We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a great place!!”
Review of Mandalai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalai Hotel
Ranked #43 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 31 July 2008

It is impossible to write a review without using superlatives. If you are going there - I'm jealous! A perfect paradise with the friendliest welcome imaginable. The staff were incredibly helpful and warm. The beach is quiet and great for swimming. Chalokum is like nowhere else on the island and a world away from the hurly burly of Koh Samui. It is still a fishing community and as untouched by tourism as a place can be in the gulf of Thailand. We planned to stay for five nights, and eight days later the only thing calling us back were our flights! Ask for a sea fronted room (no. 8), fill the jacuzzi bath and enjoy this heavenly view. Superb food too.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marklongmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

This place was exactly what we were looking for and more. It's situated in Au Chaloklum, which is a relatively secluded bay, but not too secluded. The main street in Chaloklum has a few restaurants (none as good as Mandalai's own, which serves incredible food), a few dive shops, a couple internet cafes, a travel agency, a pharmacy, a 7-11, and an ATM - nothing extravagent, but all the essentials, and all within walking distance. While the shoreline, viewed from the water, is not the most spectacular on the island, the sand is perfect, and the water is bright blue and still. We were able to score a room for a little over 100 USD through agoda.com (I thinks it's normally 170 USD). While the standard price is out of my range, it's definitely worth it if you can afford it. The room was gorgeous. The beds were soft. Our room had a one-person jacuzzi. It was a fantastic place. One drawback for the younger crowd is that it's a long way from Haad Rin. However, it's really close to Haad Yao and Koh Ma. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThreeRsKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We booked this hotel through agoda.com (a priceline subsidiary). We wanted a somewhat secluded hotel where we wouldn't be pestered or overcrowded during the days on the beach, but could easily reach the nightlife on Koh Phangan. This hotel suited us perfectly. The beach this hotel is on has very few other hotels, and none as "big" as mandalai. That said, Mandalai is a 12 room boutique hotel. It is very new, and quite nice. Our room had a jacuzzi in it. The shower was large and enclosed. The entire room was extremely clean and well built (no cracking walls, mildew, etc). The lighting of the room was the nicest I've seen in any hotel in Asia. In other words, they really took the care to design the rooms very well, and they are well appointed. This is as close to 5* as you're likely to find on Koh Phangan. The service matched the rooms as well. The front desk was very helpful with whatever we needed. They helped us book a ferry ride, and when we missed our ferry, got us a taxi right away and got us a private speed boat to Samui so we wouldn't miss our flight. While the hotel is away (about 30 minutes) from the raucousness of Haad Rin, there is still everything you need within a 5 minute walk of Mandalai. This included a 7 Eleven, 2 internet Cafes, 3 scuba shops (we used Sail Rock scuba and recommend them), and a number of small shops. For our meals, we ate exclusively at our hotel for two reasons. The first is that every meal we ate at Mandalai was really good. Breakfast which was included for us was delicious. We also really liked the Penn with Prawns, which between 3 travelers we ordered 12 times in 5 days. The bruschetta and garlic bread were quite good as well. We didn't eat anything at Sheesha Restaurant (the hotel's restaurant) that we didn't like. The drinks at Sheesha were quite good as well. We should note our disappointment that while the restaurant is called Sheesha and they have Hookahs, they do not sell Hookah service, as the required molasses tobacco is now illegal in Thailand.

Pros:
Very nice rooms
Great service
Friendly staff
Great food
Beautiful beach and beautiful water

Cons:
Miniscule pool
Not much to do on the beach (that's what you get for wanting seclusion, and we were happy to make the trade off)

Overall, we were very satisfied with this hotel and would enthusiastically recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yada88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

this place is a gem!
in a really quiet place in chaklolum north west of koh phan gnan you will find this hotel
a small boutique hotel I could qualified as a 4 stars one
I was supposed to stay two days and stayed a week instead :)
the staff is brilliant always helping and so nice and smilling especially the charming hostess pop who will nearly speak french too!
I think a had the smallest room of the hotel into feet my budget but everything was so clean and decorated with a real good taste.
I will definitly come back but not alone because this hotel is just perfect for couples !
Hope been there again another time!
Thank you for all the kindness

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marilynefromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

What an amazing experience!
If you're looking for a quiet, elegant, small and classi place - this is the place. We stayed thier for 5 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it.
The room is big and comfurtable, with private jaccuzi in the room, amazing view to fisherman villege.
Great breakfest, ever to your room if you like. small and very nice swimming pool.
The stuff were very attentive and help in any way.
It's the perfect place for romantic, private vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pola1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We've just come back form thailand and I was a little doubtful about the mandalai as there were few reviews on trip advisor. Anyway we arrived at the hotel and from a boutique hotel I expected a little more to look at. however.... as soon as we set foot in room 7 I knew i'd booked the right place. The view was spectacular and the room was lovely... bed comfy, nice bathroom with really good adjustible lighting to set the atmosphere. Jacuzzi bath in the room with an amazing view again over the sea. Only thing i'd grumble about was the colour of the floor which was a weird mustard colour! Maybe i'm just boring and don't appreciate modern tastes. Anyway..... there is a bar/ restaurant with the hotel which is cool with day beds and some good cocktails. (Mas and Sak the barman and chef are great. We loved them!) David, one of the owners was extremely helpful and wants all guests to have a great time on the island so will tell you where to go and arrange whatever you want or need. the island is fab and we loved the laid back relaxed atmosphere. Chakolum is run down but typically Thai which we grew to love very quickly. It was great to see some proper Thailand that didn't totally rely on tourism. Beach isn't great but it really doesn't matter because the pool is nice but more importantly there are loads of beautiful beaches really close by! A very plesant and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sprodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Fabulous boutique hotel newly opened summer 2007. Mandelai is located in Chaloklum, a sleepy fisherman's village on the less crowded north side of Koh Phangan. The hotel itself, however, is ultra modern. All rooms come with fine bedlinen, large flat-screen TVs (endless DVD options to borrow from the front desk), modern bathroom fixtures, and other accoutrements. There is a tranquil pool and meals are served at the adjoining Sheesha lounge that overlooks the bay. Mandelai's owner and his staff are pleasant and focused on ensuring guests have a comfortable and memorable stay. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#47 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
3.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#40 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
518 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#23 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalai Hotel

Address: 61/1 Moo 7 Chaloklum Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £41 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalai, under new management has re-opened and was the first hip boutique hotel on the Island. The hotel is located in the heart of Koh Phangan's fisherman village in Chaloklum Bay. Superbly situated on the beach front enjoying spectacular sea views and surrounded by the necklace of mountains. Many outdoor activities are available. Restaurant and cafes can be found in the village and all over the island. Mandalai is a room only hotel catering for the full moon party clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mandalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalai Hotel Ko Phangan
Mandalai Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing