We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bay - Hotel OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Uzwil
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bay - Hotel OK”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Let me do it a bit more structured:
To be improved:
- WiFi was not working well or not working at all
- Quite a bit of noice from a Maschine behind the lodge and also from the People on the first floor. In General - you can hear every move of your neighbours
- no mosquito nets
- Lacking shade and sun chair along the beach
- Shower water from the pool was flowing along the path way (not so nice)-
- Overall cleanness of the rooms (Attention of the staff not always sufficient)


Now about the lovely things:
- rooms are nicely equiped, only lacking a nice ward robe. Suit case will always lay on the floor - living out of the Suite case is normal
- Great welcome, all prepared, drink was offered
- enough towels for rooms and pool - daily new
- large pool with plenty of sun chairs, all in the shade
- nice Restaurant, fast and engaged Service, prices are high compared with the living costs here (Chef Service gets 10000 Bath per month, normal menue between 150 and 300 bath!)
- 2 nice little shops along the main road (10 mns walk) for drugs and daily things. Also different things to do. JetSki (is a must with 90 kmh and full Speed!!), motorbike rental, massage, water ski etc.)
- Many different water Taxis for shorkeling or fishing trips or just to go to another bay
- Amazing bay in front of Havana, we have visited almost the entire Island and I'd rate this place to be number 1
- Each room has a Veranda, nicely in the shade
- Faire Prices for a massage, around 300 Bath per hour (also a must)


In General:
- other nice Restaurants near by. In particular there is an Italian, not so easy to find, located behind Dreamland DL between beach and main road
- Also good to go for eat to Tattoo, just next to Havana, Food is even better and Prices 50 % lower
- All staff in Havana is very nice and friendly - best we have experienced on the Island
- About motorbike, Prices vary from 250 to 400 for 24 hours. However this price is not so important as Petrol cost will double your journey costs. Or a flat tire - 350 Bath to be paid by yourself. Don't stop at the edge of the roads without care or you'll have your first flat tire.
- Thong Nai Pan Yai beach has a large reef for snorkeling. Even though a lot of the corals are broken, there are some nice and big ones left. Due to a really bad visibility in the water (max 2 meters) you might not see too much. But honestly this is also the reason why the reef is still alive.

Room Tip: Close to beach and upper Level of the Bungalows as the ones below are noicy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    161
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
109
204
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived, the water took a while to turn on and when it did it came out it was very brown. However after that it was absolutely fine, just very cold! The air conditioning is excellent and the rooms are nice, with a good TV and nice balcony. The pool is very cloudy, we didn't want to go in, but it's not too much of a problem as the beach is absolutely stunning. The restaurant is in a beautiful location and they have a nice Indian menu as well as the regular one, and also a seafood BBQ every night. The manager has good connections with boat drivers, so is able to organise cheap boats for you very easily. Very friendly and helpful staff! Great hotel, just not very central/near to any town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cimmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Havana Beach Resort is a excellent choice in Kho Phangan island, especially if you're looking for a beach relax holidays.
The standards rooms are very nice, the room service is good enough and the breakfast is quite acceptable, what, however, could improve greatly if there was more variety in the offer available.
The Havana Beach Resort is a beachfront hotel and also in this aspect it is a great choice in Thong Nai Pan Yai, one of the most beautiful beaches in the island.
In short the Havana Beach Resort is a very recommendable hotel and Kho Phangan island is a very nice place to enjoy.
I wish I could be there right now...!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently went to Koh Phangan to go to the full moon party, we decided to stay away from the hustle of Haad Rin and we weren't disappointed. Thong Nai Pan beach was beautiful, loved the community feel, great choice of restaurants along the beach.
The hotel itself was good, nice location right on the beach. Rooms pretty basic, first day we had no hot water but this was fixed for us. Nice big pool, but it's in the shape of a penis, like actually a giant penis! Quite funny.
The restaurant was good, we only ate here 1 night, and had the BBQ. The red snapper was delicious. We didn't have any curries after reading other reviews on TA. Breakfast wasn't very nice and could be improved on.
We were able to catch a small long tail boat from the resort to the full moon party and back again at 4am, interesting ride home, no lights or life jackets on the boat but the captain knows the area well so is able to steer away from the rocks and keep you safe on your journey.
Wifi didn't work too well in our room, very intermittent and couldn't get a very clear signal.
Would recommend this resort, would definitely recommend you stay here over Haad Rin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend booked this accommodation in August 2007 as we wanted to visit the full moon party, whilst the accommodation was wonderful the location was not for us as it was very quiet and I would say ideal for honeymooners. The staff were so helpful and when we explained we needed to be in accommodation closer to the full moon parties, they refunded us money and even arranged accommodation and drove us to the new accommodation. Staff could not be more helpful, will definitely visit this resort again with my husband :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Bad quality breakfast, almost nothing to eat and full of flies !! Bedroom not clean and mosquitos full in the room! Very noisy air conditioner ... Only restaurant is good in this place ! Also manager confirms that we will have a better room but never happened ! The women at the reception was also very unfriendly and they charge 3% extra on all bills if you pay with credit card! Not recommended place !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VirginieLaurens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here during March 2014 for 3 nights. This was my second stay at Havana Beach.

If you are looking for a place to unwind, particularly after the full moon party, Thong Nai Pan is the right place.

The beach is beautiful, dotted with bars/restaurants with a laidback atmosphere.
It is a lot quieter than most locations on Koh Phangan, but if you just want to enjoy a few beers and listen to music on the beach, then this is the place for you.

The resort is very nice, rooms are rather basic - but they were only really for sleeping in our case. The bar at the pool showed Premier League football, which drew a bit of a crowd, and we were made very welcome by the owner.

It is a bit of trek to/from Haad Rin, but that's the charm. Head to Flip Flop Pharmacy bar for the nicest english/irish breakfast, and Mr. Wizzet does great burgers and pizza.

I will definitely return to Havana Beach for my hat-trick - Thong Nai Pan is my favourite spot in Thailand

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Dublin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Property: Havana Beach Resort
Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing