We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Life Bungalow Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The rooms are amazing and the prices are really ok! The staff is really helpfull!
The only downside is that its really far from Haad Rin, so if you wish to party its gonna cost you a few extra bahts to get there by taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julialcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the previous bad reviews I have come to the conclusion that most of these are made up! The staff here could not do enough for you. The food is superb!! We have tried eating elsewhere but so far highlife do the best Thai green curry soup I have tasted. We have been here 3 nights so far and have extended to another 3 nights as nothing else matches up. We are staying in one of the new sea view villas. The room is perfect and well worth the £50 per night. The place has a really relaxed traveler vibe to it. Not too many English people which in some ways is a shame when you are sociable people like we are. We love a good natter!! Contrary to a previous review we enjoyed food by the pool and we were given extra towels to use by the pool also. Yes there is a bit of wildlife around but hey, we are in Thailand and that is the same wherever you go in Thailand! If you want quirky, a great vibe and chilled, then the highlife is for you! Get yourself over here its paradise!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at highlife bungalows for 3 nights, place is in a lovely setting over looking the beach, rooms are lovely ( only problem- only one plug in the whole room) restaurant was nice with good food and staff were happy to help. The pool was fantastic. Would definitely come back :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rubycox28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Let me start with the positives. This resort is located on a cliff by the ocean. It has amazing view sod the sea and a walk down the stairs to a very nice beach. The location is the best part of this place. The restaurant was also amazing. The food was fresh and fantastic.

The rooms itself were a little dated and not very clean. the patio chairs and hammock were full of dust and mold and thoroughly unusable. The paths to the rooms can a climb. The path to the resort it self is down a steep path. Lot of mosquitos and lizards outside the room, so you have the shut the door right behind you without letting them in.

The management itself was rude and they couldn't care less. They just wanted their payment and didn't care about your comfort or issues. They hold your passport hostage if you want to rent a bike. Even though we stayed at the resort, they still wanted our passport.That seemed to be the trend all over the island for most things. They were all ganged up and charge exorbitant rates knowing that you didn't have a choice. We did not face that in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After reading some bad reviews of this place I was a bit sceptical about the 10 night stay we'd booked over Christmas and New Year. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly but had limited English. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. We stayed in a basic bungalow which was clean with everything we needed. The shower wasn't great, it was warm but not very powerful. The linen and towels were clean and when we left our key for the room to be cleaned this was done to a good standard. The pool is clean with a great view over the bay. The steps down to the beach are steep but this was never an issue. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. The resort seems well run and organised despite that the resort was at full capacity. Nothing was an issue. Haad Yao is a great spot. Beautiful beach with many great bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is disgusting. I have been here for one night. The service has been awful, no apologies, no basic amenities. Superior room, no where even to hang a towel, no hairdryer, no coffee making facilities. No apologies from staff. For 3000 baht a night, this is not acceptable. We have been here for one night and will not stay any longer. We are looking for elsewhere and a refund. We have been sworn at and my fiancée feels intimidated at the breakfast table. The word sorry is not even in the vocabulary. They have our money and now they are not interested. The staff seem to hunt in packs, it usually takes 2 or 3 to take an order. It is such a shame because this place could be amazing!! Would I return? No. Is it putting me off Thailand? If this was my first time then I would say yes but I know that the majority of this country and it's people are much nicer than this.

Room Tip: The sea view is a bit hit and miss. Take your own hairdryer, kettle, lamp. This is not the place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saladan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here with 17 of my friends and family for 5 nights. We had a BLAST!
The staff were very nice and helpful. The waiting staff were lovely and nothing was a hassle.

We organised our taxi transfer with them to the Full Moon Party and our onward travel to Koh Samui.

I stayed in a Standard Bungalow with Sea View room- it was HUGE with a nice big bed. The sea view was lovely.

I saw the Garden view bungalows my friends were staying in - they were really nice too. Some had rather ladder-like stairs to them but that was ok for our people. Air con was amazing.

Standard Bungalow with Garden View - had huge beds with an unnecessary 10 cm wooden boarder around the bed. Nice but with that boarder it made the rooms seem slightly smaller.

The Deluxe Superior rooms were lovely aswell! Although there was not much difference between this room and the Standard Bungalow with seaview - just that the Deluxe had a bath on the balcony and a 'sitting area'. Still VERY nice and modern.

Down the stairs to what we all collectively thought was the best beach on the island! Ko Ma was a nice beach aswell and is only 20mins on a scooter from our place.

Highly recommend this place but they do make you work off some of the yummy food going up all those stairs.

Room Tip: In my opinion go with the Standard Bungalow with Sea View - R11 or A15 in particular were the ones w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.9 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
683 reviews
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#22 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life Bungalow Resort

Address: 59/2 - M8, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 413 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £22 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Life Bungalow Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your High Life Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing