We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful slice of beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful slice of beach”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Everything about the resort was amazing, from the very friendly staff, the food (both italian and thai) the rooms, the grounds. It was heavenly. Andy offered to arrange a number of activities and had excellent suggestions.
The water was too shallow to swim when we were there, actually quite hot. But if you go out to the reef it is decent snorkeling right off shore.
The only problem with such a small beach is that it can lead uncomfortable situations with other guests, not the fault of the hotel at all. But there is no way to avoid unruly children, if they are there, or other guests that feel it is clothing optional. By no means are these deal breakers, we just opted to not spend as much time as we would have liked enjoying relaxing on the gorgeous beach.
Also at the edge of the grounds is the entrance to the Pirates Bar, we enjoyed a low key night there and was pleased that the cliff kept the music noise from our room on the other side.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risi2611, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Blue Ocean Garden.
We are delighted to hear such positive words regarding your experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at Blue Ocean Garden.
Sincerely
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    50
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
250
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in Blue Ocean Garden for 3 nights in early March, 2013.

We had a standard room with garden view which was comfortable but quite basic compared to other places we have stayed at for a similar price in Thailand's beaches. The room had a double bed with bedside tables, decent aircon, a wardrobe with safe, and a small writing desk with chair. We also had a small terrace out front with a table and two chairs. Some omissions from the room included no tv, no fridge and no tea/ coffee making facilities. I would have expected the latter of these and perhaps a tv for the price we paid. Wifi worked excellently both in the room, in the restaurant and even on the beach!

The ensuite bathroom/ wet room was small, slightly dated and where it had partially open upper walls, we did have a few ants but it wasn't a big problem for us.

The resort itself is in a VERY quiet area of Ko Phangan. The "town" of Chao Phao consists of 1 minimart, loads of bike hire shops, a spa and a couple of dive centres. We saw one Italian restaurant on the main street which was way overpriced. But you don't come here for the town or nightlife and there are a handful of restaurants attached to the other resorts (4 or 5 resorts) along the beach. Having said that, of the 3 restaurants we ate in, you couldn't beat the food in Blue Ocean's restaurant or the view, and the price wasn't bad either. Just bear in mind that the restaurant is closed on a Tuesday after breakfast so you'll have to go elsewhere for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was one of the best we had in south east Asia across 6 months travelling so certainly no complaints there.

The resort is well kept and in good condition and even from our garden view room terrace, we had a view of the sea in the distance. The beach was a 30 second walk from our room and VERY nice, about a km long and 10 metres wide with no obvious tide change. It is very quiet with no hawkers and no jet ski's ruining the sound of the sea waves. The sea is very warm and the view out is fantastic with lots of tiny islands and night time fishing boats lighting the sky.

The hotel have their own sunbeds, free kayaks to use and beach towels. The service during our stay was good and the reception and restaurant staff were friendly.

Overall, this resort was very good and we enjoyed our stay. I just can't quite give it 5 stars due to the slightly pokey bathroom, slightly more basic rooms and the lack of a restaurant on a Tuesday in an already very quiet part of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risi2611, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed comments on your recent stay with us, it's gratifying to hear of your experience here.
We're all most delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our restaurant La Dolce Vita.
We know that could be a discomfort that the restaurant is closed on Tuesdays but if we want to have the staff always smiling and caring we have to give them half a day of rest, this is the reason for a closing day, but as you pointed out , there're various alternatives in walking distance that we also always pleased to recommend and not only in our closing day.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Ocean Garden & La Dolce Vita Restaurant.
Best regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Chao Phao is the most beautiful beach in Koh Phangan. Although it is too shallow to swim it has a beautful sandy bottom and perfect to walk/play/lay/watch sunset and there is no salesperson hassling. The Blue Ocean Garden has privat Sunlounges to relax right at the beach. Or you can go kayaking or play beach ball - all free of charge.
The rooms are all very good. Though we recommend strongly the bungalows as the rooms are smaller and have no fridge. Still it's clean, AC works very well, bed and coushion are comfy and clean . (Be aware that beds in Thailand are generally a bit hard).
Rooms are made up daily, fresh towels every other day and fresh linen every 3 days.
Andy, Host/Owner/Manager gave us all the tipps we needed: From Massage to scooter over dinner and diving. He also gave us some good advice for the fullmoon party. The Haad Rin Beach (Full Moon Party) is quite far away which is great when you are looking for a relaxing vacation. For drinks the pirates bar is just along the beach - beautiful place too.
The Blue Ocean Garden is settled in a very neat garden, the restaurant serves the best italian food on the island and the service team is very attentive and friendly. We felt at home from the moment we arrived and we kept on adding nights as we couldn't find another place nearly as nice on the island. (and we drove the coast up and down).
Only con is that there is no pool - but said that, you don't need it with the beach so nicely streched out and the water so warm and clean.

If on Koh Phangan the Blue Ocean Garden is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Take a Bungalow - bigger and fridge. Ocean View or Garden View very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risi2611, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review provided to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Blue Ocean Garden.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and to hear such great words about our place. It is a pleasure to see you had an amazing experience with us.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Blue Ocean Garden.

Sincerely,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Most probably the best location there is on the island. The beach is awesome with the finest white sand and the most breathtaking sunset in the world... in a word, paradise. My budget was low, so I chose to spend 4 nights in a garden room: plain, CLEAN (not so common in Thailand), with everything you need (safety box, big bed, balcony, etc..). You will be taken care of from your arrival to your departure. Andy, the owner, and his staff are always very friendly and attentive to your needs (I forgot my glasses and Andy sent me by mail without asking any money!!). You can read about the restaurant, La dolce vita, in the related link but this is a real added-value to this resort. In addition, you can find close to you the Pirates Bar, the best and the most authentic bar of the island but don’t be worried about the noise, trust me!
Finally, this is the best place to stay if you are searching for great sunsets, amazing beach, high quality of service and food, low price. Definitely, I would like to stay here for more than 4 nights!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This resort is a little gem on Koh Phangan - beautiful bungalows, lovely beach with clear water, fantastic food and an extremely friendly hotel staff!

The Dolce Vita Restaurant serves both Thai and Italian cuisine, both of which are simply excellent. A cheaper option is to walk about ten minutes south on the road behind the resort to the local Thai places where excellent food is being served for just a few dollars. We highly recommend Nok's Restaurant.
After staying on crowded Koh Tao, the North of Koh Phangan was just a beautiful retreat. We did a lot of diving with Haad Yao Divers and enjoyed it very much.

You get to watch the most beautiful sunsets from the resort beach, it is a true paradise!

We will definitely stay at Blue Ocean Garden again the next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed in the garden rooms along the back of the property which were nice and air conditioned. They changed our towels every other day and our sheets every third day. A delicious breakfast was included and the staff in the restaurant were young, friendly and sweet. We appreciated that we were able to communicate in English and the proprietor printed out our boarding passes for our flight to Chiang Mai from Koh Samui (WARNING: our 10:00 AM ferry from Koh Phangan cancelled at the last minute and the second ferry that was supposed to leave at noon was delayed two more than hours and we missed our flight and lost all our plane tickets and hotel rooms in Chiang Mai and had to cancel that leg of our trip! If you absolutely must be at the airport to catch a flight, I recommend staying in Koh Samui the night before your departure as you cannot count on the ferries. My cousin had the same problem on a previous trip and a couple on the ferry with us missed their connecting flight to Vienna. Be forewarned). As mentioned by other reviewers, the food was excellent (we ate dinner at the hotel twice). We rented a small car with air conditioning one morning from a hotel up the road from us (recommended to us by our hotel and cost about $20 a day) and also rented a motorbike for a couple of days from another place that was recommended to us (less than $3 for the rental). Be careful where you get gas and don't let them fill your tank and charge you without getting out and watching what they do very carefully. We were way overcharged for our gas when they put gas in the car at one of the stations. There was WIFi at the resort, but we also used computers at the motorbike/travel agency near the hotel. We hiked to waterfalls, took trips into town, visited the small island off the North West corner of the island, and ate at the night market in the town (you need a motorbike or car to get there - taking a taxi into town and back gets expensive - it can run anywhere from $14 - $20 round trip for 2 people). If you snorkel at the northern island, find out where the coral areas are as some areas are very ho-hum and others are very special. Also, I highly recommend the Mexican Restaurant in the town on the same street as the post office, south of it about 1/4 mile on the right. Excellent. Big Mountain was a good place to eat. Be prepared for mosquitos wherever you eat dinner as all dining is outside dining (I just wore long sleeves and long pants at dusk everyday) unless you eat late when the mosquitoes have gone. Bring slip on shoes as everyplace wants you to take your shoes off before entering.
We were asked to pay up front upon arrival which was the only time during our trip that that happened (usually you pay for one night to reserve your stay online and the rest when you leave) and I never knew why. There wasn't any time when we were unhappy with our accommodations or felt we needed to move. There is a bar next to the resort (the Pirate Bar) which might get noisy around the full moon parties or on some weekends, but we were far enough back from the ocean that if there was any noise, we didn't hear it.
There are free kayaks to use and comfortable lounge chairs along the beach. The grounds were exquisite and well cared for. The hotel is down a narrow dirt road off the main road so if you aren't taking a taxi, look for the Pirate Bar sign on the left about 1/4 mile from the 7/11. If you see the Big Mountain Restaurant on your right, you've gone too far.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here back in July and loved it. The staff, resort and beach were all excellent and the food was top quality, which is important to me as I love my food! Perfect place to stay if you are looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing in Koh Phangan. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aron-5-115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#17 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Address: 51 / 11 Moo 8 - Chao Pao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR AVAILABILITY* Established in 2007 under Italian and Thai management, Blue Ocean Garden is a beachfront resort featuring three affordable types of bungalows and rooms, and restaurant La Dolce Vita, serving Italian and Thai cuisine right on the beach. Facilities are a combination of Italian design and modern Thai style, which create a feeling of elegance and relaxation. With just few rooms, the atmosphere is always friendly and intimate, ideal for romance seekers and nature lovers. All facilities are built around a tropical garden slightly descending to the beach and treated with care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing