We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good beach”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I agree with many of the good comments made by previous contributors – friendly, helpful and cheerful staff, good food (especially the Indian) and the great position on the beach. There are lovely mature trees and plenty of shade – though inevitably quite a lot of steps as the site slopes downwards to the beach.

However, I do have a few relatively minor quibbles. The room and large balcony looked great when we first arrived but on closer inspection there were some problems. Storage in the bedroom was inadequate. Racks in the wardrobe meant there was nowhere to hang dresses (I threaded mine individually through the bars) and there were no drawers for tee-shirts, underwear etc – only a small bedside drawer for odds and ends. The bathroom again was a good size but there was no shelving for toilet bags etc. The shower was in the main bathroom so it meant the toilet seat got wet whenever it was used. I realise, although I do not like it, that the sewage arrangements meant that we could not flush toilet paper down the toilet.

Outside the pool was fine but the shower by the pool was very slippery – slimy mould had grown as it was constantly wet because the tap dripped.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return for a short stay though I would not like a long holiday here because of the lack of storage. I do recommend the boat and waterfall trip organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    67
    23
    10
See reviews for
112
204
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

From reading the reviews, it looks like lots of people too love Havana!

Each time we visited Koh Phangan, we always tried to stay in different places to get the best of our time on the island. However, Havana has weakened us and so we return twice!

Apart from being on one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, Havana is a lovely and well presented resort. The most impressive factor about Havana I've found is the staff. I couldn't have asked for a friendlier and helpful bunch of people. Everyone is always smiley and can't do enough for you and most of the staff can speak English very well. The owner and his son are so lovely and funny, we felt like we had made new friends and not just another customer in the resort. They had kindly kept us entertained and took us to some local places to see the sights and met with other holiday makers and locals so we don't get bored during our stay in the low season.

I have to mention that, although both our visits were during low season, the room and the resort ground were still maintained to a high standard. We can only say that we were indeed...impressed!

I would highly recommend Havana to anyone...beautiful beach, great accommodation, fantastic staff and I even had kissing swan towels with rose petals decorated in my room! What more do you need! We would surely return on our next visit to the island.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Myself and my wife to be have stayed at Havana on two occasions, once in November 2009 and again in November 2011.

The resort is situated on Thong Nai Pan Yai on the north east coast of Koh Phangan far away from the chaos of the ‘party’ town of Had Rin. We have visited Koh Phangan on many occasions and have found that Thong Nai Pan offers a good balance of that secluded island feeling and entertainment.

The beach itself is crescent shaped and covered in beautiful white sand. The sea most of the year is clear and still, almost ‘lake like.’ In November there can be a bit of a swell, but this just adds to the fun of playing in the sea!

I can only say good things about the resort, hence our second visit and my decision for it to be the place in which I proposed to my now wife to be! On each visit we were greeted at reception by their friendly staff holding a complimentary drink. We were checked in quickly and our bags carried to our room where the aircon had already been turned on. Always a nice touch.

The rooms are immaculately clean and decorated to a high standard. Most rooms have large balconies. Ours looked out over the rather phallicly shaped swimming pool and to the sea beyond. The restaurant offers a mixture of local, European and Indian food, the Indian food being some of the best I have ever had! There are several other bars and restaurants within 10 minutes walk. We really enjoyed Som Seafood, for local very reasonably priced food, but most of the time struggled to leave Havana.

This resort is fantastic. We would be extremely happy to return there anytime. The service and accommodation are excellent. Highly recommended.

PS. for those of you who do decide to stay at Havana, check out the spelling of Coke on the minibar ticket it will give you a giggle!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Ginns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is just big enough to have a pool, restaurant and bar but still small enough to have that personal touch. It is perfectly situated on a small bay which is picture postcard Thailand, white sandy beach, warm clear water and just a few longtail boats. We are only here for two nights as part of a Saga tour, but would be quite happy to stay here for two weeks. The staff are friendly and helpful, the service is good and the food is great. We had a fish bar-b-que tonight and the barracuda was superb. Our room G3 is right by the pool and even has free wi fi which enabled me to write this review.

Room Tip: steep steps down from reception to lower level, pool, bar, restaurant all at beach level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hi guys, we just came back from Thailand, having an amazing 5 weeks holiday in Thong Nai Pan, in Havana Beach Resort!!!!! Every January we are going back to this place, because it is beautiful, the service is very good, the owners are amazing, thank you Raja, City Boy, Meenu, Sumit, Chai, Carmel, Panda (the dog who is always busy doing nothing on the beach :))...and all the staff looking after us so kindly! The rooms in Havana are beautiful, the swimming pool is the same, and everyone is so laid back and happy! You can feel in this place that you are at home, the beach is amazing, the water is clear, and you always can have fun with the owners and all the staff! Have a look at this pictures and you will see what I am talking about! www.phanganhavana.com
It is a brilliant place going there and spending few weeks!!!
Miss you guys, see you next January!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for everything!

Gabi and Darren from England

Room Tip: Room upstairs, nr E6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed three nights in January. The beach is excellent with great sand and water access.

We had a pool side upstairs room - it was rather large with a spare bed in it ... practical layout with enough space for cases and the like. Only downside was lack of fresh air - the only thing that opened was the door - there was AC to keep cool but an opening window with mosquito screen would have helped sleep at night with the sea breeze.

Breakfast was good not great and we had it every day ... we also had dinner there most night sat on the beach which was very nice.

The staff were super friendly and carried the suitcases to the room and then as we were leaving the gardener picked up my bag and carried it up the stairs to reception - very nice.

We had a few connectivity issues with the WIFI but it was available everywhere except the beach.

A very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portisheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were here for two days and the room, resort and restaurant was great. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpgetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
539 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Property: Havana Beach Resort
Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing