge $40 for transfer from jetty to hotel, cost us about $10 going our own way
-Only way in and out is by boat, so makes it harder to get back if you go to town.
-Internet is ridiculously expensive and flakey even when you do pay.
-On the original booking Breakfast was included, they disagreed and as such no breakfast (No loss there, it is a very simple menu with no variety)
-Facilities are not looked after and look like they need a refresh
-Staff are impossible to find, even if you find them they are not interested to help
-Hot water is only available from 10am to 6pm!! First night we got there it was not available until 10PM after we complained.Although at no point was the water HOT.
-Power cuts out, through out the day and night. Problem is it resets the Air conditioner and makes sleeping hard as the room heats up.
- The bathroom has a partially open roof, which might have been a good aesthetic design although bugs get in. I got eaten by mozziess one night and our M&M's were taken by ants the next night.
- Worst of all, the place had no atmosphere.... we went to the other hotels in that secluded area for food and drinks as at least they appreciated our business and had something going on.

My recommendation, go to one of the other hotels next to the Centara. You get the great location and a better value hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

we spent our whole vacation in this lovely hotel (2 adoult +2 kids)we got beautifwl room by the pool.the room was very clean'the staff was very kind ,Mr Kittyporn the manager gave us the best service we could ever get.and he was very nice to whole of the guest in the hotel.however the price of the taxi boat to the beach is 150BHAT (too much for 5 min in a boat).
for sure we will come again to spend our family vacation next year !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

After 3 weeks of travelling around southern Thailand we arrived at Haad Yuan and found Centara. We walked up (no booking ) and were given great room (closet to the pool) for the the three of us. My wife and I were travelling with our 16 year old son and this was the 6th place we stayed in over the 3 weeks of travelling. It was the best value for money and we stayed in a villa at Santhiya for under US$170 per night. We ate at all the places outside the hotel. The best is Bamboo Hut at the North end of the beach and Big Blue. Go Bamlboo Hut for dinner as the views are awesome. The Sanctuary Spa is a very short walk or kayak paddle away. We had the hotel to ourselves (nearly) and the service was great. We had a great relaxing 4 nights here and we wished we stayed longer. Overall very good for a chill out relaxing break. My son and I played beach touch rugby every day with the locals. It was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: The electricity goes off 3 times a day. (its fine...get over it!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashpacking2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We took the ferry from Samui to Phangan, not having planned how we were going to get to the resort. When we got off the ferry, we were told the only way to get there is by boat, so be prepared for that. It wasn’t a problem though, there are plenty of water taxis available near the ferry dock and they are helpful with luggage and cost around 150 baht (about AUD $5) per person.
As the resort came into view around the bend it looked like something out of a movie. It is set in a quiet, serene bay cradled by a mountain and surrounded by jungle. The boat pulled up onto the sand and as we jumped out into the shallows a staff member walked down the beach to help us with our bags. He lead us into reception to check in and presented us with cold towels and a refreshing drink while we waited.
We followed the staff up the steps (there are a few! But they carried our bags) to our private jungle bungalows. The rooms are very spacious and quite sophisticated, with air conditioning, TV and a mini bar. The bed is nicely furnished and there is also a large day bed, with plenty of room to spare.
The bathroom is quite special. There is a large sunken bath and a separate open shower with oversized shower head. The whole room is granite/caeserstone and it’s all very open and spacious.
The pool was fantastic, surrounded by pergolas with cushions and pool chairs with umbrellas, and close enough to the bar that you can relax poolside with a refreshing cocktail.
The buffet breakfast selection is quite limited compared to other places we stayed. Cereal, yoghurt, toast and fruit, you can order eggs and bacon and there was occasionally some soggy French toast or pancakes. Get in early because the ants love the fruit and it’s just sitting in bowls on the table. Having said that, the lunch and dinner menu was sensational. All the rice and noodle dishes and curries were fantastic (highly recommend the fried rice served in a pineapple).
We spent most days lounging by the pool, or on the beanbags on the beach. Yeh, giant squishy orange beanbags. On the beach. (pause for effect). This resort is fabulous for lounging and relaxing, but there’s not a lot to do near by. If you’re going for the full moon party, this is the next beach from there, so it’s quite convenient. But far enough away that you won’t be disturbed if you don’t go.
If you want to go into town (Haad Rin is the closest) you will have to get one of the taxi boats to take you. They’re not affiliated with the resort so you can’t book them, but the drivers always came down if we waited by a boat, and if we asked them to pick us up from Haad Rin at a certain time they did. The transport seems disorganised but we never had a problem. We had to get a taxi boat at 5am from the resort and the drivers were very obliging. Be good to them and they will be good to you.
We found there wasn’t a lot to do in Haad Rin, compared to other places we had been. There is a bit of shopping and some restaurants, not much more. We took a taxi to Koh Ma to go snorkelling, it was very cheap and the driver waited for us there when we finished (or he was waiting when we said we’d be back).
In Haad Rin we met a helpful Aussie who had been there for several years, and he gave us some sound advice: Do not hire jet skis or scooters. Chances are you’ll be held for ransom for “damages” and you will not get off the island until you pay them. Don’t let that deter you from going there though, just hire in Koh Samui instead.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this relaxing, secluded resort and would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.1 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariya Haad Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariya Haad Yuan

Property: Pariya Haad Yuan
Address: 153/2 Moo 6, Haad Yuan Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Pariya Resort & Villas Haad Yuan)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pariya Haad Yuan 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pariya Haad Yuan Koh Phangan is located on the pristine Haad YuanBeach. The boutique Resort is just a 20-minute speedboat ride from Koh Samui. Framed by the lush jungle-clad mountains and fronted by cobalt-blue sea at its doorstep, Pariya Resort & Villas Haad Yuan Koh Phangan is the place to experience tropical island life in perfect tranquility and comfort. Haad Rin Beach, the center of the island's nightlife and the world famous location of Full Moon Party is just a 10-minute boat ride away from the resort.Pariya Resort & Villas Haad Yuan Koh Phangan boasts 39 spacious villas. All villas have modern amenities to ensure maximum comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pariya Haad Yuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Pariya Resort & Villas Koh Pha Ngan Hotel Koh Phangan
Centara Pariya Resort And Villas Koh Pha Ngan
Pariya Haad Yuan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing