We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location and hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Do not hesitate, book this hotel.
Excellent, no faults at all,
This hotel is more than value for money,
Stayed for 3 nights in garden view deluxe room C6.
Breakfast included.
Phoned ahead for taxi and when arrived had a sign waiting for us, good service, picked up in hi lux by manager of hotel. New highway is partly done to replace old dirt track road,
200b PP to hotel about 30 minutes.
Hotel location is excellent on beach which is very nice, also idyllic spot.
Breakfast buffet good selection of European food, not much Thai,
Swimming pool and beds are excellent. No beds available on beach, only a handful of deck chairs.
Massage next to swimming pool is good, 300b oil massage, 400b aloe Vera, 1hour.
Bar on beach is good with 50" plasma screen and plenty seating around bar and on beach available. BBQ available approx 250-300b for fish, chicken etc.
Indian restaurant available too, food was average in Indian, chicken tikka wraps 150,
Samosas had far too much pastry.
Masala papadoms were the best thing ordered.
Service was good.
manager always around and very friendly and helpful.
Booked a trip with him on hotels boat to An Thong Marine Park @2100 PP entrance to national park is 200b PP,
Snorkelling was decent, then stop offs at Mae Koh Island with viewpoint, steps steep to climb but ok, view of beach is stunning and emerald pool inside.
Next stop was pha jun jaras nature trail has a 500m viewpoint up rocks with rope guide, viewpoint at 100m & 200m is all I did but well worth it, wear decent shoes if attempting.
Onto koh samosa island for 2 hours lunch and relax, snorkelling here not good as not clear.
Lunch served was rice and a good variety of chicken, prawn, pork and beef dishes followed by melon and pineapple.
A decent day out with helpful and friendly guides.
Taxi back to ferry port 250b PP as before 8, 50b extra,
Well worth it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    162
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
110
204
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Havana Beach Resort is hands-down, the best value on Thong Nai Pan (if you can get a discounted rate). We booked online via one of the many hotel websites, and we were not disappointed. We even arrived a day early, and they honored our discounted room rate for our extra night!

Thong Nai Pan is where you want to stay on Koh Phangan if you're looking for a beautiful beach and quiet nights. Haad Rin was way too crazy and loud, and Baan Tai just looked like garbage compared to this paradisaical beach.

The room was clean and spacious, and the balcony was about as large as a room in other hotels we stayed at. The air conditioner worked great too.

While you should definitely stay here, DO NOT eat here. The food is mediocre at best, but is pretty expensive. Walk a little ways down the beach and eat at Flip Flop Pharmacy Bar instead.

The swimming pool is shaped like a penis. Not necessarily a bad thing...just really weird. It is a straight-up dick.

The service was great although a little aggressive at times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is set in a hillside location with the rooms cascading down to the beautiful beach. Rooms are comfortable but a little basic with a whistle to blow should you need anything ! (No telephones in room). Easy access via the beach to shops, restaurants and beach massage. However we ate at the hotel most days as they served very good food at reasonable prices.

Please be aware - We stayed here in November 2013 and the only road to and from the hotel was not finished and we experienced horrendous problems getting back to the port after days of rain made the road virtually impassable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPSCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Travelled in October 2013, and was blessed with lovely clear weather. The owners Minu & Sitthi (sorry for spelling) were really friendly and welcomed us to their hotel. As it was low season we were the only guests except for a few couples, so we had our rooms upgraded.

The hotel is very comfortable, outfitted with modern furnishings & amenities and is kept very clean and well maintained. The balconies are huge & great to sit outside & enjoy the lovely gardens, but buying mosquito coils is recommended!

Food from the kitchen is quite nice, though we didn't get to try the Indian or seafood specialties. It's quite pleasant to enjoy drinks on the beach as the sun goes down & waves roll in.

One minor note - the Burmese wait staff are somewhat inattentive, they were playing on their phones & not watching when customers need a refill or something to eat. Not such a big deal, it is the islands, a more relaxed vibe! There's plenty of other nice places to eat up & down the beach if you want to try something different.

There is an excellently stocked convenience store about 50m north along the beach, or you can walk into town (about 10min) to the 7-Eleven & pharmacy.

The hotel owners have an awesome boat too...I highly recommend taking a trip, it's great fun!!

I had such a nice time I'm returning in April 2014!

Room Tip: Be sure to purchase mosquito coils / repellant for when you're sitting outside or on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kepsimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We have spent a week with 2 kids (9 and 3 years old). The hotel itself was ok but not great. The room very basic and not particular clean. AC smelly and not working properly. Breakfast very poor and restaurant in the average. The plus of the hotel was the beach. We have spent a week just wearing swimsuit and swimming.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guglielmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Superior rooms were spacious enough, bathroom could have been decorated/ finished nicer. Definitely a family place, hence Norwegian families overrunning the pool/restaurant areas. Impersonal service, except excellent, experienced massage service by Khun Nam! Inclusive breakfast was good and plentiful, although coffee not drinkable. Stay away from Indian food, inedible salty tomato sauce at its worst - surprising as Indian owner. BBQ was overpriced, average and inedible in parts. Beach certainly not best on island, 10 metres length when tide is in, rubbish strewn and little attempt to clean. Some Staff at Havana and most of the beach Burmese, set up for tourism with little/ no personality, had some good food at dreamland resort, but expect to be rushed out of most places bang on 10pm.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjars555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice place to sleep at Thong Nai Pan Yai, near sea, good location and friendly from staff and owner, Good Breakfast. Everything is very good for me and my wife. I wish you enjoy like me at Havana Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Conner of Building on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mod_Garfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Property: Havana Beach Resort
Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing