We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse resort ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Its the worst resort i've stay at. My friend and i were staying there for a night and didn't realize how bad this place is.
The rudest staff ever! Everything is dirty, there was no sheets on the beds, cocroaches everywhere, there was mould in all over the room. Pool was so dirty u could not go for a swim.
Staff treat you like they are doing you a huge favour letting you stay in that horrible place!
Do not ever stay there!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mipirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Do not go to this place. The touts are paid to send you there. The service is terrible and the rooms are over priced. Do yourself a favor and go to the other side of the island where there are beautiful beaches and lovely people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahlia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this resort. Our first impression was quiet good because the Tool was really okay but then we met the staff. They were the unfriendliest staff we met during our three weeks in thailand.
We rented a motorbike and it took us at least one hour because they worked so slowly and in the end they forgot That we were waiting all the time.
So a no-go!!!! Never ever again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Great Bay Resort for one night after we were approached by a lady at the pier who works for them and drove us there.
On first arrival it seemed good enough, at this point we had not looked at any other hotels. We paid 500 baht each for a room near the beach.
Our room was clean but not to the normal standard you would expect. Our chair had blood stained marks on it and when I pointed this out to the cleaner she just smiled at me. The bed sheets also had UV paint on them, obviously from the full moon party. The aircon in the room however was superb.
The small pool outside was also very clean.
We had lunch at the hotels restaurant upon arrival, the food was good but slightly overpriced.
Moreover, breakfast was not included.
The staff were friendly enough and didn't cause us any hassle.
We had a lovely massage by the beach too.
We walked further up the beach and found another hotel to stay at which cost almost the same price for both of us. It included breakfast, the staff were super friendly and our room was large and stunning. A lot better value for money.
If the Great Bay resort lowered it's prices perhaps peoples expectations wouldn't be so high and therefore less people will feel let down. This may also draw more customers to the resort. Perhaps this is something to consider.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had a really good time at Great bay. Got some problems at an other hotel when we arrived (agency from Bangkok didn't send the money so no room) and the manager at great bay had been so helpful, we got our money back from Bangkok! Even if she was in a rush for full moon, she took time for us wich was really appreciated. Really nice view, cool people, 10mins from full moon beach.. and you guys gotta go to that Eden Garden party on Saturdays, it's insane!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valoudion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing was the staff from the restaurant that was a little bit rude and have difficulties to understand english. Otherwise, really nice Hotel with good atmosphere and nice staff and facilities

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Never stayed in a worse place in my life! Awful staff, awful food, no room cleaning for the whole 8 days we were there! No toilet roll, no clean towels, no clean sheets, rude staff! Charged for imaginary damage to the motorbike which was already there! I can't stress how much nobody should ever stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,303,386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Please let us respond to this review to say your stay was very good, and we enjoyed having you, until the end. You were happy to stay here 2 weeks and no complaint. As you choose your holiday to party in the night and sleep in the day is of course ok but please you cannot expect cleaning service to be open in the night when you get up. Toilet rolls and towels are always available when asked. The bike was written off and had to be shipped to the mainland, this is not imaginary and unfortunately is not free, this was an upsetting end for everyone to your stay. We can never stress enough to tourists that scooters can be dangerous and always warn people to drive safely. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
4.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phangan Cottages
Phangan Cottages
#188 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 413 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £22 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing