We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely terrible!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phangan Great Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Koh phangan
1 review
“Absolutely terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Never stayed in a worse place in my life! Awful staff, awful food, no room cleaning for the whole 8 days we were there! No toilet roll, no clean towels, no clean sheets, rude staff! Charged for imaginary damage to the motorbike which was already there! I can't stress how much nobody should ever stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12303386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Please let us respond to this review to say your stay was very good, and we enjoyed having you, until the end. You were happy to stay here 2 weeks and no complaint. As you choose your holiday to party in the night and sleep in the day is of course ok but please you cannot expect cleaning service to be open in the night when you get up. Toilet rolls and towels are always available when asked. The bike was written off and had to be shipped to the mainland, this is not imaginary and unfortunately is not free, this was an upsetting end for everyone to your stay. We can never stress enough to tourists that scooters can be dangerous and always warn people to drive safely. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    39
    32
    104
See reviews for
7
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The first guy that approached us on the harbour and gave us a really great deal convinced us to stay here (we had no plans for where to stay at this stage). So we went with him to Phangan Bay Resort.. The taxi there was 50THB per person at a discounted cost of half price. The rooms were a great price and had a/c, hot water and tv. They were big rooms and had enough space and beds for 3 of us to stay in one room for 4 nights, It's located right on the beach front but just a short 2 minute walk to the Main Street where all the nightlife and shops are. The booking office located at the resort is super handy for getting help and a ticket to your next location!! Also the scooter hire is fantastic!! Great food at the restaurant and the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming!! If you want to stay somewhere peaceful but close to the activities then this resort is perfect!! It's also a great family environment. If your looking for luxury on a budget then I highly recommend this resort!! I will definitely be staying here again :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

You wouldn't believe Thailand was known as the land of smiles after staying here, the staff are so sour faced and rude constantly (with the exception of Nong who was wonderful, always smily and chatty, he was definitely the best thing about this hotel). The room was decent, good size, only problem was the shower never got warm. Housekeeping was slack, had to constantly ask for toilet roll and towels. Wouldn't stay again but solely due to the miserable staff!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Lahti, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Resort next to the close to the beach and has nice pool for relaxing, staff was nice in general. You are not allowed to take food in your room?

Big disappointment came from scooter renting, we rented scooter for one day and we told that we must return it next day since we leave next morning. We were told that scooter can be returned before 9pm and we had to pay for just one day. Next day we were told that the scooter is only for 24 hours and we had to pay for two days even though it was not yet 9pm. The 24 hour rule would make sense but since we were told to return the scooter at 9pm it didn't make sense. I talked in phone with the owner or something and she was yelling that no one else has had a problem with that, what do I care? She is the one who started the confusion. It is hard to sum it all up in short review but that really sucked. I have never had such a problem with renting a scooter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are sorry that you feel like this when the staff were very attentive and apologised profusely. The only available action was taken to find you a new room on the discovery of the problem. The bed was removed the next day and replaced by a totally new bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Getting off of the pier, we took the first man that approached us up on his offer for this resort with bungalows and a pool for 1000 baht per night for 4 people (we were here in the off season). First the resort and rooms seemed like a great value. Then our first room's air con did not work. We asked to move rooms and were happy for several hours in the second room until going to bed and found BEDBUGS. The reception desk was closed except for one worker who immediately called his manager. We could not switch hotels because it was after 11 and all the front offices were closed, so we agreed to stay in another room for the night which had enough beds for 3 people (there were 4 of us). The next morning, the manager refused to refund us any money for the poor experience or the fact that we will now have to pay to clean our luggage. She was very rude. Terrible service and I doubt that they will take much effort to clean the room for the next guests. I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room had bed bugs. The resort would not refund our money and tried to accuse us of bringing the them in. The staff was rude when we approached them about the problem, took no responsibility, and do not appear to be doing anything to get rid of the bed bugs for future guests.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are sorry that you feel like this when the staff were very attentive and apologised profusely, be assured that you were never accused of bringing them in! The only available action was taken to find you a new room on the discovery of the problem. The bed was removed the next day and replaced by a totally new bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the port and they had touts there that told us the rooms/bungalows are 800baht a night both same price, with TV and aircon, we can choose what we want when we arrive. Sounded good so we jumped in their van that cost us 100baht for two of us to get there. When we arrived they said the bungalows were now 1000baht a night and all the rooms were full. Because we were tired we were going to bite the bullet and just stay one night and then find something else in our budget. They said if we stay one night the price will be 1500baht!! So ridiculous. Anyway we weren't in any mood to look for anything else because the hotel is a far walk to the main street so we just stayed the two nights. When we left we asked for a ride to go the to the port, they then charged us 200baht, Wow, price doubled over 2 days. The rooms were nice but unhappy with the way they got us there. We had cheeper offers at the port but decided to come here. Sorry guys but bad customer service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to comment for us and bring this to our attention. Firstly our apologies for your bad experience. All touts are given our correct prices and should relay these to all customers before bringing them to resort. We will speak to the touts about this issue but they are not staff of the resort however we do not wish this to happen again. It seems that the tout gave you a discounted taxi on arrival and then you paid the standard taxi charge on the island on your departure. We are glad that you did enjoy the resort once here though! Kind Regards, PhanganGreatBay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#17 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Residence
Sunshine Residence
#189 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#13 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#11 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#12 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#50 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Property: Phangan Great Bay Resort
Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing