We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, dirty pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Life Bungalow Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Planned to stay here 4 nights but only stayed 1. When we arrived we had to wait 20 mins to check in. There were 4/5 staff memebers around but we had to wait for a guy to arrived just to open a book which was on the desk so we could sign. Dont see why. No apology for the delay. Room was basic. Door did not close fully. Restaurant has nice view of bay. We looked at pool but area around it was dirty so we went down to beach instead. There a pack of dogs tried to attack us and there was a dead fish on the beach. Not hotels fault but seen as pool appeared dirty it left nowhere to go and relax. Next morning went down to reception and all they said was "u are leaving right?" in a tone which implied get out of the room. It was 8.30. we did not stay for breaky as a result. Its a pity the staff were so unfriendly as it could be a nice hotel if they were more friendly and they cleaned up the pool area. Their loss as they missed out on 4 more nights. We found a much nicer hotel up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in peak season.
On arrival the surrounding gardens and view of the beach blew us away, it's tucked in the hill leading down to the beach, really beautiful!
The front of house is run by a family and it shows as the welcome is warm and friendly.
We had a sea view room which I'd recommend. The garden rooms are equally as lovely and a little cheaper. If you go for a sea view room ask for one with a beach view also as ours was situated just behind the ones on the front that meant we had a view of other bungalows just before we could see the sea itself.
The food here was great. Every person is catered for. I'm vegetarian and struggle with this park to the world however every dish came with a tofu option meaning I had loads of choice.
The beach is a short walk down the steps from the resort. This is sometimes a real killer in the heat as it is very steep, however worth the walk as it gets you a view above and over the beautiful beach of Haad Yao.
We chose to add the food and room bill together and pay at the end. Each room has an account book where you make note of your food, drinks and taxi bills to pay at the end. This is great as we kept note of everything we were spending. They are very trusting and calculated our final bill with this which was a really nice touch.
The bungalow came with its own balcony, air con and tv with international stations on it, this came in handy when we had a bit of a holiday tummy and wanted to rest pin the cool room.
My only complaint was the bathroom that is a wet room but doesn't have an incline to the drain which meant we were constantly walking over a wet floor.
All in all I'd reccoment this as it's great value compared to others I've stayed in on the island.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view and ask for one over=looking the beach also to get an uninterrupted view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We absolutely loved High Life. It was our favourite hotel of the trip. The staff were so professional, and the location is perfect. The beach is beautiful and offers a variety of dining options. The pool at High Life is the best I have ever seen, and we spent hours lazing around and soaking up the sun. The team were friendly and quick to help, whether it be with a drinks order or organising a tour. High Life offers incredible value for money. I still can't believe they offer a piece of heaven for a very affordable price! We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay up until our last night. The location was nice and the view was stunning. However on our last full day we asked for our laundry to be done since they offered the service. It was supposed to be 50 baht a kilo but we were charged 120 baht for a small plastic bag of clothes. Once i went through the clothes, none of them were clean and two tank tops were destroyed. The first we had just bought a couple days before, white, and it had a nasty yellow tinge. The second had bled all over itself even though i had washed it throughout a year and never had that result. When i brought it up to the manager(?) and the lady who had washed them, they laughed at me and said the stains were there already. Ruined the whole place for us, we will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessybear6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in one of their new sea view bungalows which was huge. Well equipped with lovely balcony overlooking the beach. Restaurant very good choice and very reasonable. The pool has amazing outlook over the beach. Would recommend to anyone wanting a chilled out relaxing stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at High Life. The first thing that struck us was the endless pool with a ocean view, amazing!
The restaurant/bar is adorable and the view over the beach is the best. The food is very good and we ate almost all our meals at the hotel!
We got the cheapest bungalow and it was really nice, big panorama windows, garden view, tv and wifi. Everything you need!:)
There is no downside to this hotel except that if you want to party and go shopping you have to take a taxi to the town. It costs 150bath one way.
But it's a nice and quiet family-hotel with a really nice and secluded beach!
Note: They keep a book where they wright down everything you eat during your stay, and every Friday you have to pay for your food. It's a really good and easy system except it makes it really easy to overspend and order loads of food and to not think of it as money. Especially for me: I looove food! Lots of it! Haha :)
We definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The view is amazing from the restaurant and the lounge area. Once you sit there, you dont want to leave...
The whole place is very relaxed, nice place to chill out
We have stayed 3 night, 1 night in a garden view bungallow, 2 nights in a sea view one. The garden view is very good value for money, but the view in the second one is well worth the price

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zpapai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.9 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
571 reviews
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life Bungalow Resort

Address: 59/2 - M8, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 396 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £20 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Life Bungalow Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your High Life Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing