We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach, awful hotel with rude staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Booked here for 4 nights and left after 2, the resort was empty only 2 other people staying there and I can see why!!
The staff our very rude and the barman Sammir is the worst rude, questions everything you do in a bad way, and is always trying to get money out of you at the restaurant which by the way is the worst food I have had in Thailand!!
I have a feeling that the good reviews on here are from the owners creating trip advisor accounts and making sound good!!
Don't stay here expensive and so far out of the way along an unpaved road and taked 45mins to get to from Thong Sala and 1 hour from Haad Rin!!
If you do make the mistake of staying here good luck getting out as its 800baht back to Thong Sala!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fitton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here in october for 4 nights, the staff was most helpful and friendly, The Breakfast was great and the evening food was nice. Would recommend this hotel to any one. And the receptionist was very helpful and helpfull. GREAT PLACE.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingchef_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in Havana Beach Resort for 2 nights recently. The hotel is in a great location but there's a couple of things that could be improved.
Pros
- Friendly staff
- Ideal location
- Nice beachfront Bar (except is closed around 9pm)

Cons
- Aircon was shocking...during the night it would just start at 30 min intervals
- We only had breakfast 1 morning but the milk was sour & the rest of the food didn't look to appealing.

Overall it's a decent hotel & maybe the breakfast was below standard we were staying there in low-season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in a Standard room in this hotel for 3 nights, the 1st of which was the Full Moon Party and the resort provided a decently provided taxi service to Haad Rin.

It's difficult to find anything negative to say about the resort - the staff were friendly and helpful, the resort has a lovely clean pool area leading to a beautiful beach and the room was spacious and clean with a large comfortable bed, strong air con and a big balcony. Beach towels were provided and changed on a daily basis. The breakfast included was the standard type of buffet found in Thai resorts - the only suggestion would be that the hot food could have been kept warmer.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as a welcome change from the madness of Haad Rin!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

good vibe.....nice beach......happy people.....goood food......clean room......best service make me wanna come back again. The resort was beautiful and relaxing. The best beach in phangan island. The food in the resort are really great. I really enjoyed the stay. Thank you very much for making this one of my best trip in Thailand...will come back this year for sure. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathankkrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Havana beach resort last September. Kho Pha-Ngan was our first accomodation on our island hopping trip after our Thailand tour on the mainland.
At this resort we finally had our well deserved rest combined with really great service of the staff.
What we really liked about this stay at Thong Nai Pan Yai beach is that you can enjoy a really relaxed atmosphere here, without noticing any competition between the bars and resorts further on this beach: If you ask for another good restaurant or a place to drink, the staff is happy to advise other places on the beach. Allthough this resort is equipped with a good bar and restaurant, it is definitely worth to take a look around.
We had an excellent service from Sumit and Chai who were always around to help you. We were threated like VIIP guests when we were provided with a BBQ fish which isn't even mentioned on the menu.
We will surely advise everyone who goes to Kho Pha-Ngan to visit this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirtap_and_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at Havana Beach Resort with my friend during May 2011, really enjoy with beautiful beach, big and clean swimming pool, nice Indian food and friendly staff.

Really look forward to comeback again next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natty430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
178 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,569 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £46 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing