We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday jan 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just returned from Thailand, and spent 17 days at this resort.
We found the staff were very friendly.We were nice to them, and they were nice to us.
Rented a scooter for the 17 days. The resort is a couple of kilometres out of Thongsala, so you should rent a bike.Make sure that you mark any damage down on the rental form. There is no insurance, and you will be held responsible for any damage. The road conditions and driving skills are terrible, and most visitors were young people, with lots of drinking and driving, with resulting accidents. I returned my scooter with no penalty.
The bungalows were comfortable, and equipped for a max of 3 people.
It is not a luxury resort. Most visitors were younger backpackers, there for a couple of days.
The resort should have more loungers and shades available.
The food was good, especially the barbeque, and the price was reasonable.
The cost wasn't too bad, 1200 baht, but the rate for the peak time was excessive.
We had a great time.
Doug & Annie [MAMMA & PAPA]

Room Tip: choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Don't stay here. Mamasan is rude and grotesque. Restaurant overpriced. Food is crap. Very noisy rooms. Don't rent a motorbike...you will be made to pay for imaginary damage. Don't stay here! Owners and staff not only failed "Customer Service 101", but also "How to Just be a Kind of Nice Person"

Room Tip: Choose a room on the other side of the island, in another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabass2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Pros- ok beach, decent sized bungalow, fair price (1200b), amenities available.
Cons- grumpy owner lady, up charge for extras, kind of isolated off road, English speaking travel agent booked us ferry to koh Tao ... Took our money - charged us 150B for ride to ferry each ... When taxi is 100. She claimed all ferries were full until that night... don't know if she wanted us to stay longer and spend more money?? I specifically asked about the company we came on and she tried to sway me away from them a few times. Then she said it was full. I searched online and found it had plenty of seats. Basically she lied to us to book with a different company. If you stay there I would watch your back when purchasing services such as renting scooter ... Be sure to check every scratch and mark or take pics as they will nail you.

Otherwise it was great

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me and my friend stayed there on december. Unfortunately late planning lead us to stay there due to full booking of other good hotels. It is very expensive hotel offering no service at all. They would change towels only if we ask them. The room was poor with 2 uncomfortable beds. No fridge. Not to mention that we booked the hotel price online and after they contact us to add a gala charging us extra costs. Although it is an overal bad experience the only good thing was the food at the beach bar and sometimes the music.

Room Tip: The bangalows are the worse maybe the hotel rooms are better who knows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Do not hire scooters from them. they will make you pay for one scratch that's been there and will threaten you with your passport. Most rudest people to deal with. they will rip you off with overpriced accommodation and no hot water. the 5 days we spent there no one even bothered to clean our room. Disappointment written ALL over.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank shaan2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My friends and I got talked into staying here by a tout whilst getting off the ferry. We were told that the room would comfortably fit 5-6 people. We got there and our room only had 1 double and one single bed, not exactly room for us all! We then later discovered we were not nearly as close to, well, anything as we'd been told! Within about 30 minutes of being there a member of staff came round to our room, to try sell us drugs. Things got worse when waiting for food alone in the restaurant (which had notoriously bad service) I dropped so money out my purse. Another guest noticed and passed it to me, then the waiter came over shouting at me that it was his money and I'd stole it for him. After standing my ground and arguing with him for a while, he tried to grab my purse off me! I left without my food, mainly as I was scared as to what extra might be in it following this. After this happened I didn't feel like I could leave any of my valuables at the hotel, so decided I'd be safer taking them with me to the full moon party!
I would avoid this place like the plague!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CoolCatS458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and the staff were not very friendly. Two staff were decent the one who picked us up and lent the scooter otherwise it was not worth it. Food wasn't the greatest either! Would recommend staying elsewhere and paying the same if not less!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Dewshore Resort
Dewshore Resort
#110 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
161 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar
6.1 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £23 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing