We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to stay - Highly reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Haad Son Resort was GREAT! The resort has it's own private beach and the staff were very lovely and helpful. I was traveling with a group of 10 friends and none of us had one bad thing to say about the resort!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and had a great time!

Good food, relaxed atmosphere, great snorkelling and the best ocean-view ever (from room number 408).

One point for improvement (as others have mentioned): Cleaning!
Rooms are cleaned every 2 or 3 days (and cost 2500 baht!). You would expect better for that price. Especially since you are expected to dump the toiletpaper in a bin... Which starts getting smelly after a couple of days...

When complaining about the frequency and quality (we even found somebody else' dirty underwear under the bed and some rodents poo) of cleaning the response was: "Yes we get that complaint a lot".

When asking whether they are thinking about doing something about the complaints the response was: "The cleaners are on a holiday".

When asking whether they should maybe think about hiring more cleaners the response was: "No, we have enough cleaners, but they are on a holiday"...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff are friendly and have service mind although their English is limited. Good location to escape from the crowded community and chaotic beaches like Haad Rin. Bad thing is that we cannot swim in the sea in front of the resort due to plenty of coral reef and stones.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are expensive, but it's worth for panoramic sea view and fresh air from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet-Ratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights and found it to be at a good location and the rooms were clean and tidy. Not the easiest place to get around with suitcases but the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to have a bar next door on Secret beach with sensible drink prices. Transport to and from Ferry terminal a bonus. A scooter allowed us to see cheaper and better hotels further up the Island but would recommend this hotel for short stays only

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

pick up from the pier was great, reception and booking by the staff, which speak english were excellent. You have access to wi fi in the main building, breakfast was alla carte but great, we asked for extra cofee in the morning without extra charge. Access to the private beach and restaurant, hammocks on the sea shore if you would like to "just chill". Great allround atmosphere. An excellent resort for less baht.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach and even the sea facing bungalows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frik65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Where to start? The only thing keeping us sane was the view. In the 4 days we stayed, neither of our rooms were cleaned once (even with the "please make up room" sign out). The lady at the front desk was consistently rude and sometimes not even there. I couldn't tell if it was spite or coincidence, but we ended up 5 flights of steep, uneven, concrete stairs up a mountain. The room was such a pain to get to every time. We avoided the beach on one occasion to avoid the terrible trek back. I'm 23, and in pretty good shape, and slipped up the stairs carrying my luggage and scrapped my arm pretty bad. If you book here, make sure to buy your own water, toilet paper, hand soap, and shampoo. Also, be prepared to use the one towel many times over as they don't come to bring new ones and collect the dirty ones. The food was overpriced but decent tasting. This is about a 30 minute taxi to the full moon party. They charge 200 baht per person to go there the night of the party. Don't use them to book a ferry, it's about triple the price of the travel places near the pier. It's pretty far from all night life and about a 30 minute motor bike ride from the pier. There are also lots of ants in the bathrooms. For how cheap hotels are in Thailand, this place was very disappointing. I'd say this was priced double what it was worth.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the top of the "resort", unless you are a professional athlete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was quite a favourite resort among the family and definitely the best 3 star one we stayed at over our 5 week trip. It has a very relaxed - bit of a boho vibe.

We liked lying on the floor cushions in the open air rec room area, using the WIFI at the end of the day chilling out and having a drink.

Pool area isn't the best but the beach is lovely and quite often deserted, but no loungers or umbrellas - just lie on the sand!

I had booked a superior villa, which when we saw it we were quite upset. It was small, the 2 double beds only just fit, it had horrible decor and it was worn out. Yuk. So I went back to reception to see what else was available. We did a deal to move into interconnecting rooms in the 'hotel' style part of the resort. So much nicer, big airy rooms, nicer bathrooms, terrace with view of the beach. Great.

Very relaxing resort. Food at night can be eaten on the sea deck or in little private tree houses (cute!) lit by tree lanterns, the food is good and the prices are low.

Breakfast on the other hand is poor. Not much choice and low quality, think white sliced bread and noodles.

Reception staff bit cold.

Waiters are ok.

Loved the island - very chilled out. May well be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSquirrel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#22 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#69 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#18 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Address: 85 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 413 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £29 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing