We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious brunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vida Cafe

Pura Vida Cafe
Ranked #8 of 354 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Portuguese, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
españa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The restaurant is very close to the beach to one of the best beaches in the island, Haad Yao. We had really good sandwiches and they served them quickly!! Everyone who works there is so nice, so I would highly recommend it if you are in the area!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spanierss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunopalmeirim, Manager at Pura Vida Cafe, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi. It was nice to meet you, thalk Portanhol :) thanks for your review. see you again maybe :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    27
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annoying to be ripped off by Europeans”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had breakfast here 2 days ago, really excited to find a place with real coffee right on the beach where we were staying. Coffee was excellent and we also ordered a toasted sandwich. When it arrived it wasn't really toasted, the bread wasn't even hot and the cheese inside still cold from the fridge. Asked to have it toasted a bit longer, no problem it came back still a little underdone but ok. Imagine our surprise when on the bill we were charge extra for having the toasted sandwich actually toasted! So to the sweet Portuguese girls who opened this little cafe, you are not going to succeed if you try and cheat people! Charge extra for extras, not to line your pockets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunopalmeirim, Proprietário at Pura Vida Cafe, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry if the toast was not good on the first time, But saying that you where ripped is not fare, Because in our menu we have ham and cheese Sandwich for 90b and on next line we have extra for tosted is 20b.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A little gem on an island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I was recommended to have breakfast here by someone I was staying with. And wow, the food is amazing. It kept me coming almost every day for a week. Especially as it is so reasonable price as well. The staff are also so friendly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liambryan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunopalmeirim, Manager at Pura Vida Cafe, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
:) thanks a lot, this reviews means a lot. Hope see you again. Big kiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful Staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I cant speak high enough of this fabulous place. The food is fantastic. The 3 people who work there are from Portugal, and they are the friendliest people you could ever meet.
The food is all home made, fresh and very reasonably priced too. The staff will talk to you for hours, and its also very handy for advice and tips. Try the coffee its the best I had in Thailand.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanty_largey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunopalmeirim, Gerente at Pura Vida Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello :) thank you bouth for the good reviews in tripadvisor. It was nice to meet you, hope see you again. All the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pura Vida - Love :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stumbled across this little cafe during a 5 day stay in Koh Phagnan. Food was freshly prepared and the little egg custard tart cakes are just simply gorgeous. We made very good friends with the owners who are portuguese. They always had time to have a chat and give advice about the area and where to go. Definitely a gem in Haad Yao :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jugz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunopalmeirim, Manager at Pura Vida Cafe, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi, when we see you again? Hope soon. Thanks a lot for the review, is was great. Big kiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pura Vida Cafe also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Pura Vida Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing