We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Not that good.”
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location. Not that good.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The pool is amazing. You can order food from it and eat while you in the pool.
The location is the best. Right next to the beach party. The problem is that you hear all night the drum and base...

The shower was bad.
The heat changed every 30 seconds.

Slow wifi

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    27
    19
    27
See reviews for
11
50
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I don't even want to waste any time on writing this review. In short, I didn't sleep at all. We were at these beachfront rooms, and the noise from a beach bar 50 meters further was unbearable. The room didn't feel clean, the breakfast was the saddest thing I'd ever seen, covered by flies. Avoid by all means!

Room Tip: If you've decided to stay at this dump in spite of this review, don't ever waste your money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

As it was our first time in koh phangan we had booked a 5 day package with "backpackers Thailand" and didn't know the name of the hotel until we had got booking confirmation, after reading reviews we were anxious as there was very little positive things being said, however we were more than pleasantly surprised! We had a street side room, and despite being across the road from the actual hotel it was very spacious, clean and well looked after. The rooms could be cleaned daily if you simply hung out the door sign to notify the cleaners. We had breakfast included in our stay which we found was great, we were made fresh poached eggs every morning. I found that whilst the staff did not speak much English they were still pleasant and helpful. I would 100% stay here again if I was in the area. I would also highly recommend the Thailand backpackers, they were great help with everything from the day we arrived and even helped us plan onward journeys, and we made some great friends through the bar crawls they arranged!

Room Tip: Perfect for full moon goers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here 1 night. We arrived late in the evening so we didn't had a lot of time to discover the different resorts. The first impression was okay because the pool looks nice and it is nearby sea. When we arrived at the reception we were not friendly greeted at all. We just came from an amazing hotel in Koh Samui so i was really disappointed about the arrogant and unfriendly service. They didn't explain anything and we needed about the Wifi and hairdryer ourself. The room was very simpel and the bathroom was dirty with sand and dead insects. I didn't expect 5* luxury but this was a waist of our time and money. The next morning we left as soon as possible. After getting our deposit back from the receptionist we said goodbye. There was sitting an employee from the hotel nearby the reception staring at an TV. He and the girl from the reception didn't said goodbye at all!! I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. We did not feel welcome at all and for a couple of 100 Baht extra you can get a better room at a better resort with friendly employees!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manhattan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was there for one night - 23 June 2013 - for the full moon party. Paid premium last minute rate of about $93 USD. Nice enough room with big balcony, big windows, good ceiling fan, strong AC, mini-fridge, TV, etc. Maybe worth it if sharing the room and expenses (3-4 people?) but for one person it is not good value for money. The location, however, is pretty great. Swimming pool right on sunrise beach and a great base for Full Moon party (easy to go back to room, use toilet, have a drink, etc). Staff were rude and in a hurry and didn't want me to pay with credit card (cash is better for us, they said); then finally charged me 3% extra for using credit card. Within 2-3 mins. walk of lots of bars, restaurants, minimarts (Mama Schnitzel's, Chicken Corner, 7-11 all nearby).

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with balcony overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 10 nights and on average it was ok. Nice pool excellent position on beach front. The trouble I have had us that after we checked in signed to paper work an paid upfront they came to our room and said the price was actually another £60. I don't think this is acceptable. I am yet to check out but do not intend on paying this. We had 3 nights in 2 different rooms with broken air conditioning units. We are now on our 3rd room and all has been well. I also complained last night as I bought an hours worth of wifi that didn't work for my room. The member of staff was rude an huffed and puffed asking why I had not complained at 3am!!! After I bought it. Eventually he stuffed the money back in my hand. No apology for inconvenience. I felt like I had done something wrong! Not customer friendly at all.
So on average I would say if its just about the location go for the hotel if you def want cool nights and excellent service then no.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I could not believe my ears or eyes.. Staff was incredibly rude, suggested I was lying when I went down to office to let them know our room had no towels, the room was filthy with mold, mildew, dirt, you name it. Our sheets had stains, gross stains. When we woke up in the AM there was a man sleeping on a random mattress literally right outside our door. Please check out the photo of what our shower head looked like.. Nothing felt secure, locks where a joke, I felt like my five year old sister could break into them with raw spaghetti. I feel like the only reason this place is surviving is because it's beachfront location but i feel your better off sleeping on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gfreesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tommy Resort
Tommy Resort
#27 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Property: Sunrise Resort
Address: 136 Moo 6 | Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort is conveniently located within 50 meters from Haad Rin, a beach famously known for the Full Moon Party. The resort offers non-smoking modern rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Equipped with an outdoor pool, the property provides free private parking. The resort is a 5-minute drive to Phangan Pier. Koh Tao and Koh Nang Yuan can be reached within 1 hr. Rooms are furnished with stylish decor and each room at Sunrise Resort comes with a safety deposit box and a minibar. Free toiletries and shower facilities are included in an en suite bathroom. The resort has a 24-hour front desk where staff can assist guests with laundry services and luggage storage. A chargeable shuttle service can be arranged upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing