We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place - really good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salad Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salad Hut Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place - really good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights at Salad Hut bungalows. Having read all the comments about the noisy children and arriving to find out they were true, we were a bit freaked out to begin with (and we even travel with kids ourselves!). We had a bungalow facing the pool (oh the noise!) and we asked to be moved. Since the place was fully booked, we were offered to move around in three different bungalows throughout our stay. It may seems like a hazzle but it wasn't really. We stayed for two nights at room M2 (large room with "mountain view - balcony facing away from the beach), two nights at one of the large bungalows directly on the beach (nice but some noise at night) and three nights at a corner bungalow (number 7) with garden and a bit of sea view. All rooms were nice, comfortable and clean. The staff really went out of their way to make us happy and comfortable and we really appreciated their efforts!

So we ended up having the best time here! The place is family run and since both the service and the food were really good, we ended up having most of our meals here. Really excellent food and very reasonably priced. The restaurant is busy every night and there are loads of kids running around. Well, there is. Breakfast is nice with 5 different choices (american, continental, homemade yoghurt and fruitsalad, homemade pancake with banana or coconut or oatmeal porridge). All served with fresh fruit shakes and coffee/tea. Everything is homemade and really tasty.

The beach is just lovely! We stayed during low tide month (July) so water was shallow and clear with many fish swimming around. In the afternoon the water rose a bit which made it easier to swim. Okay, maybe not swim as much as just relax in the water ;-)

The resort is far away from the drunk backpackers and full moon parties so if that is what your come to Koh Phangan for, stay somewhere else. If you come to relax at a cosy place with a nice beach (and you can live with a few noisy kids), this place is the best you can find!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janefaerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    70
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
163
100
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Me and my friend just spent a week at this place. I really liked it. We stayed in room number 7 and the view wasn't good but the room was so spacious and clean with incredible comfortable queen beds (2 of them!). The place is small but has a real thai feeling. The bungalows surround the pool which is small but good enough. It's a small hotel with only 10 bungalows I think. We went for some walks around the beach and this place was by far the best, the other hotels weren't that nice at all, salad hut is a cosy place, with an awesome restaurant and beautiful view of the north side of the beach. We found the south bit quite ugly actually, they put some plastic beanbags as a high tide protection. Anyway, what I can say is that the week we stayed, salad hut looked way more alive and fun than all the other places.
The children... Many families with children. We were lucky and shared the week with some lovely families, we even ended up playing with the kids. But if you are looking for a romantic getaway I wouldn't recommend this place. It's hard to relax with so many screams of happiness and some no so much :) the last day a new family arrived with whinging kids, and we were happy we were not staying, so keep in mind this factor.
The staff was nice, but not over the top nice, we felt sometimes as if they were angry, but it could be just a cultural or language differences.
One last important thing, the tide goes really low so forget about swimming freely in this beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is beautiful, lovely huts all with private balcony and hammock mostly sea facing. Good finishes inside can't complain about that. One thing lets this place down and that is the pool is rendered unusable If you want to relax as it has been taken over by families with young children, making it a children's pool.
It's not too much hassle to go to the beach which is right in front of you, however afternoon snoozes in your hammock are out and you need to move down the beach for some peace and quiet. Screaming children and worse parents that think you think that their offspring is the most important thing in the world, with bad behaviour and no manners.
If you are one of those parents then this is the place for you.
Otherwise I would find other huts further away on this secluded and somewhat remote beach which means it's great for a couple of days but a week would drive you mental unless you are willing to drive or bike it every night.
I'm not a party animal but I am a foodie and I found the food at the on site restuarant here below par as I'm well travelled in Thailand and they seem to have adjusted the authentic meals to suit English tastes.
All in all a couple of nights is bearable, if you have a young family you'll love it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was such a relaxing vacation. We were picked up at the airport and transferred to the ferry then from the ferry to the hotel with ease and comfort. We were greeted by a well trained and friendly staff who made our stay all the more enjoyable throughout.

You can doze your days away at the beachfront pool or go kayaking with one of the complimentary kayaks. The restaurant was great and the best on the entire beach. We searched out comparisons on Salad beach, but they all basically had the same menu. Everyone flocks to the Salad Hut restaurant though because they have the freshest food and such a lovely staff.

I highly recommend staying here. It's a great place for families, couples, or anyone looking to chill out for a while.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The mountain view rooms don't face the beach, but are spacious and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteandTahnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Have just returned from a 3 week trip to Thailand. We stayed in an expensive five star hotel in Bangkok, 3 x three and four star hotels in the south of Thailand and at the Salad Hut in Ko Phangan for six nights. The Salad Hut was classed as a three star hotel but it should really be rated higher. It was so perfect and was the most enjoyable and relaxing stay of our entire trip. Haad Salad is located on the other side of the island from the main towns and has as quiet and remote, cut-off from reality feel to it. The staff were fabulous, ever smiling, helpful and accomodating, speaking good english. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was large, comfy and firm, but not too hard. The aircon was superpowerful. The hotel is shoe-free and there are cute foot baths everywhere to keep the floor sand free. There are only 10 bungalows which gives it an intimate feel. Numbers 9 (for a couple) and 10 (for a family) are best. The tropical gardens are lush. We do not have children and there were families with children, but most were well behaved and not a problem. The hotel is right on the gorgeous beach but the seafloor is a little rocky directly outside the hotel. However if you walk just 50 metres along the beach, the waters are turquoise, shallow, calm and warm, with the softest of sand underfoot. It was also never busy - ever. We visited all of the other beachfront hotels and their restaurants and the Salad Hut is by far the best. The food was delicious and had a huge choice of local and european food. Breakfast was good. The infinity pool is not large but as most people are at the beach, it is more than sufficient to cool down in and there is a small children's swim area under the infinity overflow which the kids seemed to love. I cannot praise this hotel enough. Do not bother looking at other hotels. Book now - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psbenjamin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I think this is the nicest hotel on one of the most beautiful beaches in Koh Phangan. The restaurant is nice but a bit pricey compared to other places along the beach. The breakfast (included) was generous and tasty. There are plenty of families (like us) so if you are looking for peace and solitude, it may get interrupted by screaming kids jumping into the pool. The swimming pool, which faces the beach, is small but a great feature. The hotel offers a reasonably priced pickup from the pier, but if your boat is late (as ours was) they will not wait for you. This was a bit of a disappointing way to start our stay there, but just a minor complaint. The staff is super efficient, polite and their attention to cleanliness is very impressive. We had a wonderful stay and would love to go back again.

Room Tip: We shared the large family bungalow (not beachfront) and it was perfect for our family of 2 adults a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourbigtrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Vedbæk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Salad hut for 12 days and in the end we had the feeling of a very short stay. Really a nice place in every way. The only thing on the negative side is the many families with smal children With very few bungalows and 3 - 4 families with children it makes sometimes a very i noisy atmosphere,
The restaurant service is excellent and the staff pays attention to your whishes

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#32 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#27 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Hut Bungalows

Property: Salad Hut Bungalows
Address: 61 / 3 m.8, Haad Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 353 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Hut Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Hut is located on the tranquil Northwest coast of Koh Phangan island on beautiful Haad Salad , an ideal beach for family with children or honeymooners. Its white , soft sand and crystal clear blue sea at Haad Salad will make your holidays just perfect! You can lay down on the beach , snorkeling around or reading all day long. Haad Salad is quiet but not isolated , as there are shops , restaurants , yoga studios , diving schools and other activities offer enough to explore. Salad Hut features 10 exclusive traditional Thai cottages with timbered floor. All cottages have stunning views of beautiful Haad Salad Beach from big veranda and decorated with handmade wooded furniture with a hammock , the great sea view and lushly tropical garden surroundings. Just a few steps to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Salad Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Hut Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing