We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quite Resort with good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Life Bungalow Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Life Bungalow Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quite Resort with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights.. I actuelly booked a Garden view Bungalow but I got a free upgrade..so had a beautiful Sea view Bungalow
with A/C.
Bungalow was very clean and big enough for me.
Location: just few steps and you are on the Haad Yao beach. Which is very quite and good for families or if you are looking for some relaxing days. If you want to go around than better rent a bike or you have to take everytime a taxi which costs you e.g to Thongsala 150 baht (hotel taxi) or 200 baht with Songthaews..
At the beach are some bars/restaurants. But I prefered the food at the High life restaurant.
I tried almost all vegetarian dishes and I liked it all. Close to the beach is a 7-11 shop and a Minimarket.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MrsGlobetrotter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    130
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
45
187
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

After reading some bad reviews of this place I was a bit sceptical about the 10 night stay we'd booked over Christmas and New Year. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly but had limited English. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. We stayed in a basic bungalow which was clean with everything we needed. The shower wasn't great, it was warm but not very powerful. The linen and towels were clean and when we left our key for the room to be cleaned this was done to a good standard. The pool is clean with a great view over the bay. The steps down to the beach are steep but this was never an issue. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. The resort seems well run and organised despite that the resort was at full capacity. Nothing was an issue. Haad Yao is a great spot. Beautiful beach with many great bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is disgusting. I have been here for one night. The service has been awful, no apologies, no basic amenities. Superior room, no where even to hang a towel, no hairdryer, no coffee making facilities. No apologies from staff. For 3000 baht a night, this is not acceptable. We have been here for one night and will not stay any longer. We are looking for elsewhere and a refund. We have been sworn at and my fiancée feels intimidated at the breakfast table. The word sorry is not even in the vocabulary. They have our money and now they are not interested. The staff seem to hunt in packs, it usually takes 2 or 3 to take an order. It is such a shame because this place could be amazing!! Would I return? No. Is it putting me off Thailand? If this was my first time then I would say yes but I know that the majority of this country and it's people are much nicer than this.

Room Tip: The sea view is a bit hit and miss. Take your own hairdryer, kettle, lamp. This is not the place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saladan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here with 17 of my friends and family for 5 nights. We had a BLAST!
The staff were very nice and helpful. The waiting staff were lovely and nothing was a hassle.

We organised our taxi transfer with them to the Full Moon Party and our onward travel to Koh Samui.

I stayed in a Standard Bungalow with Sea View room- it was HUGE with a nice big bed. The sea view was lovely.

I saw the Garden view bungalows my friends were staying in - they were really nice too. Some had rather ladder-like stairs to them but that was ok for our people. Air con was amazing.

Standard Bungalow with Garden View - had huge beds with an unnecessary 10 cm wooden boarder around the bed. Nice but with that boarder it made the rooms seem slightly smaller.

The Deluxe Superior rooms were lovely aswell! Although there was not much difference between this room and the Standard Bungalow with seaview - just that the Deluxe had a bath on the balcony and a 'sitting area'. Still VERY nice and modern.

Down the stairs to what we all collectively thought was the best beach on the island! Ko Ma was a nice beach aswell and is only 20mins on a scooter from our place.

Highly recommend this place but they do make you work off some of the yummy food going up all those stairs.

Room Tip: In my opinion go with the Standard Bungalow with Sea View - R11 or A15 in particular were the ones w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Some of the seaview bungalows have a lovely view, but we went with the deluxe (paying extra) and had a tiny view of water in between the roofs of bungalows in front of us. The room itself was nice/basic but the bathroom was not equipped with shower curtain, toilet paper or any typical amenities. The managers are gruff and just interested in the bottom dollar, and the main problem is just that -- they don't seem to care if your stay is enjoyable. The food was subpar and you are not allowed to bring food or drinks by the pool. They will not lend you towels to be used at the beach. There is a note that you will be charged for stained items in order to replace them, but every item in our place had stains on it so presumably they're charging people and then continuing to use the items. We didn't use the cleaning service while we were there because the setup was unsafe. You drop your key with the reception in the morning, and after the room is cleaned they hang it on a wall in an area that is unattended so anyone could access it. The waiters and the woman who rents the motorbikes are all pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritaaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is very nice, beautiful views on the beach and on the sea, the swimming pool is also very pleasant! The service was ok but could be better. Just don't go there during November, because of the monsoon...!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This place has very noce rooms with a special view on hay yao beach but if you don't like stairs this is not your place!and if you have kids don't go there!
We arrived after a long day and they have us a room on the top of the hill!with two little kids was so hard.the day after we asked to change room and they let us.but then we realized that to go on the beach there were steep stairs!so hard!
Moreover the stairs are not accessible if the sea is choppy and the tide is up!we almost lost our camera and the kids got so scared!
The staff was not friendly,we felt unwelcome there.when we told them we wanted to leave they did not want to refund us.they did it at the end but they kept 50 euro.we moved to sandy bay bungalows,just on the beach and it turned to be a great choice!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.9 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#14 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
6.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#16 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life Bungalow Resort

Property: High Life Bungalow Resort
Address: 59/2 - M8, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Life Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing