We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havana Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I stayed at Havana in December 2010 with my girlfriend and we had a lovely time. The location is excellent - right on the beautiful Ao Thong Nai Pan. The rooms are clean and comfortable enough for the money you pay, I would say they are good value for money. The staff are lovely and friendly and the food is really nice at the resort's bar. The pool is really nice and the view up to the hills behind the resort is amazing. The breakfast is OK - i asked for fresh eggs every day and they were cooked however you like. If I returned to Koh Phangan and was on a budget I would definitely stay at Havana agiain.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exitplanetordinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Havana for about 5 days during our 2 week vacation in Thailand. We mostly stayed at large resorts from big chain hotels, like Renaissance Marriot in Koh Samui and Hilton in Phuket. Havana was definitely our favorite because of the friendly hospitality and cozy atmosphere.

Our room wasalways spotlessly clean, the air conditioner worked very well, and there was always plenty of hot water. We stayed in room H3 and it was a perfect location--we were right across from the pool, close the to the bar and restaurants yet it was never too noisy. We could also walk down the stairs from our room and there were cheap, good massages right on the premises. (300 baht for one hour--the same price everywhere else on Thong Nai Pan Yoi yet conveniently located where you are staying).

The service was fantastic. The owner and his son were there everyday, making sure everyone was happy and being taken care of. Whatever we needed or wanted to know, they made sure we were satisfied. Each employee always greeted us with a friendly smile and we genuinely felt comfortable at all times.

I spent my birthday at the resort and my boyfriend arranged with Havana to have orchids decorated in the room while we were away. It was so beautiful and a wonderful surprise. When we came back to the bar at the end of the night, the entire staff came out and sang Happy Birthday to me and presented me with a cake and candles to share with everyone at the bar.

We had to check out really early, 6 AM, and since there were not any alarm clocks in the rooms, the owner's son gave us his cell phone to borrow and set the alarm for us. Just one small example how they really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of.

We will definitely be coming back to Thailand in the near future and will happily return to visit and stay with our friends at Havana.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny_Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Havana Resort itself is a 60minute drive from Haadrin, which for us party animals - 1200B per trip into town was painful But if you are looking to take long evening strolls on the beach and are hoping for 100% peace and quite - this hotel is for you. Esp, if you have a partner to share it with

The resort is completely away from EVERYTHING!! The staff were great. I will miss our fish braais and cocktails on the beach, and waking up to step right onto the powder sand. The roads are busy being tarred and im sure, in 6 months time - this area will no longer be remote, It was beautiful and we really did unwind and relax.

However, we went over to Koh Phangan for New Years and to be honest, if I never go back to that island - I will not be sorry. The island itself is a hole. You feel like you have woken up on some varsity dorms frat party. Gross!!! The oldest tourist is 23 and probably an Aussie looking to get drunk. Not the happening party that its made out to be. The locals survive on the full moons tourists, so be prepared to be ripped off. After having been there, none of us could comprehend the hype. Its no wonder that you are forced to stay for 5 days - otherwise everyone would leave after the first night!

Great resort, crap island.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nats_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

From the moment we where picked up at Tongsala Pier the people from the Hotel where very friendly like, trying to get to know us, since visitors from Ecuador are not too common around Thailand. The hotel was great, the food was really good, the service and the staff where great and trying to satisfy at all times! The only thing we did not enjoy off was that the there where high tides and the beach was full of trash everyday, we had to move to "Noi: the other beach to get in the sea, is a 20 minute hike, out of that the place is great!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miggss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We are travelling Thailand for 3 months now. We've seen many beautiful places and a couple of the best Resorts, Hotels & Guesthouses you can get for "normal" Money in whole Thailand.

We've been from the north to the south. FInally we would say we know what you can expect from a good Trip in Thailand and a good Hotel or Resort down here.

The Havana Beach Resort was the most expensive Hotel since our Trip started and I'm afraid to say, yes it was the worst Hotel we used to stay.

It began with the Transfer. They want you to pay 800 Baht to take you from Pier to the Havana per pax!! We took an average taxi at the pier and paid 200 Baht per pax ;-)!

After arriving until leaving it was almost a very strange and cold atmosphere in the Hotel. It seemed to us they just wanted our money money money.

The room:

We booked a room for round about 2.500 Baht per Night. It was a standard double room with air con, balcony, hot and cold shower. (For round about 2.200 Baht per Night we've had a beautiful Suite on Koh Chang with a private Jacuzzi on our balcony!!)

The room was quit dirty and it smells strange from the bathroom. It was a very dark furnished place with a stoned tiled bathroom. The bathroom has already started to rot slowly. What does not surprise me if in tropical areas, a bathroom with natural stone flows...

Directly on the first night we were greeted by a small herd of cockroaches friendly against the bed to the wall. My shoes had to do the rest. We spoke the morning after with some other guests had similar experiences to report.

The wardrobe is out of 3 arches little storage space.

An important criterion why we book hotels is available anywhere free internet access in all rooms which is also available from the Havana hotel as a high-speed wireless internet access.
In our 6 nights at the hotel we once had for about 5 minutes at the pool an Internet connection can keep up to speed with the best modem times in the early 90ties. After inquiries, it was only to hear excuses would be because of the weather there, or anywhere the Internet is down.
Oddly, right next door was a bar with a smooth high-speed Internet. Wondering why!

In our 3 months in Thailand, we came so far from accessible without stomach problems. Since then, we had eaten in Havana, we ended up with both diarrhea.

On average we spend on our food in the restaurant with drinks and hors d'oeuvres about 400 baht. In Havana you can expect up to 700 baht.

If you want to be mobile you have to rent a car or a motorcycle. A car to offer a 2,500 baht for 8 (!) hours! The same car you get for 24 hours for 1,200 baht on the island.

Borrow a scooter is recommended only in good driving practice since a little street in the rain to mud passing this beach section with the rest of the island connects!

I can not really understand why this Hotel got this such good reviews!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apfelbernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Talking about experience and comforts, though a little far away from the center but definitely worth the stay. The ambiance, facilities were up to the expectations and services were definitely up to the mark. The swimming area did gain an extra point !
The room did portray warmth and comfortness one deserved for a holiday trip. The room was grand, clean and evoked the laziness in me. The food service could be given a full credit as the taste was remarkably good
The location being a little adventurous in terms of the distance but well we cant have all we want for such a good price can we ?
you should definitely check it out ! experience it yourself and you'll know that each minute of your stay there was worth every bit !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I had the most amazing experience staying at Havana Beach Resort - it was like being in my very own paradise! Location is stunning and secluded, food is divine, and service is amazing. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated. All the staff and management at the hotel were excellent, extremely friendly and helpful, and are truly dedicated to ensuring that their guests have a good time. They really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The welcome I received from Havana Beach Resort was probably the warmest welcome I have ever had - I really can't give them a high enough rating!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationistForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
170 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £42 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing