We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, not so great price”
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights around the full moon party. When we arrived i thought we were in for a treat as the resort is truly stunning with two swimming pools and a small, but beautiful beach at our door step. Unfortunately the room did not live up to our expectation. I would like to stress that there was nothing wrong with the room but it was extremely basic for the price we paid. (1700 baht per night) It was clean and airy but not worth the money we paid. The price was obviously hiked up due to the full moon party so i would recommend that anyone looking to venture to Koh Phangan for the full moon party, book your accommodation in advance.
The staff, however, were extremely helpful as they booked ferry tickets for us (and dropped us to the pier for free) they also helped arrange transport to the full moon party for us and helped us with renting scooters.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoifemcbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed in poolside room for 4 nights and ended up extending our stay! Had 2 large pools, one at the front with a sea view and the other at the back (poolside rooms look onto this one). Both were very clean and a welcome relief from the heat! Small clean beach in front of the resort with good swimming in the sea (the water is so warm!). Although near Thongsala you can't see the port from the beach yet it's only a 15 minute walk into town.

Loved it at grand sea, would definitely stay again.

Tip: if your budget can stretch, I would book the bungalows as they are in traditional Thai style and look gorgeous

Food in restaurant excellent (fried rice especially good). Great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

After 3 weeks of travelling around southern Thailand we spent our last two nights him Thailand here as we wanted to get an early ferry and also wanted to see the night street market in Thong Sala. We left an awesome beach and Hotel In Haad Yuen to stay here. In hindsight we should have stayed at Haad Yuen. Thong Sala is pretty boring compared to other parts of Ko Phangan. We enjoyed staying at the Grand Sea Resort. We booked the two big beachside bungalows and they were large, clean and very comfortable. The pool is nice, the beach is very average (you need to walk out 300 meters or more to get to water above your knees!!) The staff at the Grand Sea were very pleasant and helpful but the restaraunt was average at best but acceptable. We were stating during a quiet period. The resort was nearly empty.
We had an nice time staying here but it wasn't our favourite on KPG. Whilst staying here we did the elephant safari. We wish we hadn't as we felt that it was taking advantage of the elephants. The seemed to be treated ok but its a fake environment for them to live and it exploiting them so a few tourists can ride an elephant. We would boycott the elephant rides in the future.

Also the staff at The Grand Sea resort were very helpful especially the guy who drove us into town and would pick us up. He was a great guy (so was him family). Thank you

We wouldn't stay here again yet we did have a nice stay here. There are just nicer places elsewhere on KPG

Room Tip: Book the large beach front bungalows. On the left side of the pool as you are facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacking2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Having paid 16000thb for a 4 night stay with for friends we were expecting an amazing place. The photos and reviews said we couldn't go wrong... But they were! Service was shocking, room consisted of two double beds in a room you couldn't swing a cat in... No where to put clothes, the bathroom was a rubbish shower over the toliet and during a down pour the bathroom leaked... The 4 nights we stayed, the room was cleaned once, considering we stayed in an amazing hotel in Bangkok for less money i was shocked at tge standard... When we complained, the staff were unhelpful... Rude and very uninformative ... The location and the look of the resort was lovely... If you do stay don't book a family bungalow... It's a rip off.. Maybe at the right price it would of been better but not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eg901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Experienced a horrible few days in the South of Thailand in the floods that hit in March 2011. After several days at a cold wet ferry port waiting to get off the island, a young male from the hotel staff offered a clean room with electricity for a cheap price. They provided us with free transfer to and from the hotel in their own 4x4. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were great for the price. A big thank you to all the staff that supported us (special thank you to a young Chinese worker with glasses who I believed to be the assistant manager), and kept us updated with weather reports on an hourly basis. Great pool and bar area.... would love to go back and see it in its beauty.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I throughly enjoyed my stay of 6 nights as the Grandsea Resort and would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldkotr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for four nights in early February and were very happy with Grand Sea overall. At first the Rooms we were given seemed fairly basic and spartan, but were really quite nice. The Resort has a new section but it is strangely built with a lot of stairs and fairly dark, but has the sun on it all day so rooms are very hot. Thankfully we were in one of the older bungalow type rooms with just a short walk to the lovely restaurant and beachside pool area. Sunsets were stunning, picture postcard stuff.
Staying with elderly relatives, we were very happy in all respects. The pool was beautiful, relaxing and the restaurant served very good food, although at times they were stretched and orders took a while, even though the resort was not very busy. Breakfast was really good and the selection pleased everyone in my family.
The beach is not so good, however by walking round the corner, only 100m away is the most beautiful undisturbed beach for peace and quiet. Walking the opposite direction finds a few good beach restaurants where one can obtain very cheap good food every night.
The Resort is approximatley 15 mins flat walk from the town and Taxis pass by which can be hailed and used for 50 baht per person for the short ride.
Staff at grand sea are excellent, the Resort may not be the best, however, for peace, relaxation and good service, it will take some beating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#46 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
6.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#29 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
184 reviews
4.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#77 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £25 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing