We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have been there for 5 nights. There are good and bad points.
The place is really quiet and peaceful, the room was big and the bathroom definitely the best I have found in thailand! The staff is nice, polite, and they speak english ;)
The price, not really cheap, does not included the service room (even if u book 5 nights!), we even had to ask the toilet paper..
The restaurant, not really cheap, has limited hours and at 9 pm everything is closed and the room does not have the fridge (if u need some water, think about it before!). Be careful to the dogs, I have no problem with.. but the first night when we came back in the night they welcome us really briskly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frefreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phangan_Rainbow, Owner at Phangan Rainbow Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi Freddy, thanks for your review. The points you raise are valid. The price you pay for the room dictates the level of service we provide. That's how we keep costs down. (You paid about $12 a night.). The restaurant is similarly priced with other small businesses nearby, but cheaper than many. (Our next door neighbour sells Pat Thai for 235 baht - which is over the top, ours is 95 baht, in the market you pay about 60 baht, but the street-stall serve is considerably smaller.) We stop serving food at 8 pm (not 9pm), as we are a family business, and need to wrap the days work up, We start the day before 7am. And yes my dogs are friendly, but brisk as you accurately put it.
These are good points for future customers to consider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place is amazing i miss it so much already! Its the most relaxing, tranquil peaceful place I've ever stayed. Really felt like we were in thailand. The whole place is well kept and beautiful, the rooms are clean and big. The location is great, not too close to haad rin 15 mins in a taxi for a small price! So its not noisy all night etc.... All the staff members are friendly and noy's cooking skills are wonderful, she even wrote us a recipe down we asked for. Martin is also very helpful with information about the island etc! Me and my friend stayed there in september and went to a black moon party which was luckily just round the corner from the bungalows....if you like dogs which i do, then youll love the guard dogs they are sweet and actually do guard which makes you feel safe! The food is cheap and soo tasty! Basically i highly recommend this place and would defiantly stay here again if i came to koh phangan. The only one thing i would suggest is get an air con room if your from a cold country like me (England) but the fan was fine too.

Jodie and Hollie
21
England :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This summer, I spent my second stay in Rainbow bungalows after having such a fantastic experience when I visited 2 years before. It is paradise! There is no other way to describe the place. It has its own beautiful beach and the beach huts you stay in give you plenty of privacy and they feel very safe. It feels so homely and Noy and Martin are both lovely. They make you feel right at home and are so helpful if you need any information. The food there is to die for - we ended up eating in every night! I could not recommend this place enough, I have never been to anywhere so fantastic and if I ever come back I will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Rainbow in July, the warm welcome by the owners Noy & Martin,it felt one was being welcomed to their home as opposed to being a paying guest. A truly relaxing place and the food, freshly prepared by Noy was always wonderful; can't wait for a return visit.
A special mention to "Pops" Noy's Dad, such a character,despite the language difficulties, his genuine warmth and goodness shone through like a beacon,we remember him with great fondness. Con & Sheila

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this place to anyone. Martin is a very friendly owner who knows all of his guests by first name. Food was spectacular and atmosphere perfect! Quite close to Haad Riin if you are going to Full moon party

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just spend about a week there and the place as well as the owners are absolutely lovely! The small resort is very pretty, a place to hang out and relax. The atmosphere is very familiar and you directly feel at home. The food is absolutely delucious and always freshly cooked. A fabulous spot to go and an extremly good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here only for 2 days, however the place is amazing. Owner, Martin, also picked us up at the pier the first day. When we arrived we were amazed by the view. We had a beach front bungalow, wow. The bungalows are also spacious and nice, there is only cold water, but it helps you to cool down after a hot day. All in all the place to be in Koh Pangan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
253 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
573 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#18 of 406 in Ko Pha Ngan
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#11 of 406 in Ko Pha Ngan
405 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,568 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#31 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Rainbow Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Rainbow Bungalows

Address: Bankai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Rainbow Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows, beautiful private bungalows on the beach. We have no dorms, no penniless hangers on, and no tacky triple x pool parties. We are not on the road... sorry, if that's how you roll! Our beach is awesome, located between Thongsala and Hadrin, just a stone's throw from all the action, but not too close! We have beautiful wood bungalows, well built to western standards. With a wonderful garden, on a quiet private beach, it's chilled when you want it, and can be wild when you want it! Our WiFi is commercial grade hotspot installation, and services the complete local area. We maintain top notch security, (which you don't get in many other places), with two pedigree and highly trained protection dogs. They will love you like family. We work hard to provide our guests with a really friendly, family vibe. Excellent value for money - one of the cheapest bungalow operations actually situated right on the beach! Nearly everyone rates our efforts favorably. We are top 3% across the board, out of all properties (650+) on Koh Phangan for price and service quality. Our prices do not change throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phangan Rainbow Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing