We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellcom to mosquito land!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Papaya Resort
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wellcom to mosquito land!!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the most expensive sea view room. The one near the beach, and even though the room was nice and decorated, there ware full of mosquitos e v e r y w e r e!!!!
We tried everything, anti mosquito lotions, repellent incence, killing them, but it was a lost war. You can not enjoy your room shering it with handreds of mosquitos!!!! We had a hard night, left after only 2 nights there...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taltalterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    89
    36
    20
    25
See reviews for
92
147
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Green Papaya Resort is a little paradise for relaxing and to calm down - I stayed there with my friend after a long trip travelling around the world. We spent 1 week there, the best hotel we had so far. The rooms are very comfortable, the pool absolutely gorgeous, the staff friendly. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Dark wooden floors and decks, with huge full bathrooms makes this a very comfortable resort.Good aircon,plenty of hot water, and outside shower a nice touch.
The most beautiful pool, rimming towards the beach, is a perfect picture.
The gardens, most prolific, need some tendering however.
The beach is good, but broken coral makes wading in the blue water difficult.
Breakfast was adequate, but no other food was served at all, while we were there.[However, there is a very good restaurant ,Cookies Salad,at the south side of the beach.]
The manager, Mr P, very helpful, and almost a one man cabaret, who runs a good resort, however,not the cheapest on the beach by far !
If not for the lack of meal service, a 4 star rating would have been awarded.

Room Tip: All are great, some closer to the beach/pool, but resort is small so take what is available/acceptab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Perfect location in the centre of the small cove. Great for a relaxing break in a beautiful location. The pool villa's were very well designed and the bathroom with is half outside had a bath and powerful rain shower with plenty of hot water. breakfasts were adequate with an eggs to order station and fresh fruit etc and the restaurant served western and Thai dishes overlooking the beach. The beach isn't great for swimming as the tide made it too shallow but snorkelling was ok and the water crystal clear. One of the nicest and most modern resorts on the strip and the pool was just beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonnebDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our 3rd time in Thailand, we've already stayed in many other resorts before the G P, and this is our favorite place. There is all what you need for a perfect holiday. The staff is attentive but not too pushy, the rooms are extremely clean and cosy, the breakfast is more than enough with the most incredible view. There is a particular care on details that is very rare in Thailand.
We tried the restaurant and I recommend thai food, and their vietnamese spring roll. Cocktails are prepared with love from 3 friendly barmen. This is the place to stay on Haad Salad, far the best. I highly recommend Green P.

Room Tip: Tremendous swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurynandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Green Papaya Resort; we had a very very good time. All staff was extremely friendly, service oriented and the overall atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. The pool villa we booked was pretty cool, and perfect for our 4-person family.

The pool is well designed and makes your thoughts slow down. The other bars & restaurants right around the corner offer a wide spectrum of food and drinks. Especially at night it is fun to walk along the beach and enjoy.

Room Tip: We booked the pool villa as we had 4 persons. The smaller houses seem to fit for as well. depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertjan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Planned a 1 night Romantic stay with my partner and wanted to do something special. after much deciding I settled on Green Papaya, wish i'd chosen elsewhere now. The ceiling was mouldy, the jacuzzi had ants and leaves in and wasn't filled - (reception said would take 10 mins, took 1 hour to fill!(and that was cold water!)) No view except for the restaurant entrance/reception (no privacy when using the outdoor shower!) very dark and bad lighting. Knew we preferred fan to aircon - ceiling fan was broken and no extra fan put in room. Driveway is so uneven my bike almost slipped on loose rocks, entrance looks like a building site. Weren't told breakfast finishes at 10.30 (this was included so felt a bit robbed!) Overall come away feeling disappointed and ripped-off. I have live here for a while now and stayed at many different places on the island, I could have got better facilities/service for less money elsewhere on the island. I shall just have to learn from a bad error in judgement

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms with Jacuzzi/Plunge Pool - no view at all and incredibly unromantic! Also it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londontraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie280472, Owner at Green Papaya Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Mrs,

We like to hear from our guests so that we can improve in order to make their stay more enjoyable.
We went to check the room you have been staying in and we need to make the following rectifications:
The ceiling fan is working, the switch is located near the switch for the light. The ceiling has been painted last november, under the supervision of one architect and it is white and clean (previously natural color). The tub is very big, we dont pre fill with water to guaranty you take a bath in clean water.
Our housekeeper are working really hard and they would have been cleaning the leaves away if we were advised.
We apologize if you haven't been informed about the breakfast schedule, and for the road access which needs to be repaired.
You are welcome to visit us (as you are staying on the island) if you would like to discuss further, or you can contact me by mail.
Best regards,
Elodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#67 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Property: Green Papaya Resort
Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Papaya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Sawasdee and Cancelon so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing