We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Block type rooms,six to a block in nice gardens, but our room had no view from big balcony. Balcony furniture very rustic, hence hard and uncomfortable similar to the beds. Breakfast OK,but egg station manned by a first timed,scramble d eggs was new to him. Altogether pricey for what it was but so is everywhere on this beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights in February and had a fantastic time. First of all do not expect to have loads of things to do at this resort, it's great for a nice relaxing chill out. On the beach you will have a good choice of places to eat all of them do the basics well ( Thai currys, fried noodles, rice etc) jet ski hire, boat trips and great massage options. we stayed in a room close to reception, which was very well decorated and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The pool area is very nice and very clean, with lovely comfortable sunbeds. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and it was great to see the very colourful owner taking time to speak to his guests. Breakfast was very good, not loads of choice but what options there were was good. We ate there a couple of evenings and the food was ok, tried the currys but was disappointed, made better myself. If you want a quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay you will not go far wrong with this place. We will return.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolton737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well this is a true Thai beachside property with beachside resturant and bar and an attractive pool set in a picturesque bay with plenty of bars and resturants near by.The rooms are excelent with all the facilities (except a phone ,they give you a whistle to call for attention if needed). This would be a good place to stay away from the big resort hotels.The food was good and most evenings they had a BBQ on the beach which made an excelent setting to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'll start by saying that the staff at this resort provided excellent service and you could feel the closeknit vibe as a result of this being a family owned and run hotel. What let this place down was the distance from the rest of the island given the state the Thong Nai Pan Yai beach was in - this was not a beach you could relax on as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years and the tide spent most of it's time very far in. It took 30-45 minutes to get to Haad Rin and the journey had to be scheduled far in advance. The hotel itself was clean although on a bit of a hill and we had to climb many steps to get back up to our room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellerAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Do not hesitate, book this hotel.
Excellent, no faults at all,
This hotel is more than value for money,
Stayed for 3 nights in garden view deluxe room C6.
Breakfast included.
Phoned ahead for taxi and when arrived had a sign waiting for us, good service, picked up in hi lux by manager of hotel. New highway is partly done to replace old dirt track road,
200b PP to hotel about 30 minutes.
Hotel location is excellent on beach which is very nice, also idyllic spot.
Breakfast buffet good selection of European food, not much Thai,
Swimming pool and beds are excellent. No beds available on beach, only a handful of deck chairs.
Massage next to swimming pool is good, 300b oil massage, 400b aloe Vera, 1hour.
Bar on beach is good with 50" plasma screen and plenty seating around bar and on beach available. BBQ available approx 250-300b for fish, chicken etc.
Indian restaurant available too, food was average in Indian, chicken tikka wraps 150,
Samosas had far too much pastry.
Masala papadoms were the best thing ordered.
Service was good.
manager always around and very friendly and helpful.
Booked a trip with him on hotels boat to An Thong Marine Park @2100 PP entrance to national park is 200b PP,
Snorkelling was decent, then stop offs at Mae Koh Island with viewpoint, steps steep to climb but ok, view of beach is stunning and emerald pool inside.
Next stop was pha jun jaras nature trail has a 500m viewpoint up rocks with rope guide, viewpoint at 100m & 200m is all I did but well worth it, wear decent shoes if attempting.
Onto koh samosa island for 2 hours lunch and relax, snorkelling here not good as not clear.
Lunch served was rice and a good variety of chicken, prawn, pork and beef dishes followed by melon and pineapple.
A decent day out with helpful and friendly guides.
Taxi back to ferry port 250b PP as before 8, 50b extra,
Well worth it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Havana Beach Resort is hands-down, the best value on Thong Nai Pan (if you can get a discounted rate). We booked online via one of the many hotel websites, and we were not disappointed. We even arrived a day early, and they honored our discounted room rate for our extra night!

Thong Nai Pan is where you want to stay on Koh Phangan if you're looking for a beautiful beach and quiet nights. Haad Rin was way too crazy and loud, and Baan Tai just looked like garbage compared to this paradisaical beach.

The room was clean and spacious, and the balcony was about as large as a room in other hotels we stayed at. The air conditioner worked great too.

While you should definitely stay here, DO NOT eat here. The food is mediocre at best, but is pretty expensive. Walk a little ways down the beach and eat at Flip Flop Pharmacy Bar instead.

The swimming pool is shaped like a penis. Not necessarily a bad thing...just really weird. It is a straight-up dick.

The service was great although a little aggressive at times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuelborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is set in a hillside location with the rooms cascading down to the beautiful beach. Rooms are comfortable but a little basic with a whistle to blow should you need anything ! (No telephones in room). Easy access via the beach to shops, restaurants and beach massage. However we ate at the hotel most days as they served very good food at reasonable prices.

Please be aware - We stayed here in November 2013 and the only road to and from the hotel was not finished and we experienced horrendous problems getting back to the port after days of rain made the road virtually impassable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPSCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
168 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,533 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £42 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing