We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - Excellent beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Firstly, I stayed here in December so the weather was probably the best that you can get around Thailand. Very little humidity, nice breeze and lots of sun.

The resort itself is situated on a small and secluded strip of beach with about 7-8 other hotels and resorts along the same strip. The beach was amazing, so tranquil and picturesque. Most of the other hotels along there are quite fancy and pricey so it's great to have access at a more modest and humble price.

I stayed here with a friend after attending a wedding in Bangkok so we were there to unwind, party and celebrate the new year. In fact, It provided the best post-wedding type of reflective stay you could imagine!

We opted for a regular bungalow. It was very modest with shared area for both beds a TV, wardrobe and cupboard space, AC and a locked safe (very convenient). The bathroom was not so great, there was more or less a shower just in the corner of the bathroom, which meant we got the place involuntarily messy and wet. There were a lot of mosquitos in the resort so having netted windows really helped. The breakfast was acceptable. The swimming pool in the resort is very simple, small and a little weathered... but I didn't use it much considering the amazing beach just 20 metres away! For food, I would recommend walking about 200 metres up the beach strip (North) to the very end, for a very nice meal and view by the sea. If you heading to all the parties especially in Haad Rin, you may want to note that this resort is probably the furthest away from all the other beaches (but I don't think there's much difference price wise, just travel time). If you're there mainly to enjoy a tranquil and secluded stay then being that far away is probably perfect.

In all honesty I would happily go back there just to lie on the beach instead of doing all the overrated island parties. I can still hear the crashing waves as you lay on the soft beach under the plentiful natural shade... the best nap I've had in years!!

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are pricier but I don't think they make that much of a qualitative differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CulturedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We booked the bungalow with fan- do not do that! The bungalow was humidity, it needs air condition and little bit renovation. Every bungalow has air con but they rent some also only with fan- it is cheaper. Staff was friendly and restaurant was okay. The beach is very beautiful. The location is ok. You should book bungalow near pool- they seemed to be better condition that those who where far away from the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

situated on a beautiful beach this hotel does nothing but disappoint.
The room was not very clean and due to the resorts mosquito issues had to be fumigayed with coils every time we went in.
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed of our 3 week holiday travelling samui, phangan and Tao.
I got an upset stomach from eating in The restaurant which did not surprise me as there was a fly problem due to the dirty table cloths.
The pool was small but useable, but you risked getting eaten alive in The late afternoon when the mosquito were at their worst.Beds
A short walk along the beach to either side showed better standard hotels and restaurants at similar prices.
Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Its quite staggering to read some of the negative reviews of this resort. Its fairly basic, the rooms are simple but modern and clean. A few modern amenities - a TV, refrigerator, safe, swimming pool. But you're paying ~700 bahts (1000 for A/C) to stay on possibly one of the best beaches in Thailand!

If you want a 5 star resort stay at any of the numerous other places on this beach but be prepared to pay 3-4x the price. However if you're on a budget this represents incredible value. It is a 3 star hotel on a stunning beach surrounded by 5 star fancy resorts and guess what... everyone shares the beach!

Some people have mentioned the food isn't great, this is true but simply walk 100m down the beach for dozens of better options. Head another few hundred meters down the road and there are some fabulous restaurants.. jip and luna bar. Also head to indigo bar for a treehouse with hammocks where you can watch movies at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here in a fan room which was large, clean, big bathroom, TV, fridge, free wifi, serviced daily and a large deck and clean swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was across a track but that was no issue at all but it did make for a barren environment. There were not many loungers but there was always some free when we wanted to use them and this was during high season. Breakfast was not included and at 250B we went elsewhere. We also ate there once, but food was average compared to the great choices you have in Noi. The room was good value at NZ$33 but unfortunately the fan was not over the bed so the room got unbearably hot at night. For AC it was double the price so for this reason when we returned we went to Thongtapan next door as in low season we got AC for same price as fan at Phuwadee.

Room Tip: get Ac room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We paid an extra 300baht for the room with A/C. When we first checked in it was working, when we came back from a late dinner (around 11:30pm) it wasnt working. We tried absolutely everything to fix it but it just wouldnt work, so we went to the front desk several times throughout the night because we were SO hot and couldnt sleep, but no one was there. It miraculously turned on at exactly 7:40am. We did nothing.
We asked for our money back, and after an hour of arguing we got no where. They accused us of lying and being cheap. They said that there was no way that they could control the A/C. HOWEVER, directly after this we took a walk around our room and found a box on the outside that had the on/off switch to the A/C.

No money back, no free breakfast. These people were absolutely horrendous. Oh and the bathroom was infested with ants.

Recommendation: Check out Bottle Beach Resort. Its a beach further North on Koh Phangan, super secluded and amazing people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathirwinirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Koh Phangan
1
Reviewed 10 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
6.5 mi away
Phangan Cabana Resort
Phangan Cabana Resort
#73 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
266 reviews
6 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#75 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuwadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Address: Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuwadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Phuwadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuwadee Resort And Spa
Phuwadee Hotel Koh Phangan
Phuwadee Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing