We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value to stay on a stunning beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value to stay on a stunning beach”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Its quite staggering to read some of the negative reviews of this resort. Its fairly basic, the rooms are simple but modern and clean. A few modern amenities - a TV, refrigerator, safe, swimming pool. But you're paying ~700 bahts (1000 for A/C) to stay on possibly one of the best beaches in Thailand!

If you want a 5 star resort stay at any of the numerous other places on this beach but be prepared to pay 3-4x the price. However if you're on a budget this represents incredible value. It is a 3 star hotel on a stunning beach surrounded by 5 star fancy resorts and guess what... everyone shares the beach!

Some people have mentioned the food isn't great, this is true but simply walk 100m down the beach for dozens of better options. Head another few hundred meters down the road and there are some fabulous restaurants.. jip and luna bar. Also head to indigo bar for a treehouse with hammocks where you can watch movies at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    31
    27
    20
    12
See reviews for
19
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here in a fan room which was large, clean, big bathroom, TV, fridge, free wifi, serviced daily and a large deck and clean swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was across a track but that was no issue at all but it did make for a barren environment. There were not many loungers but there was always some free when we wanted to use them and this was during high season. Breakfast was not included and at 250B we went elsewhere. We also ate there once, but food was average compared to the great choices you have in Noi. The room was good value at NZ$33 but unfortunately the fan was not over the bed so the room got unbearably hot at night. For AC it was double the price so for this reason when we returned we went to Thongtapan next door as in low season we got AC for same price as fan at Phuwadee.

Room Tip: get Ac room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We paid an extra 300baht for the room with A/C. When we first checked in it was working, when we came back from a late dinner (around 11:30pm) it wasnt working. We tried absolutely everything to fix it but it just wouldnt work, so we went to the front desk several times throughout the night because we were SO hot and couldnt sleep, but no one was there. It miraculously turned on at exactly 7:40am. We did nothing.
We asked for our money back, and after an hour of arguing we got no where. They accused us of lying and being cheap. They said that there was no way that they could control the A/C. HOWEVER, directly after this we took a walk around our room and found a box on the outside that had the on/off switch to the A/C.

No money back, no free breakfast. These people were absolutely horrendous. Oh and the bathroom was infested with ants.

Recommendation: Check out Bottle Beach Resort. Its a beach further North on Koh Phangan, super secluded and amazing people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathirwinirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Llangybi, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at this resort in February 2012 as we were attending a wedding nearby. We arrived at the port, on the other side of the island with prebooked transport by road. The driver collected two of us from the ferry then told us he was waiting for the next ferry and we would have to wait. We hung around for 20 minutes but whoever he was expecting did not materialise. He then transferred us to another taxi with a couple going to a different resort. The road was poor and deteriorated as we got nearer to the resort. Eventually at the entrance to the resort, the ruts were so large, that the driver gave up so we had to lug our own luggage into the resort. At the end of our stay, some friends who were leaving with a group had their luggage put on top of the vehicle. There had been some rain and the ruts turned into pools. Their suitcase fell off at the first corner and got wet. Be warned to put your luggage inside!
We had a small bungalow near the central pool. I avoided to pool as the sea was adjacent which I prefer. The bungalow was reasonable for the price we paid. It was small with a basic bathroom. The shower was rather temperamental, and it was either power or heat, but not both. One has to remember this is a remote area of Thailand and it was fairly cheap accommodation. There were fresh towels every day, but they were rather thin.

As we were there for a wedding, we were not overly concerned. The breakfast was basic with tea/ coffee and watery juice. The quantities of toast were also small. One morning we were too late but the restaurant was open all day. They served us, but we had to pay for it. We had some lunches in the restaurant, which again were average.
Next to the restaurant on the beach was a small roofed area offering massages. It was cheap and cheerful though not particularly relaxing situated next to the restaurant.

I would not have chosen this resort, except the rest of the family were staying there and we just wanted a cheap bed for the wedding. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the village, where we ate at night, but do remember to take a torch as the roads are unlit. There were several restaurants to choose from in the village as well as a variety of shops. Overall a low budget resort which I personally would not recommend.

Room Tip: Some bungalows had a beach or pool view which you could request for extra payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I expected so much more for a 3* hotel - if you can call it that! Where the 'Spa' bit comes in I have absolutely no idea! The room was very very basic and falling apart. The breakfast was awful and the dirt-track leading to the hotel is a health hazard at night with no lights and uneven surface. It's only redeeming feature was the beach location and surrounding gardens. The resort itself was beautiful but just a shame there is lots of building and noise coming from one section of the beach. I would definitely stay at a different hotel if I visited again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusBaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phudawee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Look., if we knew the place would be like this, then no, neither of us would have ended up here. stranded from everything, only way to get around is via scooter, which, normally would be fun, if it wasnt for the 40 minute mud and clay. bumpy rock track to civilization...
Do urself a favour, dont do it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rater0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suan Sawan Holiday Home
Suan Sawan Holiday Home
#100 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuwadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Property: Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Address: Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuwadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phuwadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuwadee Hotel Koh Phangan
Phuwadee Resort And Spa
Phuwadee Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing